Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player

Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player

Average Customer Rating:
1.708 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(48 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (48 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
5
1 star
35
8 of 48(17%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Piece of Junk!

,
Date:April 1, 2013
By Nick N.
from Canada
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this unit almost a year ago as a second Blu-ray for the kids' TV in the basement, and it was only used a few times for the first several months we had it. Then I noticed the unit was frozen - it wouldn't play, shut off, or open to change disks. I had to unplug it to get it restarted, and this started happening all the time. It either wouldn't play a disk or it would start and then shut off and restart. It can't connect to Netflix as it shuts off and restarts every time we click on Netflix. Firmware is up to date, and I've tried resetting to factory defaults. Nothing has helped. It's an expensive piece of garbage. Toshiba should be ashamed for selling such an inferior product. I will never buy another Toshiba product ever again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Discontinue Product!!!

,
Date:March 31, 2013
By Sherry
from Bronx, NY
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Blue Ray player worked for about 3 months, has not worked since. The Player is at the point where it doesn't even open...everything said about it on the bad reviews is true this is a pure waste of money"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

just dont cut it

,
Date:February 23, 2013
By newfie
from newfoundland
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i can sum this device up in one 4 letter word JUNK"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST Blu-Ray/DVD Player Ever

,
Date:January 2, 2013
By Kristin
from NY
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do NOT waste your money on this! Turns off in the middle of each use, if you can even get it to turn on at all. The remote does not work well, and I am constantly having to unplug the entire unit to restart it. This was the biggest disappointment ever, and it is quite obvious why the warranty by Toshiba is only 3 months. They know that their product is not good, which is why they will not put it under warranty for a whole year! It is absolutely ridiculous. I will never be purchashing anything made my Toshiba againt."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Got connection 1 time then nothing!!

,
Date:December 30, 2012
By Barbra
from VA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am sick of this, I signed up with NetFlix and watched 2 movies, next morning nothing!! Would not connect to my wireless network. Kept freezing where I had to unplug and restrat and still will not connect! Waste of money and time..... :("
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 6 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Lemon

,
Date:December 24, 2012
By rw
from stockbridge,ga
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My first,thought i had a good deal,but its not me this is a terribly unreliable"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Total garbage

,
Date:November 27, 2012
By cheeko
from Swartz Creek,MI
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Piece of junk, remote never worked.Tried a universal remote and got the same results.No remote = not able to use the player at all."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not buy

,
Date:November 23, 2012
By Nic
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This product has been malfunctioning from the beginning. I bought it refurbished from Wal-Mart and I 've had it less than three weeks. The screen blacked out. I unplugged for a while, then the screen returned. Now, Neflix movies won't load.......miserable purchase."
Review 9 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horribly disappointed

,
Date:October 6, 2012
By Boo
from Canada
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Had problems from day one, but thought it was us not knowing how to set it up properly.... Nope! Wish I had checked out reviews prior to buying! Oh so many issues:Loses connection to internet, so cannot us any of the internet-based options. Will not play some blue rays. Intermittently will not turn on at all, may sometimes turn on but no menu appears on tv and cannot open or then turn off, have to unplug instead..... and keep doing this until it allows function so you can get the dvd out! Now no longer works with surround system, only sound comes through tv, and ,most of the time dialogue so low you cannot hear. This was brief outline of issues. Toshiba used to be a good brand, instead this was a huge waste of money!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Giant paperweight

,
Date:September 26, 2012
By cj
from Missouri
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After 7 months, the unit has sound, but no picture."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don"t Buy

,
Date:September 23, 2012
By Brian
from Central NH
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought this in May 2012 by the end of September it was no longer able to open any of the applications like pandora, vudu, or most important netflix. Blu ray Player still works but I'm guessing it's only a matter of time. I also have a sony Blu Ray and have never had any trouble with it. Also the remote on this is extremely slow. Only has connections for HDMI and Ethernet. I way never able to get it to work fast enough through my network so I've always used the ethernet. It's been nothing but problems since day one. Now I have to go out and buy a better more expensive one 6 months later. Great!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

do not buy

,
Date:September 10, 2012
By farber2
from portland or.
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"it functions poorly, remote works occasionally, just not very good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible Blu-Ray player!!!!!

,
Date:July 27, 2012
By jerseygirl717
from Cape May, NJ
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This was my first Blu-Ray player, so I had nothing to compare against. I liked that it had Wi-Fi, but it takes a long time for the player to connect-and it's right on top of the router. Also, 75% of the time, the remote does not work. 75% of the time, Netflix does not load. This was a huge waste of money. Now that I have had the player for 5 months, I have absolutely no picture whatsoever. I would not recommend this at all. Nothing but disappointment and frustration!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Hotel Connections Via Web Portal

,
Date:July 13, 2012
By Traveler w/o a net player
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This unit has no capability of connecting through a Hotel WIFI or direct Internet connection that uses a Web Protal (web page) to log-in through. This player needs a web pop-up-screen to allow an Owner to log-in through a web-browser-portal.
I was unable to use it at all during a weeks stay a hotel. Glad I brought it with me right?
NEEDS A FIRMWARE UPDATE TO CORRECT THIS ISSUE."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

BDX2250 BluRay Player

,
Date:June 16, 2012
By Toolman
from NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am on my 2nd unit. Studders terribly - 1st BDX 2250 went back to store. I thought we had it beat. but the 2nd one started studdering in a few weeks. Tried another TV and another HDMI Cable - s..s..studder. Additionally, the WiFi needs to be on top of my router to connect. I was hoping a firmware update was available - but no. Always like Toshiba products in the past 46 inch TV is great. but last year - Bad portable 1TB drive, lasted 1 day - now 2 DVD players - Next eletronic purchase won't be Toshiba. Features are Great...if it worked."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

do not buy this player

,
Date:June 10, 2012
By guyinusa
from USA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"When it works, it has good features. Player stops working and has to be unplugged for a couple of minutes to get it working again. I have not experienced this kind of failure with home electronics before. Sent first unit back to Toshiba. Second player had to be unplugged after less than 48 hours of using it."
Review 17 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

refurbished, but still -

,
Date:May 10, 2012
By leQ
from mason city ia
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT. IT DOESN'T DO WIFI UNLESS YOU BUY A MORE EXPENSIVE ADAPTOR. I WISH I COULD TELL YOU MORE, BUT GOT STOPPED POSTING BECAUSE OF THIS:
We're sorry but we encountered the following issue(s):
Your review text contains inappropriate language.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

JUNK!

,
Date:April 29, 2012
By 2weave
from Milwaukee, wi
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I wish I would have seen these reviews before I wasted my money on this piece of junk. I have experienced the same problems with this unit as the others on this board have posted.
I came here to see if I can buy another remote because mine DOES NOT RESPOND AT ALL when used. It is aggravating since that means I cannot use the player at all.
What a waste of time and money!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best blueray deal

,
Date:April 20, 2012
By mikey
from arkansas
"my third brand name blueray player. the cheapest. by far the best. it is so simple to hook up ANY BODY could do it . i was using it in 15 minutes. even hooked me up to face book what ever that is. i am so glad i sent the samsung back."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Toshiba BDX2250 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Dissapointed

,
Date:April 19, 2012
By Sandwich
from Orlando, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Powers down on it's own. I'd rather spend money on Blu-rays than, another Blu-ray player."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year