Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for bdk21

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

bdk21

The Wi-Fi Ready Toshiba BDK21 delivers amazing Full HD 1080p video and high-definition audio as well as BD-Live™; support for access to special features. Internet connectivity makes it even easier to enjoy online streaming content from Netflix®, YouTube™, VUDU™, and Pandora®, CinemaNow
Average Customer Rating:
1.579 out of 5
1.6
 out of 
5
(38 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
28
5 of 38(13%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for bdk21
Review 1 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

junk junk junk

,
Date:August 4, 2013
By JunkyToshibaBDK21
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"i ditto the comments of another reviewer. the EXACT same thing happened to me after about 12 months of barely any use, it won't load a blu ray or a non-blu ray DVD and instead just shows a BLACK SCREEN. good price, but how does that help if it breaks after using it less than 20 times?!?"
Review 2 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk

,
Date:July 25, 2013
By d
from rochester mn
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do not buy! It worked great for about 6 months and now it turns on but does nothing- won't load a blu ray or load screen to get to Netflix. Screen is black. Bummer...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

First bluray, wouldn't buy again

,
Date:July 5, 2013
By Brent
from Union, KY
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This player has the features I want but they are ifffy on if and when it decides to work. I have to unplug it and plug it back in about 3-4 times before it starts to work. once I get it turned on it works great I wish they would do a update with new apps though maybe add Hulu."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst ever

,
Date:February 23, 2013
By al
from new york
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I got this blue ray a while ago, it never play well, it took very long to load dvds and remote will not always response. The last thing now it plays audio but not image, can't do anything with it. It is a waste of your money."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst bd player ever

,
Date:January 27, 2013
By J styles
from Iowa
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I Bought the player thinking i was getting a good deal. Worked for while and now it will not work properly.
You press ANY button on the remote or machine and it thinks you want to load a disc. Open close open close open close open close open close...... What a piece of junk! Any way to get a different player or my money back would be great, but i tossed the box and reciept. old saying goes "you get what you payed for" definently applies to this product.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Remote does not work

,
Date:December 24, 2012
By Curtis
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Remote does not work. Can not play videos. I tried using a universal remote, but it does not respond to that signal either. Waited several months to pull out of the box so can not return. Waist of money."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

this model is very bad

,
Date:November 19, 2012
By Dann
from Mcbo Vzla
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"goes crazy every time I install a Blu. only detects dvd if I had known ... buy a DVD player for much less than it cost me. to bad this model. make me doubt their quality .."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 8 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too Difficult to Navigate

,
Date:November 2, 2012
By Jim
from Kansas
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"and NOT wi-fi ready. Useless."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Waste of Money

,
Date:October 30, 2012
By Rosevillemommy
from California
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Will NOT play movies without remote!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Garbage

,
Date:September 3, 2012
By Zippe
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Piece Of JUNK!! Worked for 5 months than video went out, only audio worked."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

blu-ray

,
Date:August 17, 2012
By mom
from otisville
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I received a blu-ray player for christmas. it was wifi ready and had all the features for blockbuster, pandora,netflix and a few others but I just got wifi hooked up and the player will not pick it up. I think it is the worst player I have ever had"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good cheap Blu-ray player

,
Date:July 30, 2012
By Damian
from Fresno, CA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this Blu-ray player as a cheap player for my kids to use. It works. It doesn't have a bunch of bells or whistles but that is not what I was after. I wanted a player to play Blu-ray discs.
It has been working daily for about 7 months now.
No regrets and it does what it should.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Player EVER!!!

,
Date:June 5, 2012
By Super Annoyed
from Pennsylvania
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this blu-ray player on April 14, 2012. Less than 2 months later, there is no picture only sound. I have always supported the Toshiba name, but this product fails in my eyes. Don't waste your money!"
Review 14 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba should upgrade firmware to fix issues.

,
Date:May 12, 2012
By Unimpressed
from Weatherford, TX
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I didn’t use this unit very often at first because I didn’t find many Blu-ray disks to rent. By the time I realized there were serious problems with the player, I had discarded the box and lost track of the receipt. Here are the issues which are similar to many described by others. The unit will eventually not display a picture even though the player is working and you can hear the audio. This manifests itself in both playing disks and viewing the system menus as well. Also when the menus do work, utilizing Netflix eventually becomes painfully slow as you attempt to navigate through and select a movie to watch. It took as much as 2 minutes to refresh a screen when choosing a category of movies within Netflix. I almost canceled my Netflix account until I found a workaround that makes this player usable again. The only way to regain full functionality with this unit is to unplug the player from the power source, wait 15 seconds and plug it back in again. I have started leaving the unit unplugged when not in use and everything works fine every time I use it now."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:May 8, 2012
By d
from fl
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"not wi-fi ready, remote doesn't work. not user friendly"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Open close like crazy

,
Date:April 6, 2012
By JorgeAlvarez
from Ccs, Vzla
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"open and close like crazy and dont stop when a try to play a movie,"
Review 17 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wifi Ready?

,
Date:March 9, 2012
By Chevo
from Corona
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Just bought this thing 10 minutes ago and returning it already it is not Wifi Ready like they specify, the features are really bad and not very user friendly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 18 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not impressed

,
Date:March 6, 2012
By boomerboiiowa
from Iowa
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am on my 2nd player in 2 weeks. Each one played about 3 DVD's / Blu Ray and then stopped playing video, only hte audio would play. It's back to the store again. This time I'll get a refund as opposed to an exchange."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

NOT WI-FI READY!!!

,
Date:February 24, 2012
By L
from San Diego, CA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"not wi fi ready, which is very disappointing and now I have to figure out how to get this connected correctly or return it to costco...I Hate this having to figure this out! It it too time consuming and I dont know how to do these things...I HATE THIS"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for bdk21
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Doesn't Work

,
Date:February 16, 2012
By Nate
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought the blu-ray player and after a month it stopped working. Sound, but no video. WTF"