Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for 55sl417u

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

55sl417u

Average Customer Rating:
3.968 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
25 of 31(81%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for 55sl417u
Review 1 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sound

,
Date:April 28, 2012
By sallybagels
from michigan
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"at first the sound was really low but it isnt to bad i found that you have to go into the sound setting and under something its says set to high and after that its pretty loud!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best tv ever

,
Date:April 22, 2012
By navi
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love everything, no to happy with the vol, but u can fix that"
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

they are junk

,
Date:February 28, 2012
By hzrdboyz79
from hazard ky
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"i bought one and they are no better than a led tv the sound is horrible picture is blurry it dont play like an led tv should i really wanted this tv but im getting rid of it i dont reccomend them"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

,
Date:January 11, 2012
By Superdave
from Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After shopping around found this tv and loved all the features has everything I wanted. Bonus was the wifi builtin. It was delivered start of December. Especially happy can now see and read subtitles and guide on cable box. Sound is good too, just have to try playing with audio and sounds good through tv speakers and doesnt sound tinny also picture is awesome even on regular non hd channels. Easy to setup. Best tv ever bought."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love this TV

,
Date:January 7, 2012
By nkdjwk
from Evansville, In
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great picture, extras work well also. everyone complains about the sound, I don't know because I have not used tv speakers in 20 years, have not had any tuner or video problems. the only thing i have not used is the Skpe app"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Sound is horrible

,
Date:December 11, 2011
By Kay
from Winnie, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The sound on this TV is horrible."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

SUPER

,
Date:December 8, 2011
By TheSidster
from Seattle, WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Picture is Super Clean, although you can get some glare from lights, but I think all TV's will. Sounds is just fine, but who spends a grand on a TV, and not hook it up to a surround sound system. Who does this. It looks Super on my wall. The internet features are Super."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice tv

,
Date:November 29, 2011
By jim
from ma
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"love the picture, i expcet when i buy a super thin tv that the sound wont be that great, but if you can afford the tv itself im sure you can all afford a surround sound system......just saying"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT TV FOR THE MONEY

,
Date:November 28, 2011
By JOE C
from RHODE ISLAND
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I REALLY LIKE THIS T.V. AND I AM NOT EASY TO PLEASE WHEN IT COMES TO PICTURE QUALITY. THE PICTURE ON THIS WAS VERY CLEAR AND CLEAN LINES ON HD. THE SOUND QUALITY IS NOT GOOD AT ALL THANK GOD FOR MY BOSE STEREO SYSTEM !!!! WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE THAT DOES NOT HAVE A SOUND BAR OR SURROUND SOUND. ALL IN ALL A GOOD BUY."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It seems to be ok

,
Date:November 28, 2011
By mrwillg6
from pontiac, Mi
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just purchased it 11-25 sound is low wish the you tube worked different. u s b ports seem to not be working when I plug my phone up to see pictures. But the picture quality is amazing. 55 in is what I have I went from a 56 in big screen"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 11 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

OUTSTANDING!!!

,
Date:November 27, 2011
By IKE
from DC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Perfect TV! hooked up with my surround sound...WOW"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 12 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Luvin this TV!

,
Date:November 27, 2011
By Mimi
from Parrish, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I absolutley love this TV, all of the features are easily accessibly. The wifi setup is easy, not difficult at ALL! THhe picture is great, colors are clear."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 13 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

hot tv

,
Date:October 22, 2011
By STEVE
from MORENO VALLEY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"LOVE THIS LED HOT HOT"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Couldn't be happier

,
Date:October 4, 2011
By Bowtie65
from Manchester, TN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far the TV has been great. The one issue I was concerned with from some reviews was the sound and figured out how to overcome it to watch TV. I didn't really care about movies since I have a home theater system. Once the Dynamic Sound was turned off, the audio level issue seemed to go away. Seems like a great idea, but it lower the audio level much too far.
Setting up everything about the TV was very easy except for maybe the wireless connection. The manual coming with the TV didn't help much, but if you can setup a laptop, so should be able to setup the TV without much trouble. Once it was setup, the internet features such as you tube and the software updates have worked flawlessly.
Honestly the thing I'm must disappointed with was the manual. It didn't describe half of the features such as the dynamic sound. IF it was much more detailed, I'm sure a lot of customer frustrations would be taken care of."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best TV I every had

,
Date:September 22, 2011
By Ozzy
from Knoxville, Tn.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Toshiba 55SL417U LED TV is great, the best color, black level and the features are also great. A lot of people give this TV a 1 star for sound which i understand because this TV has speakers that are less than an inch wide and two inches long. This TV should be hooked up to a surround sound system with 5.1 or 7.1 or a sound bar with a subwoofer and then you will have a picture and sound that is fantisic, I have an other Toshiba LCD that is smaller and it is the best LCD i have seen for black levels just like the LED. You can not beat the quailty and price of the Toshiba's TV's compared to the other TV's i have compared. Toshiba's support is also Number 1. I have sold three Toshiba TV's 1LCD and 2 LED's that people has seen my Toshiba TV's and went and bought them a Toahiba"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

55SL417U

,
Date:September 15, 2011
By thebee
from Roswell, GA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I just got this tv and thought the reviews on sound were not as important as the picture. I was wrong. The sound is horrible. Now I am trying to figure out how to recover from this expensive mistake. Samsung is a better choice even if a bit more expensve"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great picture. very poor sound

,
Date:September 10, 2011
By EDGE
from BLUFFTON, SC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Yes the sound is horrible, but I think the picture is
awsome with the correct cables and on HD. If I did not have a stereo and speakers already would have taken it back. Over all a very good tv. Did not plan to use the internet option, but tried it out and could not get on. Net is not really needed but it should work.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy with this TVC

,
Date:September 4, 2011
By awill
from Sultan, WA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am extremely happy with this TV. It is sleek, stylish, has all the options a person would want. It replaced a large screen console TV and I love how much more open the room looks now with this TV. The picture is gorgeous, sound is lacking. We expected that to be the case though, with a decent surround sound set up, it is great. Features like Pandora and Netflix are very cool. I am so happy we purchased this TV and the price was very good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Surprise in the HD Tuner

,
Date:August 9, 2011
By RB
from Amarillo, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have owned set for 5 months. Recently notice something interesting and disappointing regarding the HD TV tuner. I use a HP Computer and a SiliconDust HD Dual Tuner. When I use the TV's internal tuner the HD features do not work. With Computer Tuner I get all features of HD. (Screen automatically changes dimensions based upon programmers preferences). With this sets internal tuner your picture size does not change automatically between 4:3, Theatre and Full automatically. You must manually select your size. I don't hate the set. It has a beautiful picture. Black black and excellent contrast ratio. The NetFlix and VuDu features, that are part of Net TV are very convenient and I use them often. It was relatively easy to set up and the remote is easy to use. The ghosting problem that is often talked about is a very picky thing to be annoyed about. You only see it when there is no network signal. The tuner really needs to be upgraded but, then again, it took me 4 months to notice it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for 55sl417u
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Connectivity Features

,
Date:August 1, 2011
By Mike
from Houston, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"We went looking for a TV that would allow us to access internet content and communicate with our computers through WiFi. This TV works. The Netflix streaming is perfect. The Pandora is also quite nice. The YouTube program is pretty worthless.
The most useful feature has been the media player that can access movie, picture, and music files from our home network. The downside is that the TV has limited codecs and cannot play many file types, but this has only been an issue a couple of times.
We LOVE this TV. The Sound is bad, but frankly, all flat panels have that issue. We prefer the sleek look of the TV that the small built-in speakers afford.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year