Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L655-S5168

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

L655-S5168

Average Customer Rating:
4.062 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
12 of 16(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L655-S5168
Review 1 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value!

,
Date:November 4, 2011
By Todd
from Columbus, Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not the best video card. My only complaint. At this price point though it's no complaint at all really."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Overall good except the touch pad

,
Date:September 25, 2011
By Young
from Priceton, NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Sometimes the touch pad is not working properly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great price

,
Date:June 25, 2011
By Terri
from West Chester.Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"very nice, love the number keypad, it's not heavy. the battery life isn't very long. I thought with an i5 processer that it would be faster. I just started using it for school, but I have problems getting on-line there even though it's a wifi spot."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Connectivity Issues

,
Date:June 6, 2011
By mimi
from missouri
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In order for this laptop to connect to ANY wireless router (just took it into 5 different states), the wireless router mus be unplugged before Toshiba Satellite will find it!. I have a cheap, emachine laptop (running Windows 7) that connects the minute it is turned on.
This is a royal pain and I am considering returning the Toshiba unless I find the fix for this issue and find it fast!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Seems good after swap

,
Date:June 1, 2011
By tpe
from Columbus, Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Purchased this laptop model in April primarily for software development and testing, using 8GB ram for use with VMs. First unit couldn't run with 8GB, only 4. Luckily Micro Center let me swap with another unit even though the 7-day replacement period expired. Replacement unit has worked great; I have Win 7, Win Server 2008 and Ubuntu multi-booting. I work often with laptop connected to large monitor on HDMI port and with keyboard/mouse, replaces a desktop unit this way. Seems like the laptop will be a good workhorse. I Like the keyboard layout with numeric keypad. Biggest complaint is the mousepad-- its at surface level instead of recessed, so I continually hit it while typing (or have to switch it off.)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

FANTASTIC

,
Date:April 4, 2011
By astronut
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not sure why Toshiba has asked me for a review when I think I already submitted one but I love it so much, what the heck, I don't mind writing two. LOL The laptop is really quick, has loads of features for the money, love the case finish (looks almost like carbon fiber) and I am thrilled with it. The only drawback IMO is the screen, which seems a bit lacking in visibility."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not Good Enough

,
Date:March 29, 2011
By Socalgal
from Yorba Linda, CA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I had high hopes when I bought this laptop, but I've been very disapointed so far. The battery life is less than 2 hrs. There is significant delay when switching between screens. The mouse jumps around when typing an email. I'm hoping tech support can help me, but am not confident since I could hear the tech turning pages when trying to find a solution."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Does what i need it to

,
Date:March 24, 2011
By J.R.
from Atlanta, GA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Simple computer, nothing special, works fine."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Business

,
Date:March 17, 2011
By fixnowmypc
from Fontana, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 2nd Toshiba for Business since 2003"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Average Laptop

,
Date:March 15, 2011
By MikeM
from NJ
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought a Toshiba for their reliability rating and value. Machine is working fine but unable to navigate on the website for an extended warranty and the USB layout is very poor. Also - no volume controls other than software."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it

,
Date:March 10, 2011
By Ralph
from Lancaster, Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Does everything that I needed and more, and so fast"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

laptop

,
Date:March 8, 2011
By sjohn56
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i like the computer but mirco center needs to stop telling poeple its a Q core"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent laptop!

,
Date:March 6, 2011
By Charles
from Queens, NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a laptop for school as well as space for my music and pictures. I bought this laptop and never regretted it. It's easy to use and works great! I got no complaints whatsoever with this laptop. Definitely recommend it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba rocks!

,
Date:February 27, 2011
By Daisy
from Westerville, Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my toshiba. I waited a year to get it. I had a Hp and was very disappointed and it crashed twice. The hardware was replaced completely and only lasted a couple of months. My first computer was a toshiba and had it for quite awhile and loved that one two. I looked into apple and other kinds of pc's. Toshiba was worth the wait. I like the size and weight. love the post it notes...the only thing I wish the speakers were a bit louder. I do have computer speakers when I am at my desk but when I use it elsewhere the sound seems low...I do have the sound all the way up. I enjoy being able to use my computer for geneaology research, music, and the HDMI port so I can connect my computer to the TV. We have netflix and to be able to connect the computer to the television is awesome. Looking forward to doing slide shows on the tv. The only thing I haven't done yet is skipe. It is next on my list."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:February 21, 2011
By Tom
from Troy, MI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"PC has great specs and performance for the price. Visually the PC is pretty bland. A couple of crome or nickel plated partd would liven it up."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for L655-S5168
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

GREAT LAPTOP OVERALL

,
Date:February 6, 2011
By Dan
from New York
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"COMPUTER PERFORMS WELL WITH MULTI TASKING AND RUNS GREAT, BUT THE BATTERY LIFE LAST ONLY FOR 3.5 HOURS."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month