Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for A665-S5170

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

A665-S5170

Average Customer Rating:
4.248 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 153
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (153 reviews)
5 stars
79
4 stars
50
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 star
7
129 of 153(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A665-S5170
Review 1 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Glad I bought it!

,
Date:May 16, 2011
By Tazzi
from Martinez, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like this laptop for its ease of use, light weight, excellent keyboard layout and great features."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

constant freeze-up on startup

,
Date:January 22, 2012
By do not have one
from aurora,in
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"freezes-up about 80% of the time when trying open windows at startup. must pull and reinsert battery to finally get computer to work. returned to store (best buy) twice but still not working. i'm out cost of computer plus cost of programs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Amazing Stuff

,
Date:July 12, 2011
By Héber
from Pará-Brazil
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is amazing. I've had a Toshiba before and liked a lot, so I wanted to continue with this mark.
The computer is very fast and objective. The configuration is great for my needs (download, internet, typing documents, teaching and watching movies)
I really liked the keyboard, it's soft and easy to type. The lights on the top bar and touch pad enhance the beauty of this machine. Unfortunately there is no backlight on the keyboard, I believe it would improve enough to use. Perhaps this is a negative point on this laptop.
I had no difficulty with the HD system, I discovered how to change the protection level 2 and so far everything is quiet.
The exterior design of it is beautiful. The USB ports that carry electronic devices even when the laptop is turned off are very useful.
The speakers are excellent. With a sound quality that I had never heard before on a laptop.
I liked the product and recommend it to anyone who wants to buy.
I live in Brazil and an interesting fact here is that there is no Toshiba computeres to sell here. This is the second laptop I buy in the U.S. and I intend to stay as long as I can.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

,
Date:July 6, 2011
By hiperf454
from claremore, OK
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this laptop. Its light the battery last for a long time. The screen is clear and its performanc is awesome. What more can you want from a pc."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value Laptop!

,
Date:July 4, 2011
By Kool1
from Chicago, Il
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop includes many features and is a great value for the $. The Intel 3 (4GB Ram 64 Bit) Dual Core processor with 4 threads is fast. The 640GB Hard Drive is more than enough to store a ton of photos/music/movies. If you are looking for a laptop to run business programs and browse the net, you will be very satisfied. The Harman/Kardan speakers rock! The only real knock against this laptop is the short battery life (@3.5 hrs)."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Space Bar Much TOOOOOOOOO Small !!!!!!

,
Date:June 30, 2011
By Lori
from Pittsburgh, PA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Being a touch-typist for 50+ years, I find the space bar very inadequate -- it should be longer !!! Even when touching the space bar on the end, it doesn't register the space and words all run together. The space bar must be struck in the middle to register space. I found this extremely annoying and has greatly reduced my typing speed and has drastically decreased productivity. If I had it to do over, I'd buy another brand with longer, normal space bar!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

62 and counting

,
Date:June 20, 2011
By hopandchop
from Asheville, North Carolina
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Satellite will be my last laptop for online payments, surfing and social networking."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Product

,
Date:June 14, 2011
By Love to Surf
from Redondo Beach, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have used my computer extensively since my purchase about a little over a month ago. It was actually a replacement, which was also a Toshiba. My first one had to be returned & replaced after 60 days, because there were some screen issues that were unexplainable, and the Geek Squad basically said this is a rare occurrance so they replaced my laptop. I was very excited and I don't believe I'll have the same screen issues as with the last laptop. I would highly recommend Toshiba, even after the above mentioned issue. My son has an HP and I prefer this over his, which I was using until this purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

,
Date:June 12, 2011
By toucan
from decatur, ga
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good value. Pleased with the features and speed. My only complaint is with the sensitivity of the touch pad. Once I installed a mouse it was perfect for my needs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

ok laptop

,
Date:June 9, 2011
By fifi1581
from mustang, ok
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"my HDD broke after 16 days."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The Best !!!

,
Date:June 7, 2011
By Nani
from Arecibo,PR
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"WOW is super cool my first Lap!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good laptop, but....

,
Date:June 6, 2011
By Cmlucky
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this laptop for the larger screen and for the number keypad! Thats great! But, I like to play games online and it is a challenge because of the mouse on this one! The mouse can stick, I can't locate it at times, it increases/decreases screen size, it gets frustrating and I am very disappointed!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet Laptop

,
Date:June 6, 2011
By Boneman
from MD
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am new to Windows 7 so to learn that is a task in itself. The Satellite is attractive and fully featured. The battery life is not so hot. I did turn off all the power saving features because it becomes almost unusable with them on. That's just my opinion. Go buy one and see for yourself."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop for the Price

,
Date:June 6, 2011
By lasintheatl
from Stone Mountain, GA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's been awhile since I purchased my last laptop and technology has change dramatically since then. My new Toshiba Satellite is great, large DH screen, good sound quality the only short fall is the short battery life. But overall I'm very satisified with my choice."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 40th Mother's Day Gift

,
Date:June 5, 2011
By Cassie
from Jackson, MI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A fantastic gift! Have looked for many months for
the perfect laptop for me. I definitely found it with
my Toshiba Satellite. It handles all the tasks I need
it for and more. The keyboard to great for typing, connect to the internet is fast and I am able to play my big file games without hesitation. Thanks Kids.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good laptop for the money

,
Date:June 5, 2011
By Dallenx
from Oregon
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Pros: weight, size, eco mode, ram, HD, seperation of keys (I can find the arrow keys/backspace/delete/numbers easily in the dark).
Cons: mouse pad location, space bar takes extra attention touse or there will be nospace between words, no usb ports in back.
Suggested improvements: Make the keys of the numerical keypad smaller. This will allow for moving the main keyboard slightly to the right. This in turn will allow the mousepad to be a little more centered on the screen. Also, move the mousepad a little further inward from the lower edge of the laptop. The mouse buttons are to close to the edge."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:June 4, 2011
By kramer660r
from Corinth, Maine
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Compared to other brands, my Toshiba had the same or more features for the money spent. This laptop does everything I want and at super fast speeds. No issues whatsoever. One interesting thing, when I was researching this laptop, I would see what brands were available as factory refurbished. On the websites I checked, there weren't any refurbished available for Toshiba. This spoke volumes to me."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good Computer/Terrible Battery life

,
Date:June 4, 2011
By Joe shmo
from Buffalo,NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The sound is great,the computer works great but that all stops when the battery dies. The battery only lasts for 45 min to an hour.If I wanted to be teathered to a plug I would carry my pc around the house.I brought it back to best buy after two weeks and they gave me a new one.Same thing, They said on line that the battery lasts 4.4 hrs.Not anywhere that long.As im typing this im watching the battery drop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop for home use

,
Date:June 4, 2011
By buckeye fan
from las vegas, nv
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Over all good computer. Space bar a little sticky and battery dosen't last as long as others, but a good buy. Always a Dell user but am happy with this pc. Could have a faster processor."
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for A665-S5170
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

this is my 2nd Toshiba-still have the 1st which is

,
Date:June 3, 2011
By Hawkeye
from cromwell,ct
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"dependable,performance great-super fast-love it"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month