Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NB505-N500BL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

NB505-N500BL

Average Customer Rating:
4.266 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(252 Reviews) 252
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (252 reviews)
5 stars
126
4 stars
91
3 stars
20
2 stars
6
1 star
9
222 of 252(88%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NB505-N500BL
Review 1 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value

,
Date:October 3, 2011
By James from Las Cruces
from Las Cruces, NM
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Pros
Adequate Storage
Comfortable Keyboard
Fast Web Browsing
Lightweight
WiFi
Battery Life is great
Cons
Inadequate Memory
Speakers
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

impressed

,
Date:May 16, 2011
By dewman
from orange park, fl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The performance of this netbook is great. It hasn't had any problems with performance (note: I don't use it for any gaming). The battery life is incredible."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Net book for fun

,
Date:February 19, 2011
By Engine288
from Acton CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I use this net book for looking up stuff and e-mails. I use my desk top for more serious matters. The net book was inexpensive and easy to take places. The battery lasts a long time and a big plus."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for price

,
Date:February 10, 2012
By Chrisphoenix
from Indiana
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I don't use this as my primary. I have a beast gaming laptop for that. But for my on the go computer, this thing is tough. Never too warm, never too weak. It stays cool and I can't max it out, and I am HARD on computers. The system keeps it from running too much at once. If you need more ram, it's easy to upgrade. No problems with this one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good laptop but bad stuff

,
Date:February 6, 2012
By tommyc12
from rossville, in
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"i bought this and i like it it is just it will not let me preform a factory reset on it and it is getting me really mad and i cant find out how to do it"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 6 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:January 15, 2012
By Bob
from Bradenton, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like the color, blue, and the easy gripping of the mini netbook when the screen is closed. The keyboard is very responsive to touch and feels very good. I like the included Toshiba software already installed on the mini netbook. I prefer the 10.1' screen size over laptops with a 15" screen size. This smaller screen and the fact of not having a CD drive makes the weight more favorable to me. I prefer using my Toshiba 320 GB external hard drive more than a CD or flash drive. I want to upgrade the RAM from 1 GB to 2 GB."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Could be better

,
Date:January 10, 2012
By HR girl
from Dayton, OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall, I really like my netbook. I love the size and weight as it makes it really easy to carry around. I travel alot and it's a nice size to carry with me. Not as bulky as a full size laptop. However, it would have been even better if the RAM was upgraded. I'm going to upgrade to 2G but it would be even better if I could get to 3G. I don't understand why there is only 1G installed. I would suggest that 2G should be standard. I shouldn't have to invest more money into it immediately after buying it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent Netbook

,
Date:January 8, 2012
By DesertRat
from Albuquerque, NM
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Reports of the death of the netbook are premature. They are low-glamor, low-profit (so not Marketing's Dream), but rugged and useful.
We got the NB505 mainly to be able to log on while traveling, and it's as good as any Windows computer for that. (A Mac would have cost 4x as much!) For this we loaded it up with freeware: Firefox and LibreOffice portable, IrfanView, Paint.net, YC3, Greenshot, MS Security Essentials, etc., which it runs just fine.
The NB505 boots reasonably fast, has been 100% stable, and has a great display. The battery life is so good I turned the brightness way up, even on battery.
The minor weaknesses are the keyboard and touchpad ergonomics. Though not as bad as some laptops, the keyboard needs "volcano"-shaped keys to better quickly locate your fingers. The touchpad is smallish and lacks easily detectable edges to help with scrolling. Adding black tape solves this.
The camera, microphone, and speaker work just fine ... better than expected (if even expected) in for this price range.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Netbook!

,
Date:January 7, 2012
By Chumba
from Central Pennsylvania
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this netbook for my 12 year son, but quickly discovered how valuable is would also be to me. It's size and features lend it toward many varied tasks...all of which it accomplished. Great Stuff!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Package

,
Date:January 5, 2012
By Bear
from Lynchburg, Va
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love it. Great for a toater. Music, videos, pics, and audible books. For the money you can't beat it. Toshiba support is always on the desktop if you need them. Toshiba and windows updates are on top of it for you too. Files from MS Work go right into and from it with no problem. Have a nice desktop and large laptop but seem to stay on this one the most. Just Handy to have I guess."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

mini notebook scoop

,
Date:January 3, 2012
By Stella
from Erie, Pa
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not needing a regular size laptop this mini notebook is what I was looking for - just to check out my emails and go online. I'm on a computer all day at work so not really wanting to go on again at home.Ste"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Exactly What I Needed

,
Date:January 1, 2012
By Pasadena
from Thousand Oaks, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the perfect machine for what I needed to use for my work. Light weight, long battery life and almost instant on combine to make this an excellent on the road choice."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Gift , My Laptop

,
Date:January 1, 2012
By Sweetie
from Sheboygan,Wisconsin
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Our friends have this brand for their laptop. They helped my husband , a novice computer user, to surprise me with this laptop. I can't thank them enough. I was surprised that I could quicklly set it up and enjoy its use. I know I will recommend this laptop to others as well. Sharon"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Netbook for the Value.

,
Date:December 25, 2011
By Jpa76
from Oklahoma City, OK
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a high quality product with decent features for a first time pc user."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

meets netbook expectations

,
Date:December 23, 2011
By netbookuser
from Michigan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good keyboard layout. Decent battery life (5-6hrs). Nice to be able to upgrade RAM. Too bad the external display port is VGA not HDMI, but that is typical on netbooks."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good netbook

,
Date:December 22, 2011
By Don
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is a great netbook. I added a solid-state drive and 2G of ram and use Ubuntu 11.10. Everything seems to work great except that the wifi connectivity notifications seems to bounce back and forth between connected and unconnected (even next to the router). Otherwise, it seems to work perfectly with Ubuntu."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great addition

,
Date:December 21, 2011
By diva7187
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This netbook is used as my school and travel computer and it very efficient. It has been very useful."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad

,
Date:December 20, 2011
By mriedel57
from va
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It's light, compact, and has decent performance for what it is. I would receommend the memory upgrade - it makes a lot of difference in boot time and overall system performance. The keyboard is small, but what do you expect? You'll get used to it. It's a good unit for the money. Beats a tablet."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great little laptop

,
Date:December 20, 2011
By kittyg
from Chicago, Il
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If your needs are simple, like mine, this laptop is ideal. All I do with it on a regular basis is check email, shop online, and do online banking. This little laptop can more than handle all that!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for NB505-N500BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Awsome!!!

,
Date:December 14, 2011
By Newbe40
from Seattle, WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The netbook is a very well built portable machine. For those who just want to cruise the world wide web and to do light work then this will be the one to purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year