Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L655-S5153

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

L655-S5153

Average Customer Rating:
4.167 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 18(83%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L655-S5153
Review 1 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good laptop

,
Date:May 7, 2011
By Carol
from Puyallup
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the first laptop I've gotten as I had a desktop before. I like it. My husband also has a Toshiba Sattellite A215 and he likes his also. That was one of the reasons that I decided to get a Toshiba when I started to shop for a computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Maybe it's this one was a lemon?

,
Date:August 30, 2012
By Art
from Silver City, NM
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"We bought this computer as a "refurbished" unit. We've done that before so we understand what that means. In fact, we still use a 5 year old Toshiba Satellite we bought refurbished.
Unfortunately, this unit had problems right out of the box. First I noticed very sluggish overall performance. Then, when I was transferring email accounts and installing some software it suddenly locked up. Tried everything but no way to unlock it. Tech support said I could send it in for repairs but as this was after only three days of "use" I decided to return it for a refund.
One further note: When a computer is refurbished Toshiba does not erase the original owner's warranty info from their tech support records. This blocks you from receiving free tech support until you prove to Toshiba that you bought it . This takes 24 to 48 hours. I encourage Toshiba to change their procedures so that when a unit is returned and is to be sold as "refurbished" they erase the first owner's warranty info from the tech support records so the new owner can get prompt help without first spending 24 to 48 hours trying to sort out the paperwork. Otherwise you have to pay for tech support despite the fact that the refurbished unit is sold with a "90 day warranty".
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 3 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice

,
Date:August 7, 2011
By me re
from Slidell, LA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this product for my son to replace his 5 y/o laptop. I only buy toshiba laptops because they are reliable and durable. So far, he is extremely happy with this laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:July 12, 2011
By retired nana
from Annapolis, MD
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overall I like the computer, however, the clock continues to lapse to the incorrect time and I have to reset it constantly. My e-mails show that the received time is off by 3 hours when this is not the case. The time zone is set correctly so I don't understand why it keeps changing at whim. Can anyone help me with this problem?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

not 4 games

,
Date:July 6, 2011
By Djunki
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I dont recommend to by it 4 games cuz graphic is intel HD and cant push CS 1.6 4 everything else it is OK."
Review 6 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Product

,
Date:June 18, 2011
By BETSY
from TUCSON, AZ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Toshiba is an excellent producer of a quality product. Power supply issues are the only problems I've experienced and my household has 4 Toshiba laptops."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop!

,
Date:May 22, 2011
By Bob
from Grand Island, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 2nd Toshiba Laptop. I have always liked the brand Toshiba. My wife and I both purchased (2) of this model laptop in Jan. 2011 and we are very happy with all the features, web cam, DVD, plenty of RAM and hard drive space, bright LED screen. We bought a new router with wireless N to match the laptops built in wireless N WiFi. Couldn't be happier with the price and features. I also like the wide screen and number pad and the Intel Dual Core Processor is very fast."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Toshiba Laptop

,
Date:May 7, 2011
By Mommato2
from Washington
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I didn't think that this laptop was the greatest. It runs really slow, and is really easy on developing virus' and then closing out of my programs, or freezing up!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A very good buy!

,
Date:April 23, 2011
By Castro
from Cunupia, W.I.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Besides the short battery life, it's a very good laptop.I like the appearance of it, black and stylish, and it runs my apps very well, I'm satisfied with my purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

problem with touch pad

,
Date:April 19, 2011
By snowgirl
from florida
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had to disable touch pad and use mouse, the curser was all over the place and when moved the curser to side to change location it would go back where it was. I changed the controls but it did not help."
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba Laptops Rock!

,
Date:April 4, 2011
By VW
from Helena, Alabama
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The new LED screen is great, bright with perfect clarity. The keyboard is the best; love the number keypad on the right side. Returned another brand due to a lousy keyboard and it was a name brand with a strong reputation. Toshiba won me over on this one"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:April 3, 2011
By Mysharona
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 2nd Toshiba Laptop! Love it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

nice laptop

,
Date:April 2, 2011
By novafan 73
from ELIZABETH WV
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i just got this computer yesterday after
having a 8 year old dell i would not go to anyother its fast and a all around good
computer.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 14 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first laptop

,
Date:March 29, 2011
By first time laptap owner
from Shoals, IN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never used a laptop before and was amazed at how low the price was for all that you get. It's super easy to use and very fast!! We will be purchasing another one for work in the next couple of months and have influenced 2 friends to purchase this exact same laptop. Very good piece of equipment!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the keyboard!

,
Date:March 21, 2011
By Mamaw
from Winchester, KY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Satisfied with what I have tried so far. Haven't used all of the available programs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:March 19, 2011
By majdad52
from Burke, VA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"An excellent value for your money. I really like the numeric keypad, built-in camera/mic and pre-loaded Skype. Battery life is 4-hrs!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice!

,
Date:March 15, 2011
By Executive2004
from San Antonio, Texas
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like the built in webcam, keeps me connected with family thru Skype, no fussing with wires and equipment with the built in feature. Also, I like the 10-key pad makes for great convenience. Screen size is great!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for L655-S5153
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Laptop

,
Date:February 16, 2011
By Mom
from Palmetto, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a good laptop for the money. It's best features are it's lightness (weight), monitor picture and the numeric keyboard. I do wish it was easier to set it up and install programs-which doesn't come with many. It also doesn't have the "preferred settings" that other Windows program have. Overall, I am happy with the computer, but still getting used to it after using a PC for so long and after a month still setting up programs and settings. Tech support was nice, but didn't know anything. It has been more difficult setting and even finding settings, etc. than all the other Windows programs. Some of these programs should have come installed for the customer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.