Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive

Toshiba's new Canvio Basics Portable Hard Drive is a simple solution to all your storage and backup needs. It offers high capacity portable storage for your photos, music, videos, and more. Extremely portable with a compact design, the sleek looking and post card sized Canvio Basics Portable Hard Drives are an ideal travel companion. Each hard drive includes an internal shock sensor and anti-slip rubberized side grip to help keep your drive safe while on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
3
5 of 10(50%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Review 1 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

USB Device not recognised in XP problem solved

,
Date:October 20, 2011
By Eager to experience & help
from Hong Kong
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought a Canvio® Basics 1TB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive P/N E05A100BBU2AK (1TB) last night. Attempts to plug into my USB 1.1 ports very often brings up the pop up "USB Device Not Recognised". However, If I plug the USB just halfway into the port (the white light wll brink for a few seconds & then become steady), then push the USB all the way into the port, "This USB device can perform faster if you connect it to a Hi-speed USB 2.0 port" will pop up (normal to see this when a USB 2.0 device is detected by a USB 1.1 port), the light will brink for about 1 minute & the drive will then appear in my computer. The reason for just first pushing in halfway is for the USB to have sufficient time to obtain the 5V power (while the hard drive is unable to become connected & hence misdetected) before it is later pushed all the way in when the external drive is being detected since the contacts are then made. My Pentium III PC took 1 minute & 12 sec to detect the drive because it's port is USB 1.1 & the speed is much slower than USB2.0 ports."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great data storage

,
Date:October 11, 2011
By ifash
from indonesia
"i have this drive bout 4 month, im very satisfied with this drive, cheap on price, but good on performance, I recommend this drive"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Wasted

,
Date:August 30, 2011
By Ducky
from Londson. MN
"I've been using this drive for last two months. It was working good only 45gb info used. After copy a couple of movies total 20gb drive started to conect-reconect to the usb port until had to format and lose all data. The drive didn't work anymore and have to return it back.
Waste of money.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Easy to crash

,
Date:July 17, 2011
By tickedoff
"Owned this drive less than six months. Crashed with IMPORTANT data. I will have to hire a data recovery service! I do NOT recommend this drive for important stuff - period. I will be using online data storage in the future."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Toshiba 500

,
Date:June 9, 2011
By frustrated
from York, PA
"I purchased this hard drive 7mos ago.
At first we had issues with it backing up but then fixed it. Now it crashed-the hard drive started ticking and we have lost everything. From past experiences ticking noise is not a good thing.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Apparently XP doesn't have correct driver

,
Date:April 22, 2011
By Hace
from Houston
"Just purchased the 320 GB Canvio BASICS - Win 7 recognizes it, but Win XP (SP3) says "USB device not recognized". Apparently one needs a driver for Win XP, but there is absolutely nothing in Toshiba support for driver downloads. The box says it works in XP, but it doesn't"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba 500GB HDD

,
Date:March 15, 2011
By Fahim
from Nanjing,China
"I bought it three weeks ago. It is very slim and stylish. it works very fast. I never been disapponted by it. on windows xp and windows 7 its performance is good. I am happy to have it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Hard Drive

,
Date:February 18, 2011
By Hunter
from Altoona, Pa.
"And very easy to use. Unpacked it & plugged it in. PC(with Windows 7) recognized it immediately. When backing up pc, it started out kind of slow but then made up for it. Think it was the right choice. Hope it doesn`t later dissappoint me. I was also advised by a friend that this was the hard drive to get,and he uses this all of the time."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HARD DRIVE

,
Date:January 25, 2011
By techgeek
"Very user-friendly. Highly recommend this product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 500GB CANVIO Basics USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

did not recognize

,
Date:January 16, 2011
By steven
from carey,ohio
"when I hooked it up to my pc my pc has xp and it was not recognized by my pc so can not use it at all"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
7 of 11 people found this review helpful.