Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player

Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player

Average Customer Rating:
1.667 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
12
3 of 18(17%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Review 1 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

SD-V296KU - Can't Get VCR to Record

,
Date:September 5, 2013
By Crusoe1
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I switch to this device to make VCR show recordings for my Mother, who has no cable TV. My very old unit was shot after 20 years and 100's of tapes. This unit appears to record for me, but when I playback, there is no audio or picture. I have a new flat screen and I have followed directions. Don't want to call this a lousy purchase, if it is User error. Anyone have any suggestions for me? Seems like I have spent a lot of time trying all of my TV connection options, of course following the Toshiba manual. Like I said, this unit seems to work, but if I can't get the picture to show or sound...trash city and move on. thanks"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

piece of junk

,
Date:April 24, 2013
By beeker
from terrebonne or
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"only played dvds and vhs in color for the first few days. now only black and white with flutter and distortion on screen. owners manual doesn't explain fix."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

NO RF JACKS!

,
Date:March 20, 2013
By Old Man
from Muskegon, MI
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"There are no RF jacks on this machine. Not compatible with Comcast's digital adapters. Got a Radio Shack RF adapter, can view DVD's and VHS tapes. Cannot record VHS."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 4 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst dvd video player/video cassette recorder

,
Date:March 6, 2013
By meme
from petersburg,va
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"got for christmas to this day unable to hook up to direct tv box also have a toshiba flat screen tv which is fine.have not been able to use"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 5 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Machine needs help!

,
Date:January 24, 2013
By Bill
from Allentown, PA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"VCR side works great to play back tapes. DVD side always gives trouble when trying to play DVDs. Picture stops and starts and distorts when playing a DVD. Acts like the disc needs cleaning but the disc is brand new right out of a sealed package! Tried a lens cleaning disk, but it didn't help. Trying to figure my options from here."
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

does not work with digital box

,
Date:January 1, 2013
By Likes my VCR
from Abbotsford, BC
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I could not find the spot to plug the cable in. What is listed as a coaxial port does not look like one. We have to use a digital box and cannot see how this will be compatible. Back to our old VCR machine which has the coaxial in and out ports. Alas, the DVDs I received for Christmas will remain unopened."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Frustrating!

,
Date:December 16, 2012
By Mo
from Canada
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Can't get DVD or cassette to play in color."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 8 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DVD does not work

,
Date:November 28, 2012
By MDW
from MD
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Bought for father in law with Alzheimer's. VHS works great, DVD player will not play ANY DVD's. So dissapointed and frustrated."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 9 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst VCR ever

,
Date:October 4, 2012
By mick
from media, pa
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I mioved and i can;t find any instructions as to how to tape a program. You never supplied a manual and i can't get one on line without downloading about 50 pages.On other products i can see the manual and print just the pages i need"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 10 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

vcr dvd

,
Date:September 13, 2012
By pinkey943
from egg harbor township nj
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"my dvd will play but vcr wont record off tv"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 11 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 7, 2012
By Joy
from Ontario, Canada
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I havea new SDV296KC Combo and could not get it to work with the new 40" LED Toshiba. Had to use a relative"s older model #SDV398KC. Not happy since the store would not take my newly purchased one back. The connections on my two machines are not compatible. HELP!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 12 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value, Hard To Find Combo

,
Date:May 4, 2012
By nat
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This machine is just as described, a player for both DVDs and VHS tapes. We plugged it in and it worked, period."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

SDV39K

,
Date:December 30, 2011
By Billybob
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"DVD locks closed and can't open it. Turning it off and on didn't work."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 14 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Simple

,
Date:December 7, 2011
By Recreation Therapist
from CA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"We have been using this product for a couple of years now and it is still in good working order. I would recommend this machine if you have a need to use both DVD and VHS."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 15 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Toshiba DVD Video Player/Video Cassette Recorder

,
Date:December 1, 2011
By Presawar
from Dallas, Texas
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The salesman told me I could convert VHS tapes to DVD discs. This machine won't do that. I bought the machine out of town. I guess I'm stuck."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 16 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great VCR/DVD player

,
Date:December 1, 2011
By quikjr
from Lubbock, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this unit .. took it home .. installed the three cables to red-white-yellow on the new 46" TV I bought (Panasonic).
Turned it on. Put both a VCR and a video Disc to see if it worked. Both videos played perfectly.
What more could you want??
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst DVD Player for connections

,
Date:September 2, 2011
By B
from Jones Valley Elementary
"It will not Display the menu so you can set it up.
The Setup button does nothing.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 18 for Toshiba SD-V296 DVD/VCR Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst VCR/DVD Player Combo

,
Date:August 7, 2011
By virgie
from San Antonio
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We wanted a VCR/DVD player combo, so we could watch our vcr tapes and record. But the vcr side keeps messing up, by snagging the tapes. We bought this combo at Best Buy for the second time, and this time with a warranty to be on the safe side, and again with the same problem, with the second one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year