Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for NB305-N442BL

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

NB305-N442BL

Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NB305-N442BL
Review 1 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

NB305 + Ubuntu = Perfect

,
Date:April 8, 2011
By Rufus
from Hill, NH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I installed Ubuntu 10.10 the night I bought this thing. 100 GB for the existing Windows 7, 150 GB for the Linux just in case I need to run a picky Windows application that doesn't work with Wine. Under Ubuntu this thing boots much faster and runs much better than when run in Windows. Skype runs so well that I use it weekly when telecommuting for work. I have two desktops and another laptop and I use this netbook more than the rest of them combined. One thing that sets this netbook apart for me was the fact that the keys are much better than the competitors. I can type full speed with my sausage fingers. I'm not a typical user in that I use Linux almost exclusively at home and at work, so I can't qualify the full Windows experience that you'd get out of the box. I do know that it took me an hour to get rid of the junk that was installed by default on the Windows partition. Also, I have not yet upgraded to the 2GB of memory and so far I haven't needed to.
I recommend this notebook regardless of the operating system used."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:February 22, 2011
By me
from Chapel Hill NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"nice styling... much classier than Dell and HP... a little heavy on the Manufacturers "bloatware" but that is what.. msconfig.. is for. Skype complains my processor is too slow (only Skype running) so I have to run it in.. High Performance.. mode or Skype breaks up.. "loses it" but battery goes down faster in the hotel lobby. Windows Experience says my processor rating is only 2.4 out of 7.9.. but my harddrive is 5.9 and RAM is 4.5. Can I improve my cpu rating?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

love it

,
Date:February 12, 2011
By groundhog54
from Paxton NE
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I do love my netbook but I did upgrade to 2G also downloaded windows and microsoft office. So it ended up being not as good of a deal-maybe sould have bought a netbook w/all those things already included."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful Netbook

,
Date:February 5, 2011
By Train Traveler
from Hartford, CT
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great netbook. Excellent battery life, speed, usability. I take it on the Hartford - Philly train, and it holds up very well. The only problem is movies on iTunes sometimes skips when the train gets rocky, but that is hard to avoid."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Traveling Tool

,
Date:February 4, 2011
By WEP
from Houston, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Lightweight and good features. I upgraded the memory to 2MB but the unit is still slow.
It works great to access a remote server.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba window 7

,
Date:February 2, 2011
By vmq
from San Antonio, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Nice features added"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice laptop

,
Date:February 2, 2011
By suszy
from Dalllas WI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"enjoying this product thus far"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Item-Remember it's NOT a laptop

,
Date:January 28, 2011
By Esamgo
from Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the small size. I installed additional memory and upgraded to Win 7. They come with Windows Starter installed which will do almost everything you need it to do. The netbook runs great. Do not confuse a "netbook" with a "laptop". Netbooks are smaller, this model cannot use more that 2GB of RAM. If you are aware of the limitations, you will enjoy this netbook. They come with a PC Health monitor installed to help keep the performance where it should be."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

NB305-N442BL

,
Date:January 20, 2011
By Whiterock
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Other than not being able to change the background with Windows 7 Starter, needing external speakers, and having to purchase a Bluetooth adapter, I have been pleased with my new little computer toy. It is beginning to equal a Barbie Doll with all the accessories I want to purchase to go with it including DVD drive, Portable External Hard Drive, and protective case! The size, price and portability make it worthwhile."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Most Excellent Notebook

,
Date:January 10, 2011
By profgadget
from Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought 2 of these for Christmas and was not disapointed. Reasonable boot up time. Fast browsing. Norton antivirus is a bit too memory heavy for this, go with something that uses less memory. Battery life is excellent, best ever. Nice and light, travels easy. Screen display bright. Despite other reviews, it plays streaming video just fine. Speakers are quiet, but I knew that going in and it sounds fine if hooked up to external speakers. All in all, it performs very well for a little machine."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be careful with memory upgrades

,
Date:December 29, 2010
By Steve
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Not all 2GB DDR3 memory is compatible with this netbook. I learned that after traversing the road of frustration. A subsequent search in Toshiba's support site shows that the following are supported:
Toshiba: PA3856U-1M2G
Kingston: KTT1066D3S/2G
I can tell you that Crucial 2GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1066 (PC3 8500) Laptop Memory Model CT25664BC1067 definitely is incompatible.
This restriction should be more pronounced in the manual and Toshiba site. It would save a lot of headaches.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

COOL

,
Date:October 13, 2010
By will
from VA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"SO cool, great every thing! The gaming is ok, and the internet is great"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for NB305-N442BL
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So Cool

,
Date:October 12, 2010
By William
from VA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is great, i am at a boarding school and size matters in my room, i was a little skeptical when i first saw it but it is fast and effecient"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.