Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for X505-Q870

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

X505-Q870

Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 144
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
102
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
3
135 of 144(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X505-Q870
Review 41 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Qosmio X505 Laptop

,
Date:June 3, 2010
By CJ
from Boston MA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Qosmio X505 computer was the best investment I have made since my last Toshiba Laptop. The computer far exceeded my expectations. The scores are mostly excellent. I have given 4 stars due to the fact that the battery life is not as long as most other devices, probably due to the fact that the computer is not "most other devices". The battery life is very good in comparison considering the required power that the machine needs as a Multi-Media device. The Qosmio X505 is a top of the line High Tech machine at an excellent price. The Blu-ray and Hi-def screen are a bonus. I am a loyal Toshiba customer and will remain so. Excellent products at Excellent prices."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 42 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My Toshiba Laptop

,
Date:May 31, 2010
By quietstorm
from Hudson,MI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I did a extreme tests on this laptop and none of them failed. It is one solid laptop for the buck!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 43 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great

,
Date:May 31, 2010
By Roy
from Michigan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"crashed twice first week removing and replacing
battery corrected problem. need more time to access
features just finding out what works. not a portable you would carry everywhere.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 44 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Sweet, sweet laptop

,
Date:May 30, 2010
By LaptopAddict
from Arnold, MO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Qosmio and once again it is one of the best laptops I've ever owned. The features coupled with the price make this an incredible machine. It has power to spare with it's i7 processor and plenty of RAM to make productivity software sing and games silky smooth to play. I gave only four stars because there are other models with 8Gb of RAM and I think that would be even better.
I haven't had a chance to try the Blu-Ray drive but I have watched several movies and the screen quality is simply amazing. The only thing I have even slightly negative to say is that the sound quality has gotten worse over my last Qosmio. My old one had four speakers and a sub-woofer and this one only have two speakers and they clip pretty easily. Luckily, I use headphones more often than not so it's not really much of an issue for me.
The battery life really isn't all that bad considering the size of the screen and the power of the machine but it pales in comparison to many modern laptops. However, this laptop is truly a desktop replacement and I don't rely on the battery except in dire emergencies."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 45 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

toshiba the best

,
Date:May 30, 2010
By rogers D
from grenada,ms.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"excellent compute.improve speakers volume.more virus protection time.maybe 6 mo. or better.thank you."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 46 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very good for the money

,
Date:May 29, 2010
By Repeat Customer
from Gig Harbor, Washington
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The X505 has performed very well and the graphics are almost instant. Battery runs down a little fast but this is a powerhouse so what do you expect. My last Toshiba lasted over five years with no problems so I expect the same."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 47 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Needs Better Keypad

,
Date:May 26, 2010
By Decodan
from Fort Worth, TX
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I purchased this unit on-line since the local computer stores did not have this model. I like the large screen size hoping that the keyboard would be full size. However, the keyboard size does not match the size you would expect for a laptop this size. The human factor layout is poor with power and sound controls on the left side taking up valuable space that could have been relocated up above the keyboard. As you can tell, I hate the keyboard design that has flat surfaces and poor tactile feel."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 48 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Heaviest Laptop Ever

,
Date:May 24, 2010
By JB
from Maui, Hawaii
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Pretty good computer except - the touch sensitive buttons on the left are constantly being pressed when typing by my palm. These should be along the top of the keyboard, like many others. They also beep very loud, no matter what. This should be optional. Making these buttons not function, similar to the touch pad would be a really good idea.
The sound is too low for such a full featured laptop. It should have a much better amplifier to match its other qualities.
There should be two headphone jacks
The delete key is too small and should occupy the space of the num lock indicator (which should be like the Cap lock indicator).
Otherwise, this computer seems to be a powerful computer but pretty expensive to have all the nuisance issues .
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 49 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Overall Laptop

,
Date:May 23, 2010
By Afreeman
from Elk Grove, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is great. You can play any game wirelessley on this thing and never experience any lag. The graphics are stupendous. Great value for the price. Windows 7 makes everything run simple."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 50 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:May 19, 2010
By roachofdoom
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great laptop. only gripe was it took a month to get it. and another month to get the lojack registration code."
Review 51 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

X505

,
Date:May 19, 2010
By Gunner
from Tampa
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a must have if you need a large screen laptop. No problem using this as a desk top replacement. Battery life is sad.....but the machine really screams...If the battery was better it gets all 5's"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 52 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Gaming IS For Laptops!

,
Date:May 17, 2010
By Tora
from Sacramento, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Purchased this laptop specificall for gaming to replace a 4 year old Dell laptop I've been using. Everyone said not to game on a laptop. Surprisingly, it really does make the gaming experience more enjoyable. Faster loads, crisper graphics, no more latency issues. Haven't had time to try all the extras that came with it so I can't comment on those (bluray, etc.). One negative so far is the weight but overall, it was a great choice! My first Toshiba...I like it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 53 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

solid, fast

,
Date:May 17, 2010
By wingnut
from Soldotna, AK
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"They seem to have thought of everything. Sound is fantastic. Network setup was easiest I have ever attempted."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 54 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality meets Performance

,
Date:May 16, 2010
By Dagra
from South Jersey, NJ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my 2nd Toshiba Notebook PC. It blazes through work as Well as playing games. Toshiba put a lot of thought into this model. For anyone having problems cleaning the touch sensitive buttons, while cleaning, simply remove the battery after unplugging it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 55 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Quality for the Price

,
Date:May 16, 2010
By Browneagle
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am a Flight Simulator Flyer. For me this is the best I have had for it. I get very good performance with all the displays turned up to high and very high setting with no flutter or glitter at all. Nice smooth performance. I am finding that Windows7 want play some of my older games. Madden football locks up. I would like to see a few more USB's. The keyboard was surprisingly enjoyable with the lighting under the keys very helpful in low lighting. I haven't used the Blue-ray but looking forward to watching Avatar on it. All in all I am pleased with my choice in purchasing this computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 56 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Service

,
Date:May 14, 2010
By intheknow
from Rochester, NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Well, off to a bad start! I happened to be home when it was delivered by the 'Brown Truck' the thud I heard from the front porch announced it's arrival. Unpacked it (packing was poor considering it was on a truck for 7 days) and let it sit for 24 hours hoping for the best. Nope! Screen was bad. Toshiba Tech Support was great, ToshibaDirect was even better, got an RMA and FedEx shipping label within 20 minutes,thanks Marianne. If I can update this site I'll tell you the rest of the story when I get my replacement! Total time in use: 3 Hrs"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 57 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Qosmio X505-Q870 Laptop

,
Date:May 9, 2010
By ppton
from perris, ca
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"when i opened the box and pull my new system out it was very easy to install it.
this is a nice laptop for every thing/day use
the only backwards is the battery life about 3 hrs.
i would recommend it to all of you!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 58 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Desktop Replacement !

,
Date:May 6, 2010
By emiramar
from Aberdeen NJ USA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After years of using rather expensive "desktop replacement" 18" HP laptops, which would fail after slightly more than 12 months, I switched to 18" Toshiba. I ruled out Asus, Sony, Dell, and Samsung.
First impression:
Excellent built (looks solid to me), quality mechanical components (e.g. optical drives), useful features (e.g illuminated keyboard), elegant ! Silent (unlike the HP !)
Besides the usual MS Office I currently run Adobe Video and Photo Editing applications, various Audio and Video Converters, some of the popular Media Players and even CPU intensive Molecular Modeling Programs. Various security, disk and registry maintenance utilities. Cisco-Linksys Wireless Modem. Fast ! Never crashed so far (no "blue screen"). I seldom do this, but twice I timed about 4 hours of usage on batteries alone in High Performance mode ('should be more in Balanced or Economy).
A pleasure to use !"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 59 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome!

,
Date:May 2, 2010
By Gamer
from Atlanta, GA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am so please with my new Qosmio laptop, it is everything I expected and more. the stylish looks of the Qosmio are in a class by themselves. The speed and graphics in this laptop are super fast. You have a customer for life:)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 60 for X505-Q870
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

,
Date:May 1, 2010
By RonK
from Auburn, AL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"While I do not play games on this computer, I do write almost all day long on it. One of my requirements is a separate numeric key pad. This Toshiba is the only one in the 17inch plus category with the touchpad properly centered on the "B" key. Most other computers have the touchpad shifted further to the right, causing the right hand to infringe on the touchpad and cause undesireable effects."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year