Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite A505-S6005

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite A505-S6005

Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 of 39(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite A505-S6005
Review 1 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very nice notebook

,
Date:August 22, 2011
By smokey
from Spokane wa.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"All the functions & features work great except for the keyboard which I replaced. The battery is deader than a door nail."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Recommend inspect

,
Date:December 16, 2010
By ameen fozi
from yemen
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Product wonderful and beautiful and very high performance. Excellent battery lasts so long playback time in the development of high performance. But appeared in the recent problem in the screen stops and operates from receiving the same"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:October 31, 2010
By Shan
from Pakistan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall its a GOOD machine covers maximum features."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 4 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great, Reliable, and Fast Toshiba for the price.

,
Date:August 18, 2010
By CIDRtheBITER
from Phoenix,AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have owned the A505 laptop for 4 months now and it has been great. Performance wise It is the fastest laptop I have owned, and boot up times are just a few seconds. The 4 gigabytes of ram along with the Core 3 processor make this thin a beauty in multitasking. One thing I really liked was the hard drive protection software that the laptop came with. It really does a good job on protecting the hard drive from bumps and low tempered teenagers. The screen is just unbelievable, it has a really bright glossy screen that just make all content stand out specially when working with pictures. One option that would have blown me away would have been blue tooth functionality built into the laptop, but for the price I can't really complain. Over all if your looking into purchasing these particular toshiba model or any other toshiba model GO for it! Toshiba makes good quality stuff and they have great product warranty and customer support unlike other manufacturers."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satellite Addict

,
Date:August 18, 2010
By Mimi29827
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"When I finally decided I had to get another laptop, I didn't hesitate to look at the Satellites. My last one was a work horse of a machine that wasn't prissy about how it was treated. I was afraid the A505 wouldn't satisfy me, but it's great. I had two complaints with the Satellite I had before: the battery didn't last long enough and it overheated on my lap. The A505's battery lasts longer than any I've seen, and the added bar at the back keeps the air flowing and the heat away from my lap. I can't say enough about this machine. Keep giving the quality, I'll keep buying Toshiba! I wouldn't hesitate a second to recommend it to anyone for small business, school, or home use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best of 6 other PC's that i have had

,
Date:August 10, 2010
By toshiba user
from Battle Ground WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i must say this has been an excellent PC- other them my MAC -- Yes i would pick this one again and also recommend to others. This is fast, fantastic sound in the Harman Kardon speaker system, all others had tinny sounding speakers..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 7 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

,
Date:July 19, 2010
By notMyName
from Canada
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Two things wrong: The battery life can be a bit variable. One charge, I'll get nearly 7 hours of use out of it. The next it'll be around 3 hours. Second thing is the memory card reader is apparently not available on this model, which kindof ticks me off... it has a slot for it though, so I'll probably get one.
Pros: Core i3. I got mine for just under 600, and at that price, the i3 boasts excellent bang for your buck. Wonderfully fast little chip.
When it's good with battery life, it's great.
There is very little pre-installed software (junk anyway. Toshiba does provide some pretty useful stuff)
The keyboard is a nice size, and it feels good to type. I usually hate laptop keyboards but I'm quite happy with this one.
Graphics are excellent. Yes, the chip is integrated, but it's one of the best integrated graphics systems available. Takes far less power than discreet cards.
Fast turning on and shutting down. I've been using a bogged down XP for the last little while, and this is absolutely wonderful in comparison.
Not great, not bad: Speakers + realtek audio manager. The speakers sound GREAT from directly above, but at an angle (the way normal people use a laptop :P) they sound a bit off. The realtek audio manager doesn't allow for much customization.
Don't care: Smudges. They come off easily, and only show up when you look for them."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only a Satallite will do!

,
Date:July 16, 2010
By Bluebummer
from Chicago, IL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After having the original Satallite for 9 years it started to slow down and couldn't keep up. I knew with a laptop lasting that long I couldn't just replace it with anything it had to be another Satallite. This is the best option out there when I was looking and so it was. It plays my cheap computer games that I love as well as keeps a very fast happy connection to the internet. I am sure this computer will stick with me for as long as my old one did!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressed

,
Date:July 14, 2010
By Schnoodle
from Bethel, Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is awesome. Perfect sized screen, hard drive, ram, and processor to meet my needs and exceed them. Yea, the glossy finish with the fingerprints downgrade the ascetics but when it’s clean, it’s a really sharp looking laptop that has impressed everyone. The Harmon/Kardon speakers are pretty awesome too. My HP 17” wide screen was a little too bulky but the 16” screen fits my case well. The extended life battery was a real plus for using it in class and had battery life to spare. The performance is great. Overall, a great laptop for the money I have recommended this laptop to several other people. Good job Toshiba!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Laptop

,
Date:July 8, 2010
By jason
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first laptop and I bought it on closeout. I got a great deal so I decided to give it a shot. I am glad I did (so far). It's too soon to tell, but this seems like a well put-together laptop. I've known people to have Toshiba's before and it seems to be a love it or hate it relationship depending on the scenario. So far, I love it. The specs are really good for the money (even at closet to retail pricing) when compared to the competition (HP, Acer/Gateway, Dell, etc.). I did a lot of research and this particular laptop gets really good reviews at BestBuy (where I purchased mine). I was surprised how fast it is, even with all of the Toshiba bloat-ware (which is easy enough to remove, but be careful, some of it you need!). I'll check back in, in a year or so and we'll see how it holds up!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First laptop purchase

,
Date:June 15, 2010
By Lola
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Con's
The fingerprints; but that really doesnt' bother me, I just wipe them off.
The disc drive seems flimsy to me and the disc's seem a little hard to remove.
The webcam isn't so great. I tried adjusting it the best I could.
Pro's
It's faster then anything I've had before.
Good price.
Long battery life
If there is anything about this pc I would change it would be the disc drive and I would like a back lit keyboard. Perhaps next time. -)
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 12 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great!! Machine!!

,
Date:June 13, 2010
By TONE
from OHIO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I ve had my 505 about a week now and i love it. It has a Awsome sound system!! I tweaked it through the realtek HD audio Manager big dif. Super battery life,highly recommended. Good job TOSHIBA !! Great support!!!!!!!!!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Slow, slow, slow

,
Date:June 12, 2010
By Mac
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this laptop 3 months ago to replace my 6 year old Dell Inspiron 5150. I was expecting it to be so much faster being 6 years newer and also because my Dell has been through a lot. Unfortunately the Toshiba is extremely slow. It takes about 5 minutes to completely boot up and has a problem freezing up a lot. I tried playing my old Civ III on it but the screen constantly locks up and I end up having to reboot. I scared to try anything that might make it work any harder. It has been really disappointing as Toshiba is suposed to be one of the best and there are a lot of features I really like. I guess I got stuck with a lemon."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Impressive

,
Date:May 24, 2010
By Rochelle
from Bay Area, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have never had a laptop before but since I have decided to go to college I bought one. I needed something that was reasonable in price and provided the most efficency and memory. After many hours of researching I decided on this laptop and have been nothing but happy about it. I will say that off the top I wish it had more battery life. I think I only get about 3hours which isn't terrible but I would like double that.
I play World of Warcraft on this computer with my aircard or using WiFi with no problems what so ever. The graphics are great, the sound is great. I know that some people have complained abou the angle due to the battery but honestly that is what preserves the life of the system so that it doesn't overheat and I love it. I use a simple "in bed" dinner tray to set my laptop on top of while I'm using it in my bed and it works perfectly. So I give this a high rating. There are a lot of other great things about it but I was just happy that it played WoW!!! LOL"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

stable

,
Date:May 23, 2010
By jeffhm
from rivaca,Az
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"love the computer, can't complain about a thing except the glossy finish."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the computer, don't like the battery area.

,
Date:May 12, 2010
By PeanutbutterandJelly
from Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After breaking off the relationship with my 5 year old Toshiba laptop, I didn't hesitate to purchase another one. I love the computer except for 2 things. 1) Don't like the keypad. Would rather have more space for keys since I don't use a keypad 2) I understand the raising of the bottom of the laptop for air circulation and also for the battery life, but I don't like it because it's not comfortable sitting on my lap. I have knee replacements and the computer battery puts too much weight in one small area on my legs rather then laying flat and dispersing all the weight evenly. Otherwise, this computer rocks!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 17 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fast and easy to use

,
Date:April 29, 2010
By Stan
from Sunland, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great laptop for the money. I read all the reviews before buying and I wasn't dissappointed. I would buy it all over again now that I have learned my way around."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

,
Date:April 27, 2010
By Shadow
from Charleston, SC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The review below this gave the battery life 3 stars...I am amazed since that was a major Cherry on the pie for me. It has great battery life and the laptop itself is awesome. There are not enough good things I could say about it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Deal!

,
Date:April 23, 2010
By Destruco-Man
from Edinburg TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Battery life is good can get me through a 3 hour class no problem, also the weight is not that bad given the size of the laptop and the 12cell battery. It can handle a CAD software program that will usually bog systems down but runs smooth with this computer also opens up programs real fast. The shutdown and start up times are also pretty fast. The only thing I would say bad about it is the speakers I just wish they would be a little louder. But that aside its a great value for the price, the performance is excellent."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite A505-S6005
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Machine

,
Date:April 22, 2010
By Steve
from Palm Coast, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had other Toshiba's, this is an excellent performing machine....some people complained about fingerprints...Well, just use a little car paste wax when machine is off and you won't have that problem any more...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month