Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L455D-S5976

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

L455D-S5976

Average Customer Rating:
4.274 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(820 Reviews) 820
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (820 reviews)
5 stars
419
4 stars
285
3 stars
65
2 stars
24
1 star
27
735 of 820(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L455D-S5976
Review 1 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

GREAT PRODUCT

,
Date:January 19, 2011
By MZTAZZY
from INDIANAPOLIS,INDIANA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THIS IS MY FIRST LAPTOP. I WAS SURPRISED HOW MUCH I ENJOYED IT.IT DOES EVERYTHING I NEED IT TO DO."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 2 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great First Laptop

,
Date:December 11, 2009
By Ria
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great laptop. I bought it for really cheap also and it's AMAZING. Easy to start up and does not overheat as much as other laptops. Recommended to people as their first laptop."
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

,
Date:November 24, 2009
By Kiassara
from Racine Wi
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had a Toshiba laptop before that I liked so I bought this one as a replacement. The price was excellent and overall this is a great laptop. The battery life is less than desirable and the touchpad is a difficult to disable without also disabling the keyboard. Toshiba's DVD player is much better than Windows Media Player, and it really is a great laptop. The keyboard is a little small but larger than many others. The screen and picture quality are fantastic. I frequently watch movies and am very impressed with the High Def quality. I would and have recommmend this laptop to others."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inadequate.

,
Date:July 9, 2012
By Oscillator
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I've owned this laptop for a year and a half now and it hasn't crapped out on me or ever stopped working. That said, it's hard to say this thing ever really worked to begin with. I can't think of a single spec on this laptop that I genuinely like. The internal speakers are average, there is no internal camera nor internal microphone, the graphics card is bad and it has insufficient RAM for someone like me. I can't listen to music on an internet browser while actually browsing through different pages without terrible lag. The computer can't even handle watching videos in 1080p, nor can it handle having several tabs open at once unlike any of my previous laptops. I think this would be a good computer to give you your son or daughter as a beginner laptop. If you're as tech savvy as I am, then I definitely do not recommend this."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 5 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent laptop for the price.

,
Date:April 13, 2012
By Tony
from AR
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had this laptop for 2 years and it is very good for a casual PC user. Very good at viewing movies, Internet surfing, non graphic-intensive gaming, and social-networking."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 6 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

childs toy

,
Date:April 13, 2012
By logan
from tennessee
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"i got this for technical school and running documents is about all it can do. between toshibas programing and amd, it refuses to let me update any major parts. i get a frame per second on youtube if i sit this on anything warmer than a sheet of metal. unless you plan on getting something for a kid to teach them how to upgrade later stay away. also after a few months i got a notification about drive failure on startup but its about something i dont even have and has no affect on what little performance this even offers"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 7 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

If I could mark zero stars I would do so

,
Date:March 3, 2012
By Don't buy
from NY, US
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This comes preloaded with extra junk no one needs and slow behind times specs. I'm a system builder and computer repair tech (student), and I need something FAST, not something you should never get!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent Laptop

,
Date:February 29, 2012
By Kay
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My dad bought this laptop in '09 and it does pretty good for the price. However, if you're looking for a great gaming laptop, this probably isn't the right one for you. It couldn't run most of my games without major lag spikes that went down to nearly 5 fps or less. It even went extremely bad on Minecraft, which I had thought would work on most laptops. However, when the lag is gone, it can run games at a great amount of fps. So the lag is not constant.
The laptop also freezes up frequently and crashes once in a while. It will freeze, then stop responding for over 30 minutes until you're left with no other choice but the take out the battery and restart it.
It also overheats a lot and made my room feel like an oven. I eventually got a cooler and the overheating problem was fixed. Next, though, the charger died randomly one day. I then got a new charger for a small price and it worked fine.
Overall, this laptop has worked well enough to help me carry on with my school work and such. It's definitely not good for gaming, but I am not a heavy gamer so it isn't a major problem. It is a good laptop, but I've seen better. It starts getting the major problems at least a year after buying it.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 9 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for the money

,
Date:February 29, 2012
By john
from michigan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This does everything I want it to. Runs games and other software holds up to the abuse of being a family computer plus being carried to school. The only bad thing I can say about this laptop is that it came with norton once that was removed no trouble at all. I suspect that those that gave this a bad review don't know much about laptops."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 10 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not a good laptop.

,
Date:February 27, 2012
By 007
from san francisco
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Pros: Screen size?
Cons: Volume wheel on front, which I can easily bump, single-core CPU, slow 250Gb HD, only 2Gb RAM.
Other thoughts: The fan is noisey, the unit itself is just terrible.
Save money, Don't buy it.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 11 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best laptop

,
Date:February 23, 2012
By hisoka
from morocco
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"i've had it siince june 2010 and since i've never had a problem with it, i use it everyday the battery life is about 2 hours, but with some software it can last for more than 3 hours.
for the performance it's incredible how this laptop can run big and new games such us Call Of Duty (mw1, mw2 and also mw3).
for those who take care for their computers, this modest toshiba will be the best computer you have ever had;
"
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Its do-able

,
Date:February 16, 2012
By Shawn
from INDIANA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I am a web designer. This computer has been my main computer for about a year. It overheats regularly and the battery life is about a hour. Hard drive and memory isn't a lot, but its ok for a basic computer. Overall, I would give it about a 3.5 out of 5. Haven't really had any problems except battery overheats and not enough memory."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 13 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

awesome laptop

,
Date:February 15, 2012
By Joe
from Texas
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am delighted with the laptop because of all the new features and easy to use among all the family for school projects & browsing the net."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 14 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:January 24, 2012
By mick
from ohio
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had my laptop for almost a year with no issues, I am a gamer and student. The battery lasts almost 2 and a half hours, I exercise the battery regularly. I maintenance this computer as anyone who has any IT knowhow will do and My computer performs fast and efficient. those who downtalk this computer just dont know thier stuff."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

junk

,
Date:January 23, 2012
By chuck
from kewanee, il
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"i have had to had this repaired 3 times and have only had it for a year, now its broke again and out of warranty, so its off to be repaired again, i thinki i got a lemon"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 16 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Good first laptop. Maybe?

,
Date:January 8, 2012
By Pupshadow
from Newberg, OR
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I think this laptop is an ok first laptop but if you're planing to be constantly taking this everywhere look somewhere else. On the "power-saver" setting makes it useless "balanced" takes a long time to respond and "high-performance" devours the power making the battery last on average 40min. on a full charge."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 17 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Piece of junk

,
Date:December 30, 2011
By 006
from irvine, ca
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This is a junk laptop, no bluetooth or webcam, nothing good, single core cpu, abismal ram, did I mention slow? Will never buy one again! JUNK JUNK JUNK!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 18 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Pretty good

,
Date:December 8, 2011
By Katie
from Rochester, NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Second laptop because my Acer one failed and sucked. Battery life is short, but I don't let it leave the house. Speakers could use a little work, but overall it gets what I want done, and holds all my things without using up all of the Hard drive. Never had any issues with it. Good laptop for those that want a simplicity yet durable (aunt dropped it from a counter that was about five feet tall and it did not damage it) laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 19 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not worth what i paid for.

,
Date:November 26, 2011
By Aim
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I got this for Christmas 2010, And into January, i began to have problems. The frame on the front had broken off (fixed with duck tape ;D) Mid- July the mouse on the computer stopped working, so i started using one in a USB thing, then the USB things started to not work, so i only have one USB port thats works, its hard to save something on to a flash drive when your mouse doesnt work! i only use that laptop now for book reports for school, cuase thats about all it can be used for!! For me, someone who knows NOTHING, about computers, i dont think it works right.."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for L455D-S5976
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop for price point

,
Date:November 23, 2011
By Big Guy
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this laptop to replace my daughters laptop for college which fried last year 2010. She love it. Good RAM enough hard drive space and no performance issues. Only disappointment no webcam. Had to purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year