Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)

Toshiba Portable External Hard Drive is a simple solution to all your storage and backup needs. It takes the complexity out of backing up your data by providing easy-to-use backup software for both Windows and Mac users. With one click and you're on your way to creating a digital safety net for your files.
Average Customer Rating:
2.154 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
9
4 of 13(31%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Review 1 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Complete Junk

,
Date:June 7, 2010
By John
from Brooklyn, NY
"First it crashed when I tried to make a transfer, then it always shut down my USB ports due to excess power use. I got a Y cable to fix this problem, and it either still crashes the USB, or simply doesn't recognize the drive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't use if you actually want to keep your data.

,
Date:May 23, 2010
By Hibern8r
from Tulsa, OK
"Experienced constant Cyclic Redundancy Errors. Couldn't copy more than several gigabytes in one session; any more than just a few Gb resulted in frequent Cyclic Redundancy Errors requiring reformat.
Very disappointed."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

640GB Perfect Backup Size

,
Date:April 28, 2010
By JP
from Boca Raton, FL
"One of the best portable external I've used. Very fast for USB. Top of the Line. Buy it and be happy!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Bogus backup software

,
Date:April 21, 2010
By photonut
from Concord CA
"Bought and returned drive in two days. Reason: included BackupNowEZ software from Newtech InfoSystems did NOT work as per the manual. Was unable to create and name my own custom backups. See below on why not recommended, for more details."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crashed first time used it

,
Date:April 16, 2010
By Scuba King
"Plugged it into my computer. It started the download and install of the software. It crashed during set up when the set up software could not find the correct directory name on the Toshiba external drive. Now the software will not recognize the drive and if I try to view the files on the drive it crashes Windows completely. Piece of junk....do not buy."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 6 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

No Instructions

,
Date:March 21, 2010
By YoungBros
from Milford, IA
"There are no instructions. I had to call tech to figure out. After that it is easy to use and works great. 1st laptop I got was junk so had to send back. Used this to back up my files and complete hard drive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Low Quality

,
Date:March 8, 2010
By Ares
"Very Cheap in quality and price. My computer and TV doesnt recognize the drive and it crashes frequently when copying files. It also won't transfer files greater than 4 GB."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 8 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 28, 2010
By student
from hartford, ct
"I got Hard drive 2 months ago, it work so far ok,
Today my comuter couldn't read the HD, i try to check on the other computers and i got the message that i need to instal the driver, however doesn't tell what driver, cant see the the hardware
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Tool I use it Everyday

,
Date:January 30, 2010
By Locutus
from Wallace, MI
"What a great tool, my laptop died 3 weeks ago, All my files were restored on the new machine effortlessly, just plug it in. I have recommended it to all my friends. Thanks Toshiba"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
Review 10 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

DOA

,
Date:January 25, 2010
By Captain
from Michigan
"I don't know what to say. I think I got a bunk drive. Windows (Vista and 7) wanted to install drivers, which don't exist. If it actually worked, I'd have more to say."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failed within a week

,
Date:January 8, 2010
By Kami
from Vista, CA
"The drive stopped working within a week."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Drive

,
Date:January 6, 2010
By netlcm
from Oakland, CA
"I have this drive for my Mac. Not only is it simple to install, but I have had no problems with it's function or compatibility. For the price, it's one of the most convenient and useful tools I own. I can fit all of my iTunes music and movies on it and then take it with me wherever I go!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 640GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive (Rocket Red)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Drive went to sleep

,
Date:January 2, 2010
By blau
"The drive seems to go off to sleep a lot. When first plugged in, the led indicated the drive is online, but when I started copying files, the led blinked and then went off. This caused the copy process to hang and the drive never recovered. I would unplug, and plug in again, and the same thing would happen."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.