Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Toshiba’s Desktop External Hard Drive offers you both extra storage space, and a comprehensive yet easy-to-use data backup and sync solution. The Toshiba 1.0 TB Drive can handle even the largest digital libraries - it can store up to 200,000 photos, or 250,000 music files, or 380 hours of video. With just a few clicks you can create a digital safety net to help protect files on your computer or other storage devices.
Average Customer Rating:
2.095 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
41
18 of 74(24%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Review 21 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SOLUTION FOR UNWANTED SHUT-OFF

,
Date:February 20, 2010
By bobby television
from FALLS CHURCH, VA
"I noticed many complaints about the drive shutting off after 5 minutes. I had the same problem and here's what I did to overcome it:
-Right click the task bar at the bottom of the screen.
-select Properties.
-find the Notification Area and select "Customize".
-find the Backup Software icon, highlight it, and select "Always Show"
-do the same for the Toshiba Drive Monitor icon.
-select OK, then Apply.
So far this has kept the drives from shutting down or disappearing from My Computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

aSATA problem fixed

,
Date:November 12, 2009
By nickname
"The fix (in my case) was to cut a tiny bit of the rubber back from the connector so that it fits slightly deeper into the socket. The concave curve of the case prevents the cable from properly seating into the socket.
I trimmed about 1 mm back from each end and problem solved.!
Disc works well now on eSATA port.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 23 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Be careful with this one

,
Date:September 21, 2009
By MusiqDude
"I don't get why, but it keeps shutting itself off.
It has done this to me in the middle of projects and uploads about a dozen times in the past 12 hours.
I'm debating whether or not I want to use it as a frisbee."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Technical Issues

,
Date:September 21, 2009
By Windwing
from Groton, CT
"Beware - Reformatting from FAT32 to NTFS will erase the Back-up utility software and prevent you from using an ESATA cable"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
3 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inadequate Documentation

,
Date:December 24, 2010
By Peter
from Westchester, NY
"I bought this drive to add storage to a Tivo HD. I think the constant writing by the Tivo will likely avoid the power-off problem that so many people here have complained about. (I'll post again if it doesn't.) My complaint is that there is NO mention in the manual or on the box of what the expected power supply voltage and current are, and the power brick which came with it doesn't say "Toshiba"; it's made by some third party. Really bad."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 26 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Works Fine

,
Date:July 10, 2010
By Bob
from Worcester, MA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This external hard drive workss fine but it never goes to sleep unless I turn off the computer! I recently reformatted it and lost all the drivers, they aren't even available on toshiba's website."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 27 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Problem Drive

,
Date:June 2, 2010
By honest1
"This is the first external hard drive I have ever bought. I am very disappointed. not only does it sleep a lot but now its making noises like it wants to crash! i am ticked off because now I'm trying to pull the music and pictures off it that I just loaded. I have only had it for 2 months. Its not even 1/16 full!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

ok

,
Date:May 24, 2010
By bOb
"i would stay awya for the most part. i bought because it accpeted esata and very few did at this rprce range. had to reformat because it was in fat32 which only allows 4gb file sizs. worked fine for a bit. didnt have a problem with tthe autosleep. than one day out of the blue it stopped beign recognized and froze my computer. tried everythign now i have to send it back for repair"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Sleep Mode Fix

,
Date:May 17, 2010
By jolofboy
from Vallejo, CA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Hi all,
i found it annoying to have the drive go on sleep mode even when working with files stored in it. I am dj and transfered all my music to the drive to notice that my music software can't find the files because the drive went to sleep on me and messing up my mix or gig.
What is the perfect fix without erasing all the music files already in the drive?
I would appreciate it if Toshiba openly addresses this inconvenience to all of us who trusted their product.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Toshiba powers down

,
Date:May 13, 2010
By Jim
"I purchased this at Fry's. The package was returned and I got 5 dollars off. Perhaps because teh thing turns itself off after inactivity. I purchased it for external nightly backups which always fail as my 1 month old Gateway computer can't find the drive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 31 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

NOT work on XP

,
Date:April 24, 2010
By Biffr
from NY
"Works fine on Windows 7, tried it on XP, virtual CD can't be read, drive sometimes not recognized."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 32 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

How to solve the problem with shutting down

,
Date:March 3, 2010
By Bob
from Irvine, Ca
"Hey guys I've had the same problem and thought about junking the drive. I've tried everything that is mentioned on this thread to no avail, but I think I may have stumbled into a moderate solution... Atleast for me. I download and started working with MediaMonkey for my massive library and ever since my drive doesn't shut down. It may have something to due with monitor my music folder constantly or something (not a techie), but it works for me. Kind of weird, but hope it helps. Just run MediaMonkey in the background and see if it works for you. I haven't tried the same thing with Itunes or WM, but it may work."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 33 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

TOSHIBA 1 TB EXTERNAL HARD DRIVE

,
Date:February 23, 2010
By bobby television
from FALLS CHURCH, VA
"I've had the drive for a little over a week now. After a shaky start, it's performing very well as the backup drive for my Operating System.
The first thing I did was convert the drive from FAT32 to NTFS; that action seemed to confuse the Backup software, but since the backup doesn't use disk imaging, I wasn't planning on using that software anyway.
I also experienced the "disappearing" problem mentioned in so many of the reviews. My fix was this:
- Right Click the Taskbar on the bottom of the screen.
- Select "Properties".
- Select "Customize" in the TaskBar menu.
- If the two Toshiba icons display "Hide When Inactive", change them to "Always Show".
- Select "Apply" on the way out of this menu.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

destroyed my pictures

,
Date:June 11, 2011
By ldahlan
from pasadena, CA
"I used this product for the first time after 3-4 weeks of the date i bought it.. i backed up all my pictures and just before i decided to delete the original files i decided to check them on this HD. 80% of the pictures had problems.. discolored, split, blacked out... and i tried using several ways of backing my photos up and i kept getting the same results... i hope Toshiba can do something about this"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 35 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

crashed / lost all photos to date of two kids

,
Date:May 24, 2011
By no toshiba anymore
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"title says it all. the drive malfunctioned and computer will not read the drive (I/O error and 'format required' - similar to other reviews). face losing all pics of 2 yr old daughter and 6 month old son....from birth to date for both of them. not happy is an understatement."
Review 36 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recomended

,
Date:May 22, 2011
By MJ
"I have used many external hard drives, both for personal use and for work, and I can honestly say that I have never had some many issues right out the box. The interface between this hard drive and any computer i have used it with would be generously described as buggy. I would reiterate many of the issues described in other reviews on this site (sleep, etc). This is the first toshiba computer product I have ever purchased and it is likely to be the last."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 37 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

eSATA problems and FAT32 vs NTFS

,
Date:March 6, 2011
By Billinsjcal
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The eSATA functionality is overly problematic. The disk comes formatted as FAT32. That file system apparently cannot handle large AVI files. Toshiba has zilch info about reformatting the drive for the NTFS file system. Poor documentation, poor support, poor functionality. Do not buy this drive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 38 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Robish

,
Date:February 14, 2011
By paxton
"this product is absolute Robish, it sleeps every 5 mins and cancel file trance-fer now ot is not turning on at all. First it turns on and the LED lights up and then the hard drive and the Led goes dead wast of money i lost 600GB of DATA. Do not buy this product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 39 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

does not work

,
Date:January 23, 2011
By Alaska
from Anchorage, AK
"made backup now 6 month later pc will not access it keeps telling me to format it which I have tried twice it appears to format but does not fix the problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 40 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable

,
Date:January 21, 2011
By Elman
from Houston, TX
"The drive seems to work sometimes with the USB but the eSata does not work. The computer refuses to recognise the drive.
The backup software is horrible. It will backup part of your system and then just stop. Yon cannot re-start or finish the backup.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month