Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive

Toshiba’s Desktop External Hard Drive offers you both extra storage space, and a comprehensive yet easy-to-use data backup and sync solution. The Toshiba 1.0 TB Drive can handle even the largest digital libraries - it can store up to 200,000 photos, or 250,000 music files, or 380 hours of video. With just a few clicks you can create a digital safety net to help protect files on your computer or other storage devices.
Average Customer Rating:
2.095 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
(74 Reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
8
3 stars
8
2 stars
9
1 star
41
18 of 74(24%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Review 1 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

destroyed my pictures

,
Date:June 11, 2011
By ldahlan
from pasadena, CA
"I used this product for the first time after 3-4 weeks of the date i bought it.. i backed up all my pictures and just before i decided to delete the original files i decided to check them on this HD. 80% of the pictures had problems.. discolored, split, blacked out... and i tried using several ways of backing my photos up and i kept getting the same results... i hope Toshiba can do something about this"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

crashed / lost all photos to date of two kids

,
Date:May 24, 2011
By no toshiba anymore
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"title says it all. the drive malfunctioned and computer will not read the drive (I/O error and 'format required' - similar to other reviews). face losing all pics of 2 yr old daughter and 6 month old son....from birth to date for both of them. not happy is an understatement."
Review 3 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not Recomended

,
Date:May 22, 2011
By MJ
"I have used many external hard drives, both for personal use and for work, and I can honestly say that I have never had some many issues right out the box. The interface between this hard drive and any computer i have used it with would be generously described as buggy. I would reiterate many of the issues described in other reviews on this site (sleep, etc). This is the first toshiba computer product I have ever purchased and it is likely to be the last."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best in place

,
Date:March 17, 2011
By curtisone1s
from arkansas
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"just use the producet line of your perference/ it,s all wasy understude work,s every well for evryone"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

eSATA problems and FAT32 vs NTFS

,
Date:March 6, 2011
By Billinsjcal
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The eSATA functionality is overly problematic. The disk comes formatted as FAT32. That file system apparently cannot handle large AVI files. Toshiba has zilch info about reformatting the drive for the NTFS file system. Poor documentation, poor support, poor functionality. Do not buy this drive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 6 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Backed up 600GB Fine

,
Date:February 18, 2011
By Rich
from Daytona Beach, FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My experience is different than the others here, but my use of the product is different too. I had a VMWARE server lose a hard drive as part of a RAID5 array. While I was waiting for my new drive to arrive via overnight shipping, I used this external drive to back up all of my virtual machines. I simply reformatted the drive with the EXT3 file system, mounted the drive and copied over 600GB to the drive. It took about 12 hours, but worked fine. Since then I read all the posts about it falling to sleep. So I tested this on my RedHat fedora laptop and it never fell to sleep on me. If it did go into a power save mode, it snapped right out of it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Robish

,
Date:February 14, 2011
By paxton
"this product is absolute Robish, it sleeps every 5 mins and cancel file trance-fer now ot is not turning on at all. First it turns on and the LED lights up and then the hard drive and the Led goes dead wast of money i lost 600GB of DATA. Do not buy this product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

does not work

,
Date:January 23, 2011
By Alaska
from Anchorage, AK
"made backup now 6 month later pc will not access it keeps telling me to format it which I have tried twice it appears to format but does not fix the problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable

,
Date:January 21, 2011
By Elman
from Houston, TX
"The drive seems to work sometimes with the USB but the eSata does not work. The computer refuses to recognise the drive.
The backup software is horrible. It will backup part of your system and then just stop. Yon cannot re-start or finish the backup.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Stylish, silent and reliable backup drive

,
Date:January 19, 2011
By Photopro
from Mexico City
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've been using this drive for 1 year, and as professional photographer, I need a reliable drive to store my photos. Toshiba's HDD is pretty cool and stylish and looks great on my desktop, it works with a low noise so it's pretty comfortable when working under pressure and, using it almost daily and more than 10 hours a day (and sometimes 24x7!), makes it a pretty reliable hard drive. With an excellent price and ease of use, it is certainly a great option. I will buy another drive for sure."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 11 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

e-sata unreliable

,
Date:January 14, 2011
By fahayek
from Paoli, PA
"I bought the PH3100U-1EXB Gen 2 which had the Toshiba software removed and the sleep issue supposedly resolved. I bought this drive because of the e-sata connection. On my Dell Dimension 8400 running Windows XP it functioned well with the e-sata connection.
I recently got a new Dell Studio 8100 with Windows 7 (64-bit) and an e-sata port. I connected the External Hard Drive using the e-sata connection. It seemed to work well at first, until I tried copying a large number of files at once from the External HDD to my desktop hard drive. It started copying fine but after about 200 files it just stopped copying and seemed to go to sleep.
After spending a lot of time looking for a solution, I decided to connect using the USB connection instead. In this mode it works fine and never stalls or goes to sleep.
So, although the External HDD works fine when connected by USB, it is unreliable when using e-sata. I can't be bothered returning it or getting a new one since I have all of my data backed up already. I will continue using it in USB mode, but am somewhat disappointed that I couldn't take advantage of the e-sata connection. Oh, well."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Inadequate Documentation

,
Date:December 24, 2010
By Peter
from Westchester, NY
"I bought this drive to add storage to a Tivo HD. I think the constant writing by the Tivo will likely avoid the power-off problem that so many people here have complained about. (I'll post again if it doesn't.) My complaint is that there is NO mention in the manual or on the box of what the expected power supply voltage and current are, and the power brick which came with it doesn't say "Toshiba"; it's made by some third party. Really bad."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 13 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible External Drive

,
Date:December 14, 2010
By Carter
"Hard drive crashed after 2 months of use. Less than enjoyable experience with Toshiba in general. Would not purchase again unless I had to."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not for MAC Time Machine

,
Date:December 10, 2010
By Bob Bear
from Annapolis, MD
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Without warning the file structure will corrupt and the MAC can't fix it. Not only do you have to reformat the entire hard drive (and lose all your data) but it must be over-written with zeros before the MAC will use it again. What's the use of a backup if you never know if it's going to work from one day to the next. Look at all the reviews about corrupt data. I'm not alone. DON'T PUT ANYTHING ON THIS HARD DRIVE YOU'RE NOT WILLING TO LOSE."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great eSATA Drive

,
Date:December 9, 2010
By IceMan18
from Alaska
"So far I have used this drive for 4 months and had no problems with it so far. I am able to use the eSATA option which has saved me a ton of time. This was the reason why I got this drive. I am able to transfer files over like a flash. I was able to transfer over a music folder that holds 6.2GB within 2 minutes or less. I am very satisfied that I got this drive. Doesn't come with the eSATA Cable but instead a USB 2.0. Even on USB 2.0 it still works well and transfers smoothly even though it is 80x slower on USB compare to eSATA.
This drive is well worth it if you are going to use the drive for eSATA capabilities. NTFS issue can be resolved if you know how to reinstall the software to the drive which I was able to do from the Toshiba tech support."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

No Drive Active Light

,
Date:November 17, 2010
By JemDandy
"My system: Desk Top
Motherboard: Jetway
OS: Windows XP, service pack 3
I have just installed the Tobshiba 1 TB external drive. It came formatted as a FAT32 extended Table. I copied the resident files (on the Toshiba) to a temporary folder, reformatted to NTFS, and then copied the files back to the external drive. I really takes a long time to format 1 teraByte - several hours. That's when I noticed that the drive did not have a "drive active" light. It has the blue-white "Drive On" light, but no active light. There is no way of telling if its supposed to have this light and its not working or if the light is not there. This uspset me a bit because I had not realized how much I depended on the "active" light. When doing a copy of a lagre file set, this light is the only indcator that tells me if the drive has stalled, is still busy, or the job is done. That light also lets me know when something has accessed the drive, for example, an automatic scan, or an unknown.
I came to this web site hoping to find specifications about the drive. If its supposed to have an "active" lamp, I'll return it for a replacement. However, it seems that I'll not find this information at this site.
Otherwise, I really like the drive. File copies are fast for a USB 2 port. It has an on-off switch which is a great feature. That is the reason I chose this drive over others. I plan to use it as a backup device and want it to be off most of the time. It replaces my older backup drive that died after being on for several years. I do wish it had an active light."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 17 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba External Hard drive Corrupting Photo!!!

,
Date:November 5, 2010
By Rich
from Millburn, NJ
"We have been a Toshiba users for a long time. From the TV, DVD player, Laptop etc...I have always believed in this product until I received the Toshiba External Hard drive as a gift. Brand new out of the box, transfered our "LIFETIME" worth of pictures over 10 years of history 15,000 photos. The first week was ok until later on that we noticed the photos are corrupted. I don't know if it can be reversed. The thumbnails pictures look ok but when you copy or preview, the photo's are 100% damaged. Anyone knows a fix to this problem please email or post solutions. It's a shame to lose an irreplaceable memories!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible

,
Date:September 19, 2010
By james
from baltimore
"Does not work with a Mac at all. No support plus it rewrote all of my files I managed to transfer to it so now they are corrupt and useless.
I figured I'd be getting a work PC soon so I kept it around, and believe it or not, it doesn't even show up on a Toshiba PC?!?
Dont waste your money. You will be disppointed."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba Won't stay on

,
Date:September 13, 2010
By Disapointed
from New York, NY
"I had a fine experience with this Toshiba the very first time I used it. It worked fine and backed up my entire iMac. Ever since then, when I turn it on, it stays of for about 5 seconds, then the light starts flashing and it shuts itself off. I do not recommend this product at all."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba 1.0TB Desktop External Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:September 8, 2010
By terrible drive
from california
"same thing here. shuts off !!! iv'e lost important projects on this drive that are gone! and this should never happen on a new drive .
very disappointed and the wort thing i bought 2
garbage .
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.