Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L505-S6946

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

L505-S6946

Average Customer Rating:
4.44 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(348 Reviews) 348
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (348 reviews)
5 stars
190
4 stars
135
3 stars
14
2 stars
4
1 star
5
326 of 348(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for L505-S6946
Review 1 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A solid budget laptop with a little extra power

,
Date:August 10, 2009
By Fox
from Michigan
"When it comes to budget laptops, we would expect to see something with budget parts. The Toshiba Satellite L505-S6946 is a decent-looking laptop with a surprisingly awesome feature: an Intel Core 2 Duo CPU inside. It's not the fastest laptop, it's not for gaming or video editing, but it is nice overall and I recommend it for someone who just wants a budget laptop without going too cheap on parts. Don't be confused, this is more than a mere "Netbook" (cheap laptop designed to just allow e-mail and internet access at the expense of powerful components).
The built in 3GB of memory is a bit awkward. Anyone who knows anything about computer memory will tell you not to install RAM in uneven modules, such as 1GB and 2GB, or 2GB and 4GB. You wouldn't want to go over 4GB with this machine, because it wouldn't do any good, but why did they decide to go the 3GB route? That means it comes standard with a 1GB and 2GB module, uneven modules that can hurt performance, according to tests. I recommend that the first thing you do is buy a single 2GB module of RAM and replace the 1GB. Make sure to get PC-6400 laptop RAM.
Once I did that, I felt that the system was running remarkably well for a budget laptop. Paying less than $500 with tax included for an Intel Core 2 Duo laptop is nice. The 320GB HDD is more than sufficient, as long as you are not an avid movie downloader. The graphics card is nothing to speak of, built-in Intel chipset that shares memory with the main system memory. Don't try to play any serious games on this machine. Any 2D games or significantly older 3D games will run OK, but nothing that takes significant 3D power will run decently.
The biggest drawback is, perhaps, the trackpad. It feels awkward, and often times seems to behave a bit erratically. I don't mind, because I set it up with a mouse pretty much all of the time. I inherently hate trackpads.
The speakers are sufficient, but they are not terribly loud nor high quality. The keyboard feels pretty solid and you get a slight "click" on each key as you hit it, which makes for good tactile and aural feedback while typing. Comes with a full-sized keyboard, including the number pad.
One thing I found odd is that it has an eSATA connection on the side, yet no Firewire and only two USB ports. eSATA seems like something for higher-end laptops, not for something on the budget rack. Yet there it is, eSATA, so if you're in the market for a budget laptop that can access external drives at high speeds, this is the one for you. Also includes modem and LAN ethernet ports, and an SD card reader.
The volume control is cheap, to be honest. It endlessly scrolls right or left, never hits a minimum or maximum point. So, if you want to reduce the sound to nothing, you have to scroll and scroll and scroll it until you don't hear the sound. You could keep scrolling it forever if you wanted.
To no one's surprise, the screen is glossy, so watch your background lighting. Other than that, it's a screen, and nothing particularly stands out or looks bad about it.
The web camera is, to put it bluntly, bad. It's an obviously low quality piece of junk that just got tacked on. It'll work, but the picture quality is terrible for today's expectations.
Overall, this is a solid laptop that exceeds your expectations of the power a budget laptop should offer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

,
Date:September 27, 2009
By norm
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got the toshiba L505-6946 - very happy with the machine, and having shopped around a lot, nothing near the price with same specs (Aug 09). I bought it partly based on my previous toshiba and this one has been good so far. toshiba generally adds some good software and functionality from the company. no issues at all, so can't comment on customer support. on the down side, laptop is about 6 pds - bit heavy but that's what you expect for this price and 16 inch, so depends on what you attach the most importance to. Screen has a really beautiful picture and clarity, which was my main concern. no speed issues even with vista, once i cleared all the muck out of the start-up.
main complaints (which is why i am writing this review, actually):
- speaker output really poor, especially if playing music/videos.
- microphone quality basically unusable.
so, if i want to use skype or decently watch videos/music, i need to carry good external headset, something i did not want to do. the sound output and mic on my work HP is much much better. this has a camera, but i don't really need it as much as sound. in fairness, maybe not enough to drop a star for, considering the price, but does irritate me enough to only give 4 star, since this was a key part of my buying decision over a compaq that i saw on special...
by-the-way, the amount of sales related software (eg buy this now from our site...) really irritates me, toshiba..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Solid+Value = Good Laptop!

,
Date:September 26, 2009
By Brummbar
from Bremerton, WA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My ratings reflect the value/price ratio of this laptop. This computer does what it's designed to do well. It is not designed to be a gaming hot-rod. It is designed to be a quality media/web/application laptop and does a very good job in that regard.
I am very pleased with the way it was configured as delivered. It did not require an undo amount of effort to remove, update, or install items in order to configure this laptop. (in other word it doesn't come with lots of pre-installed junk software/services... there was some, but nothing to ugly and easy uninstalls... :) )
The keyboard and touchpad seem to be doing great. Pretty good keyboard and good touchpad feel. I appreciate the layout and the full number pad on the right.
The built in speakers are not particularly good but that's not unusal for a computer of this type. Plug in some speakers or headphone and it's all good.
I would have also appreciated an additional video out connector (HDMI or S-Video) but that's also more of a quibble than a real deal breaker. (Toshiba had all the specs listed and it includes everything they list and nothing it doesn't.. :) )
The overall quality of build and styling is a definite upgrade from previous Satellite series and puts this on par with other manufacturers.
Nice Job Toshiba!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great first PC, poor battery

,
Date:September 27, 2009
By pedestrian
from Elk Grove, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As my first non-Mac computer, this winsome laptop is delightful to use. The ease of wireless access connectivity makes printing and surfing a breeze.
Teaching high school math has become a computer-intensive effort. Phone calls, correcting papers, and copying leaves me little time for more intense computer work. So I use the laptop to finish my planning and corresponding at home. To enter student grades, the numeric keypad was an essential feature for me. I was surprised to learn that most laptops in this price range do not include the numeric keypad as a standard feature.
The two weaknesses I found are limited battery life and limited USB ports. Two USB ports is usually enough, but occasionally I wish for a third. (And I bet, if I had three, I'd occasionally wish for four.) And the battery life is the pits. Fortunately, I'm rarely away from an outlet to get power directly to the laptop. But Under three hours is ridiculous.
Over all, I am very pleased with this machine. If I had to do it again, I would certainly make the same decision. Toshiba is my friend."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value for the Dollar!

,
Date:September 24, 2009
By Nawlins Jeaux
from New Orleans, LA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since my first laptop, the Toshiba brand has proven to be a well manufactured, value-driven product with a great track record! The Toshiba Satellite L505-S6946 is no exception.
I have shopped, compared and bent the ear of many a frend, or colleague, in search of a better recommendation for a Windows based platform. I've yet to find, or have recommended, another product line with a better features-to-price ratio. Whenever a friend has looked for a new personal/home computer, I have ALWAYS recommended checking out the Toshiba badge. Time and time, again, they usually end up going with Toshiba.
Which brings me back to my Satellite L505-S6946: Lots of RAM, an Intel Core 2 Duo processor, wide screen format, sleek asthetics, and (I gotta say) a WiFi antenna range that's astronomical! All for the "pennies" I shelled out!
Dollar for dollar, for an "as built" PC, I have yet to see a mainstream brand name that can touch the quality, features, or economy that Toshiba offers in ALL of their laptop models!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba Satellite L505 Review

,
Date:September 26, 2009
By Katie
from Amarillo, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Overall, the Satellite L505-S6946 ...rated Good! the cursor flies all over the lap top screen...it makes it difficult to type, etc., and, get to all the different -- technicall additions on this model.
But, the customer service associates are extremely helpful. So, that helps! a great deal.
Exceptional! SL505 system: has the Intel Centrion system; this was the deciding factor, for my purchase
I was told by a Best Buy sells associate; that this is what will keep this lap top cooler than the other lap tops; in the same competive area.
Keeping the lap top cool is of the utmost importance...one must be able to conduct ; their personal business; which can take hours; as well as students in college, and with the online universities becoming a wide spread option. Extremely, important...to not worry; that your laptop will be shuting off at any given point because of coming over heated! intel Centrino is the answer!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Computer & Price!

,
Date:October 15, 2009
By Smokey
from Waynesville, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I work from home & went online to compare laptops before buying as I was looking for a computer w\ a 10key number pad...I then went to town to Best Buy to check out the ones I had chosen...the Toshiba was the best bang for my buck...I have been very pleased with it so far. I have had it for about 5 months & it's really working well. The performance & speed is wonderful. I do wish it had come with Office instead of Works pre-installed. Complaints are minor...I keep hitting the DVD drive so it's popping open when I don't want it to. The battery life is not very long to me but being this is my first laptop this may be normal. The volume wheel is kind of hard to set.
But these are minor things & not a major issue for me. When I need another laptop I expect I will be looking at Toshiba first as I go by the adage if it isn't broke don't fix it! Thanks for a great product.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for the money

,
Date:November 5, 2009
By medideyum
from Rural, MN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first laptop i have ever purchased. I have rented and used others but never purchased one. I picked this one for a few reasons number one was the 9-key keypad. i am an accounting student so that was a must have. Also I liked the mouse pad on this one it smooth and doesn't smudge or get greasy or sticky. I enjoy the overall performance also it is quick to perform the things I need it to do. I typically am running several programs at once including a music program. The only thing I would change is the number of USB ports. This one only has 2 and between my jump stick, printer, mouse, and camera it's a lot of switching around. The battery life is fairly short on the eco setting I can't get longer then 100 minutes of life but that doesn't bother me because I normally am close to an outlet."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

still trying it out

,
Date:September 25, 2009
By Elli
from tucson, az
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had the computer less than 1 month so am uncertain about a few things. Speed and response seem to be very good. Sometimes I get in a bit of a hurry and try to change what I am doing and get locked up. I am trying to slow myself down. Have one problem I do not understand. I bought a Targus USB hub because the computer only has two usb ports, something I regret I overlooked when I bought it. I use a wireless mouse, a printer and with this computer a USB 175 device to access the internet. For some reason, the hub, with only the mouse and usb 175 device plugged in will lose its power. I have to shut down and start over to get power back. Is this a problem with the computer or the hub? I am about to try to return the hub to Best Buy."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good replacement laptop

,
Date:October 2, 2009
By Charlie
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had my last laptop for almost 6 years. It was a Gateway and I loved it. Then an idiot repairman ruined while doing a simple repair and I was forced to buy a new laptop, which I could ill afford. I ended up with this computer, because the HP I wanted was discontinued and I will never buy another Gateway now that the company has been sold.
I'm extremely pleased with this Toshiba so far. It's fast and easy to navigate. The only problem I've had has been it's refusal to allow me to start Windows Media Player when I want to watch a dvd. Some minor tweaks that I haven't gotten around to yet should fix that problem. I'd rather use software with which I am familiar, rather than being forced to use Toshiba's version."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Toshiba Satellite Is the Star!

,
Date:September 29, 2009
By Posivity Coach
from Santa Cruz, CA and Buenos Aires, Argentina
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"A meltown of my old laptop while traveling caused me to rush to buy a new one--and the Satellite L505 was just so pretty that I tried it out...and couldn't believe the features for the price. I bought it, albeit hastily, and have never been so happy with a new laptop! Set up was a cinch...and the wide screen and well-designed keyboard make possible for me to enjoy my work--and then some play. With an upgrade to a lithium battery, this will continue to be the shining star in our four-computer household! (I was so delighted that I have since purchased a Toshiba netbook--a starlet, you might say!)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Good Laptop

,
Date:September 30, 2009
By Raindancer923
from Zhongshan, China
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Toshiba has earned a reputation for excellence. This model has many good feastures that are perfect for work and school. A couple of drawbacks that I've noticed are the limited number of USB ports. This model has two, but it would be better with 3 or 4. The battery life is around 2.5 hours. It would be better with a stronger battery. Also the sound quality through the built-in speakers is poor. Future models need to have better speaker quality. Over all this computer is very good and I would recommend it to everyone."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop Ever

,
Date:September 26, 2009
By RILEYBOY PRODUCTIONS
from ROMULUS, MICHIGAN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a verry good laptop , I think Toshiba products is some of the best. I use my laptop for music production and also running my company, I also use Pro tool and it is hard finding a laptop that can run with major industry software, and My Satellite L505-S6946 is able to handle all of my traks and the dual processor is perfect for plug ins and effx. I highly recomend this laptop for any thing such as music production , school or etc, I liked it so much, I bought two ,one for me and my wife."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 14 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great laptop for the money

,
Date:September 24, 2009
By Jeff
from Neenah, WI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Machine is extremely fast and easy to use. I've had no problems adding my old software and files. The screen is bright and crisp and the keyboard has a good touch to it. I also love the number pad built into to laptop as I'm an account which eliminates using a USB number pad. The only thing that could be improved are the speakers, however I use my Bose external ones. There is only two USB ports of which one is used for the wireless mouse. I must plug everything into a USB port which works well."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Deal

,
Date:September 26, 2009
By Sambolicious
from Canton, OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"One of the best deals out there. Great for average consumers. Overall its fast and reliable.
Does not have the best screen in the world and the keyboard is unlike all others I have ever used.
Does not have all the added luxeries but normal consumers will never use them. Touch pad gets in the way when typing sometimes but sensitivity can be adjusted.
A great computer for someone who just needs one for school work and occasional entertainment. A computer for the responsible consumer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great buy for the money

,
Date:September 24, 2009
By sbshelly
from Durham, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If there was a 4.5 star rating I would have given it that, as my complaint may be just with the Vista program, not so much the laptop.
I like the vibrant color and large screen. I haven't used all of the features yet, but so far, so good.
The speakers lack the quality I thought I would get, but I guess that's what ipods and stereos are for.
Also, the touchpad is VERY sensitive, so if my thumbs or palms get lazy.. the cursor is all over the screen.
Would purchase this again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Annoying keyboard

,
Date:September 24, 2009
By macuseroz
from minneapolis, mn
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am not a PC fan, at all. However, the price of this Toshiba was less than $1k cheaper than the comparable Mac. And, from what comp-savvy friends of mine have told me, Toshiba is quite reliabe. I haven't had this computer long enough to tell. However, the mouspad is highly annoying. It is too sensitive and I am always moving the cursor to different areas unknowingly. I am always having to correct typos made because of this. Toshiba should really fix this."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Deal

,
Date:September 30, 2009
By Emily
from Wilmington, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fantastic computer for the money.
Only things I would change would be:
1) the volume; even at the highest setting it isn't loud enough and the "wheel" to adjust it is annoying
2) sooooo heavy (but what can I expect for a 16" screen?)
and
3) I feel like I'm constantly accidentally opening the CD drive; I wish it was more secured and less flimsy. I'm going to have to tape it closed or I have a feeling I'm going to break it off one day unintentionally.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop!!

,
Date:September 24, 2009
By Ash2012
from Hampstead, MD
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love this computer! I had an HP laptop for two years and I hated it within the first few months of buying it. It was always breaking, wouldn't charge, and I finally gave up when it told me my operating system could not be found! I bought my Toshiba laptop and have loved it ever sense. No problems what so ever, runs amazingly, and is overall the best purchase I could have made! I would def. recommend this to any of my friends or family!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for L505-S6946
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A fair one

,
Date:October 5, 2009
By Dhia
from Yemen
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"When I first knew about this product, I was only concerned about the quality of the RAM. Then I knew it is DDR2, but when I bought it, I got shocked when I found out that it is only SDR2.
Please, tell me why did that happen while you ,in your ads, say that it is DDR2. I hope you tell me the exact difference between the two types. Anyways, the laptop is good, but downloading a DVD takes years.
Anyone knows about this, please respond.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month