Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite P205D-S8804

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite P205D-S8804

The Satellite P205D 17 diagonal WXGA+ TruBrite widescreen notebook demonstrates a level of reliability and robustness to keep up with the fast changing conditions of your life. The Satellite P205D features the AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor for optimal performance. This Onyx Blue notebook is easy to use with the quick launch buttons for CD, DVD and Internet control. Use the DVD SuperMulti drive with Labelflash printing technology for your entertainment or for creating your own with friends and family. Large storage capacity hard drives and memory for faster transfer rates can handle your large files of data, favorite programs, digital images and MP3 music files. Built-in Wi-Fi 802.11b/g wireless for the latest network connections keep you out and moving. Six USB ports, and an i.LINK port drives a wide range of mobile PC peripheral capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.737 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 19(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite P205D-S8804
Review 1 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Well worth the money

,
Date:March 1, 2008
By sgt473
from Pennsylvania
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was able to unpack and be on the wireless network with in minutes. This machine was purchased as a backup for a Desk top. I wasn't sure about Vista but find some of the features very use full. I'm considering purchasing another batter in the future as I find myself using the S8804 more as time goes on."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful!

,
Date:February 29, 2008
By MrsT
from Mineral Bluff, Ga
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new Toshiba Satellite P205D-S8804! I have two desktops that I used for work and play that now are only used by my children. I use my Toshiba for everything I do and with it's great performance, it makes everything easier."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Buy

,
Date:February 27, 2008
By KiaE
from Boston, MA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1st laptop buy in 7 years. Using this as my primary computer, I needed a keyboard layout that allowed for my fast wpm speed and would support heavy use. The Satellite is great. The number keypad is a must have for anyone using the laptop for heavy financial keying. The flat surface of the keys and the full size shift and enter keys allow for ease of typing. The spacing of the Function keys are also situated in such a manner so that there is no room for mistakes. My only complaint with the laptop is the same for almost all wide-screen laptops--the mouse/sensor pad is positioned too far to the left if you're using the number pad. It constantly seems that you're reaching off-center. Other than that, the only other complaint is Windows Vista--which I had to remove since my work applications are incompatible with. This is a great buy!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Too many interferance

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By sakura1
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I could not read the electronic nobel without turning off the user control feature. When I load the PDF Converter, I could not open the internet more than three. Connecting with the network is too many problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By Gonzo
from South Texas
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is an excellent product for the price paid. I expected less performance due to its low price, but this is not the case. It runs smooth and fast. I have it on a wireless network and the speed of the internet matches the wired broadband connection. The 17" screen is awesome! A Great Buy."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love the display quality

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By DonL
from Paynesville, MN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Very nice laptop - great display -10 keypad nice feature.
Not a gamer but speed very good for all my business applicatons.
Only downside is it only comes loaded with Vista. No option for XP.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By spuds6047
from New Hampshire
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this laptop a month ago to replace my Gateway. I purchased this model for the full size keyboard feature as I do work at home and it includes numeric entry. I had a numeric pad for my Gateway but when you plugged in the USB keypad it disabled some of the keys in the alpha keyboard and made working very difficult. I was forced to use the numbers at the top of the keyboard. Anyone that does numeric entry knows that is a drag. The features on this laptop are top of the line. The only item I do not like is Vista. I really did not want to purchase a laptop with Vista but that was not an option. It will do until the next upgrade! My daughter loves the webcam. She has a brand new HP laptop but it does not have a webcam and I am always kicking her off my laptop. Anyone who needs a great laptop with a full size keyboard should get this one!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the Price

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By ClassicMama
from Midland, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a good laptop for the price. The speakers could be better. I have a hard time hearing them, even on full volume. The webcam could be better as well. It handles quite well. I usually have quite a few things open and running at the same time and it handles the multitasking well. I have loaded Office 07, Adobe CS3, Quicken, itunes and a ton of pictures and documents and it still hums along. It handles photoshop with little or no delay. I am also developing a small database and have had no problems with it handling the workload. I LOVE the full keyboard, but the silver coating does scratch easily and needs to be cleaned everyday to avoid it looking worn. Could use a bit more memory and a faster processor, but I could have gotten that if I paid more. Overall, as I mentioned earlier, this is a good laptop for the price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By slivergirl50
from New Orleans, LA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased my first laptop a few week ago and I love it. The screen is so clear, no glare, excellent. The battery life is average. The features are excellent and the price was right!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice notebook

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By Davick
from Chattanooga, TN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great value, all the features I need and more. Battery life seems a little short, but hey it's a "big screen" notebook. Very satisfied."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome product

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By lindak0125
from Pewaukee, WI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this laptop. I was reluctant to buy a laptop because of the keyboard, I like the numeric keypad on a desktop. This one had the numeric keypad!. Awesome product. I love the picture, and when I plug in my headphones the sound is awesome. It has frozen up on my all of a sudden for no apparent reason 2 or 3 times now, and if it happens again I will take it in, but that may be Vista related, not related to the PC itself. I was just going to use this laptop for travel or when I couldn't get at my desktop, but I have now made it my main computer. I love it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

terrific buy

,
Date:February 26, 2008
By gaetano
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I especially like the size of the keyboard. I have large hands and the keyboard is quite comfortable."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:February 19, 2008
By enginerd
from Cleveland Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just recently purchased this laptop to replace my last Toshiba laptop. I have so far been very pleased with the performance and operation of this computer. Battery life is not the greatest but that is a sacrafice for the faster performance and an AMD processor."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite P205D-S8804
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great teaching tool

,
Date:February 10, 2008
By wwilkins
from Laredo, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop makes a great multimedia workstation of the teacher that likes to integrate technology into the classroom.
The builtin microphone makes it wasy to create podcasts for my students.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Ratings-Only Reviews for Satellite P205D-S8804
Based on the average of (5) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 5 out of 5
Features: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Performance: 
4.8 out of 5
4.8 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5