Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for A215-S7416

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

A215-S7416

The Satellite A215 empowers a rich multimedia experience in a sleek, compact form. The AMD Turion 64 X2 dual-core mobile technology, expanded memory and plenty of storage meets mobility demands while balancing battery life. A brilliant 15.4-inch diagonal WXGA TruBrite display and a DVD Super Multi optical drive add a whole new dimension to movies and games. Advanced 802.11 b/g wireless technology provides easy connectivity. The Bridge Media Adapter transfers pictures and other digital data.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(93 Reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (93 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
46
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
1
90 of 93(97%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for A215-S7416
Review 1 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not too bad

,
Date:February 28, 2008
By BMac2121
from Staunton, VA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Had a few issues with my computer locking up and giving me blank screen from time to time. I called technical support and they resolved the problem in about 5 mins, Excellent customer service."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

good for the money

,
Date:February 27, 2008
By compton
from clyde,ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is a really great laptop for the money. i have been waiting to get a new laptop with enough memory and hdd space so i could store papers and other things on it. this laptop has proven itself. thanks toshiba"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:February 22, 2008
By dynamite
from Salt Lake City, UT
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great laptop for everyday operations. Battery life is increased when WIFI switch is turned off, many times I just need to write a paper, so my battery runs for a over 3 hours."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VERY GOOD

,
Date:February 20, 2008
By diane824
from pensylvania
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I LOVE THE PC. IT IS EASY AND TRANSPORTABLE. I LOVE THE PROGRAMS THAT CAME WITH IT. I CAN DO ANY THING ON IT THAT I WOULD DO WITH A DESK TOP. BETTER THEN A DESK TOP. WILL NOT GO BACK TO DESK TOP."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value for the cost

,
Date:February 4, 2008
By NJT7656
from Denver, CO
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Toshiba was purchased after I used a Dell laptop for well over 10 years. The cost of the Dell was approximately $400 to $500 higher for the same features I got on the Toshiba. I was nervous at first but now after a couple of months of using it I am very convinced that I did make an excellent choice. Great product at a really reasonable price!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great deal for the price

,
Date:January 30, 2008
By Nirnex
from Georgia
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great machine. I use it for both programming and gaming and thus far have had no complaints. The only thing it's missing that would be very useful is the bluetooth capability."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:January 28, 2008
By Anonymous
from columbia, sc
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"at first i struggled with a power failure problem, but then with helpful customer service the problem was fixed and the laptop works great. unbeatable for the price. fellow students of mine have laptops that cost twice as much and work half as good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

descent quality for the buck

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By joycali
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"overall a great laptop for the price! nice slim look with silver touch around keyboard. screen doesn't provide the best picture quality, but pretty descent. with Vista as operating system, it lags at times when processing certain functions in different programs. i had a few technical problems such as wireless and computer keep shutting down, but a call to live tech support solved the problem quick and easy. i like this laptop!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Buy

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By mimi2007
from Virginia
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was amazed at the price that I was getting for this computer. Me and a friend purchased one at the same time. The only problems I have with it is when I am watching "youtube" clips, I don't think my computer can keep up with the speed so it breaks up. The other problem I have is the battery life. But, overall, this was a pretty good buy."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba now a "family tradition"!

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By rayvyn
from Salina, KS
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a tech for an internet support desk, so my parents came to me, about a year ago to assist them in buying there first laptop. I suggested Toshiba based on the fact that we get fewer calls from Toshiba owners havng pc issues than any other popular brand of laptop. They chose a Satellite series 17 inch (forgot the model) and have been thrilled with it ever since they purchased it. I needed to replace my old IBM think pad (BIOS currupted and never recovered) so I decided to take my parents experience, and my own advice to heart, and purchased the Satellite A215. Within the first hour of ownership, I was connected to my wireless network, and cruising my DSL connection with no issues what so ever. The port locations on both sides are genius, as is the 2 gigs of DDR2 ram ( compared to most laptops with similar processors that only include 1 gig). The TrueBrite display is clear and vibrant, no drops in display what so ever. The Dolby audio is awesome. I, and my family thanks you and will continue our new "family tradition". Man, your support desk most have it so easy!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

exellent for the money

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By mausi
from Greencastle, PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife and I both bought the same computer and love it, for the price it is well worth it's money, I do alot of music and it has held up real good. Believe it or not but Vista has been wonderfull, not like the reviews we had read about it, just takes some getting used to but I wouldn't want to go back now. We had a minor problem where the computer would shut off during operation so we called Toshiba and they walked us through the problem, it was only the way we had the computer set up and not the operating system at all, it was nice to have them available to answer questions for us. We are both going to purchase another battery the battery life is not that long, we get a good hour out of it using it pretty hard, maybe a little longer if only playing music and changing some settings. They run around 60 - 100 dollars depending on the size you want, but you do not need one unless you take it with you I pretty much leave mine plugged in all the time now until i get the other battery. Overall I would recommend this computer, just right for the price, LOVE IT"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Value!

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By Ninasjeep
from Des Moines, IA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is the first laptop that I have ever had. I guess I expected the battery to last longer than a couple of hours... Overall though everything has worked great."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pleased With The Laptop

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By Majohn
from Monroeville, Alabama
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I asked for and received this laptop as a Christmas present. I needed a laptop as my job requires quite a bit of travel, and the features offered on this model suited my needs at a reasonable price. My only dissatisfaction is with the battery life. On a full charge you only get about thirty minutes of work/play before you have to seek an electrical outlet. All in all a great laptop for the money."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great for what I do

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By Pope
from Hermiston Oregon
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Only thing I don't like about this is the battery life. Thankfully, Tosibha had a larger battery in stock. I like the idea of the new battery raising the lap top up to a workable angle"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than a Sony

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By JimCJr
from Michigan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had two Sony laptops that I have been dissatisfied with. Both had the same concerns, even though I purchased them two years apart. The batteries would not hold a charge after six months and the keys popped off after a year. These laptops cost twice as much as the Toshiba."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Purchase.

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By morpheus
from Andalusia , Alabama
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the AMD64 processor, the dual layer disc drive performs well.The Ram is sufficient , only using up to one third of it for the many applications I run.The screen is great , and the size of the computer is just right. The only complaint I've had , once in a while , the screen will go gray , like it's hanging up , and you have to restart with the power button. All in all , for the money , a very satisfying laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Exceeds Expectations!

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By MtnMan101
from Middle Tennessee
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Have had for 2 months. The Features are better than most I have researched in this price range. The processor is terrific and more than adequate memory for dial-up. The screen is superb. Having Vista Basic installed is an advantage in my opinion, rather than Premium. I'm going to DSL, so I think it's going to be great for music downloading and basic to medium tasks. I have had a couple of minor problems, but these are related to my ignorance and possibly Vista's incompatability with some programs. Overall, I love it. This is my second Toshiba."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very helpful tech support

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By bluedove
from Wyoming
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my new laptop. I had a minor problem with it when I first purchased it and had to call tech support. They were wonderful and had me change one setting and the problem was fixed. I wonder what I did before I had my laptop. I never use my desktop computer anymore. Thanks Toshiba."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

MY Something for Me

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By msroughy
from Lacoochee, Fl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really enjoy this product. Only 2 problems, Battery life isn,t what I expected. I have a little troble networking in my house. For some reason it changes my IP address on my desktop when I log in and off. Great sound and resolution. Really fast. I love it. Great support from Toshiba. Lots of memory love the wide screen. Love the vista. Thanks for a good product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for A215-S7416
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Get what you pay for

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By lilquack1976
from Sandusky, OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Not a bad laptop for the price. Most of the software included is trial versions. Most software that I have is not compatible with Windows Vista. I had a picture disk that I created on my old desktop, but cannot view on my new laptop due to the software it was created with not being compatible. Also my internet software is not compatible with my new laptop so I have to change internet providers if I want to connect using my laptop because they have no plans on releasing software compatible with Windows Vista. Not really Toshibas fault, but it's my review. As for the laptop itself, the battery did not even last long enough to watch a movie. I'm not sure if this is typical or not as I have not had any experience with any other laptops. When I used the headphones with it, I could barely hear the movie and it was turned all the way up."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month