Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite P205D-S7436

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite P205D-S7436

The Satellite P205D 17 diagonal WXGA+ TruBrite widescreen notebook demonstrates a level of reliability and robustness to keep up with the fast changing conditions of your life. The Satellite P205D features the AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor for optimal performance. This Onyx Blue notebook is easy to use with the quick launch buttons for CD, DVD and Internet control. Use the DVD SuperMulti drive with Labelflash printing technology for your entertainment or for creating your own with friends and family. Large storage capacity hard drives and memory for faster transfer rates can handle your large files of data, favorite programs, digital images and MP3 music files. Built-in Wi-Fi 802.11b/g wireless for the latest network connections keep you out and moving. Six USB ports, and an i.LINK port drives a wide range of mobile PC peripheral capabilities.
Average Customer Rating:
4.443 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(70 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
25
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
64 of 70(91%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite P205D-S7436
Review 1 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great purchase

,
Date:January 23, 2008
By badvaark
from Gainesville, Florida
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my third Toshiba 17 inch laptop. They are used in my business and have been service free for years. Each laptop purchased has more features than the previous model, are easy to use, and are an oustanding value for the price.
My business relies on problem free high uptime processing. Toshiba has given me this.
I highly recommend their products."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 2 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laptop P205D-S7436

,
Date:January 11, 2008
By ToolManDA
from Hatfield, PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I researched different brands of laptop and found this model to be the best for the price. The screen clarity is excellent, plenty of hard drive space, quick response processor. I have been using it for about 3 weeks and it is working great. The number keypad is a very positive feature. I would highly recommend this laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Lock Up

,
Date:February 27, 2008
By Anonymous
from Palm City, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Computer locks up frequently when on the net with Internet Explorer. To restart I have to unplug power and remove battery. Today when I sent a word document to the HP All in One 4215 printer, the document printed, but the Word program shut down and the OS (Vista) locked up. Again had to unplug the power and remove battery to restart.
This is my fourth Toshiba laptop in four years. I have been very happy with the others. I hope the problem lies with Vista and not with the laptop.
Is there any way to remove Vista and go back to XP?
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent value

,
Date:February 27, 2008
By mackledet
from Terrytown, LA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I believe that I got excellent value for my money. I am extremely pleased with the speed and capacity of this notebook."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

,
Date:February 19, 2008
By Kurvett
from Jacksonville, FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my second Toshiba laptop. I purchased it primarily for my GPS program and to play DVD’s when traveling. My first Toshiba is an A15 series, which has great sound. I purchased the P205D for the big screen. Picture comes out great. However, I am really disappointed in the sound system. I took it back to the store and was told that all the Toshibas has poor sound and that I would need to purchase a separate speaker system in order to hear the DVD's. Wrong, a laptop should be self-contained.
If you like to watch DVD’s and don’t want to use a head set then this in not the laptop for you. I have gone back to taking my old A15 on road trips – the screen may be small but at least I can hear the sounds.
This new A205D does not live up to the old A15. The only item better on the A205D is the outstanding picture quality.
I am really disappointed.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Can Be Better

,
Date:February 19, 2008
By bigAl
from Saint Charles, IL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Pros: By Today's Standard, this is above average notebook for the price it has more than enough processor power, memory, and hard disk size for most people. The mouse pad is designed for "Right" hand person and has good fingers area. Using this notebook is easy and straight forward and run quitely when operational.
Cons: 1. The battery life is less than an hour. For this capacity of 4000mAH, it should last much more than an hour. If designed for power ineffecient, it would have beat Dell's 7 hours notebook they advertise. 2. The indicating LED lights (three bright blue LEDs) are placed in the frontal sections of the notebook and positioned close to the user such that they are aming at the user's eyes and they create very unpleasent, annoying intense light to the eyes, that should have been easily to detected and corrected if Toshiba did some testing before releasing it to customers. 3. I wish Toshiba would have gave the choice of the OS; I like Wndows XP instead of Vista, but that is a personal prefrence.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

there are problems

,
Date:February 13, 2008
By YTman
from Milwaukee, WI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The following are problems I've encountered that happen without any pattern.Laptop shuts down by itself in the middle of work.
window can go from a full window to a partial window when trying to click on a "link" area of the program .
There is no pattern to the when either problem occurs.
Start Up screen cluttered with Trial Offers.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

cluttered

,
Date:February 7, 2008
By johnwarrior
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am enjoying the unit, but cannot get rid of some things that keep asking me to register, like
McAfee that Ido not want. Also the Comcast runs some slower than it does on my OLD Dell
which has 1/4 the memory. I will try to get some
help--it could be me.
Also left and right mouse tabs are too small. It would be helpful if they were at the keyboard edge. ALso stickers should have easy release
adhesive.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 9 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product

,
Date:February 7, 2008
By gjl724
from Port St. Lucie, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well, I really love my Toshiba Satellite Notebook. It gives me a lot of flexibility. I only use it can with an instruction manual. Rather, than having to read the information online."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

happy with this product

,
Date:January 31, 2008
By bettysuetraveler
from Sitka, AK
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"had many people tell me to stick with toshiba and i am glad that i did. needed to purchase a laptop to take on the road with me. this laptop has been great. while traveling with a 17in can be cumbersome, once i got to Alaska with my Toshiba i was happy. I love this size screen, the ease of use and it meets all my needs. everything about this laptop is positive and exceeds my expectations."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i love TOSHIBA

,
Date:January 29, 2008
By GUID
from CHATTANOOGA, TN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"SO FAR AMONG THE SIX LAPTOPS THAT I USED IN THREE YEARS TIME, TOSHIBA IS THE BEST."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very happy with our new Laptop

,
Date:January 28, 2008
By cpguitar
from Lecompton, KS
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My husband wanted a laptop and I wasn't that crazy on the idea because I use one at work and find them hard to type on. I have been very happy with the monitor and the comfort in typing on this system. Also, we have had many different computers and we were very tired of the support hassles so far I have had only good results when asking questions and looking up information through Toshiba. Thanks"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good laptop

,
Date:January 28, 2008
By Stevo416
from AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got it for x-mas and i love it. very reliable"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

livin on the laptop

,
Date:January 28, 2008
By tralee39
from Mt. Morris, MI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop has done everything I have asked of it and fast. Most times I have multiple windows open and there is no slowdown. the only downside is thge battery life. it is a bit on the short side, but I use it mostly stationery so I can plug it in easily. I have had for a month and haven't come close to playing with all the features. Definately a good buy. I recommend this whole heartedly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I am very happy

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By Judi
from Ocean County, New Jersey
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the computer about one month... so far I am very happy with it. It was very easy to set up and install new programs... I was worried about using Vista, but it's been no problem at all. I did not rate the battery... I have not used it for more than just a few minutes"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK for the price

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By woodman11
from Central, Illinois
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Battery life and performance not as good as I expected. I thought the battery would last more than 3-4 hours and with dual processors be a little quicker. I recommend a 17" screen to anyone who purchase a laptop, don't buy any smaller. Overall OK for the price and features. Not impressed with the Vista OS."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By kopiana
from Spokane, Washington
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
""I looked into different brands of laptops and I found this model, the satellite P205D-S7436, to be the best for the price. There is plenty of hard drive space. The screen in big and is the right size for me. I have been using it for about 6 weeks now and it is great . I just love the number keypad set right in the keyboard, instead of a plug-in. The only thing I don’t care for is the short battery life. But I would still highly recommend this laptop.""
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

This was a great gift.

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By 1018
from KY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I really like having the large screen and the number pad. I use the number pad a lot. The system is fast. I can store my pictures and files and not run out of memory."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First Laptop

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By RePete
from San Antonio, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Easy to use for a dinosaur like me (I'm replacing my desktop model bought in 1998 - not much of a comparison). Relatively smooth learning curve, great value - this computer works for me and with me (rather than against me)."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite P205D-S7436
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great value for the price

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By iamfrog
from El Paso, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchase this laptop to replace a tower so I'd have more mobility and am enjoying it immensely. I got it on sale so it was a wonderful price and didn't have to think twice about buying it. Have always heard Toshiba was a good brand and I'm finding this to be true."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month