Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite A215-S7462

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite A215-S7462

The Satellite A215 empowers a rich multimedia experience in a sleek, compact form. The AMD Turion 64 X2 dual-core mobile technology, expanded memory and plenty of storage meets mobility demands while balancing battery life. A brilliant 15.4-inch diagonal WXGA TruBrite display and a DVD Super Multi optical drive add a whole new dimension to movies and games. Advanced 802.11 b/g wireless technology provides easy connectivity. The Bridge Media Adapter transfers pictures and other digital data.
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(45 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
12
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
0
38 of 45(84%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite A215-S7462
Review 1 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Deal for the Money

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By DaSpike
from Green Bay, WI.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best laptop for the money. More features that most people would use on a regular day to day basis than other models and brands. Have had no problems with performance. Definitely a reliable product with an emphasis on functionality."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love it

,
Date:March 29, 2008
By DBurgess
from Wyoming, Mi
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this to replace an old desk top computer. It does what I need it to do, which is mostly get e-mail and surf the net. It has many things on it, which I am still playing around with. It's a good computer. I didn't rate the battery life because I mostly keep it plugged in, So I am not sure how long the battery does last. I'll have to tes that out."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disapointing

,
Date:March 28, 2008
By Anonymous
from Laredo, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It started out good, but later discovered it locks up when I use the webcam and have to restart the computer. The media player distorts towards the end of the songs. The wireless radar is weak other laptops pick up more wireless signals than my laptop. Computer lags when I type and have to stop to let it catch up. Finally, Battery life .... about 1 hour..... Very bad."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Just OK

,
Date:March 28, 2008
By DAVEB13
from Fort Campbell, KY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I previously owned a Satelie with XP. I was very very happy with it. So when I passed it on to the wife, I of course bought another one. This laptop has a higher processor and more RAM than my previous one, but it is sluggish and performs poorly. It's almost like it just isn't powerful enough to run Vista. Also, with my previous XP laptop, I had the Toshiba power-saver profiles which allowed me to eek out outstanding battery performance. Now there are two settings, high performance and battery saver, that's it.
To sum it up, this would have been a phenomenal laptop with XP on it. Vista is a nice operating system, but it requires more than what it appears this laptop has.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not so satisfied

,
Date:March 28, 2008
By mkimowz
from Etna, PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The DVD/Cd player on these models, (and some others) are not very good. I can't play a full CD or DVD because the disc eventually rubs on the top of the case. It makes some noise, and slows down the disc to the point where the music just stops. Usually, by the time it gets to the end of the disc, it happens. On a music CD, it will only play the first 12 or 13 songs before this happens. It is very disappointing to have repairs done on a brand new laptop. Not to mention inconvenient. I can't have it fixed until I go on vacation, and only if they can have it back to me within one week."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than most

,
Date:March 27, 2008
By Lafayette
from Best Buy
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I use the A215-S7437 model. I have owned Gateway, and Dell laptops in the past. I purchased this machine for business use after looking very closely at several competitive models and found this one to be the most machine for the money than all the others so the decision to purchase was a no brainer.
The highlights are many and the lows are few. You will love the large clear, bright 15 inch display! It has all the bells and whistles you expect in an up to date laptop and plenty of USB ports. The speakers are great also. I thought the large easy to read layout of the keyboard was user friendly for aging eyes.
The biggest fault is the battery life. It seems like as soon as you unplug it, the battery is at 75% and it goes fast! I have had my laptop crash a couple of times without warning which isn't good but when it boots back up, it starts right from where it left off, which is good. Overall, there aren't any machines I know of that can top the features you get for the price so I would say it is a keeper."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop!

,
Date:February 24, 2008
By kellis
from Zebulon,NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased my Toshiba Satellite Laptop a week ago, and I have to say that I am completely happy with this product! I had a choice of other brands, but I decided on this one because Toshiba has always been a trusted name in our home for great products! And this one is certainly no exception! I would highly recommend it to everyone!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

,
Date:February 10, 2008
By moosema
from washington state
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"good value for a laptop, very short battery life, crashes occasionally, but overall would recommend."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Quality Incandescent

,
Date:February 9, 2008
By Donaldroddy
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have been more than satisfied with my Satelite A215-S7462. It has all the features I need and a clear crisp screen. I also like the on-line camera built into the top of the screen. Altogether this is a nice product and well advanced over my former Toshiba laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A little frustrating

,
Date:January 29, 2008
By Katdog
from Paris, France
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Overall, I am very happy with the laptop and the various features. The screen is wide and clear. I am frustrated with the low battery life and the wireless LAN. The wireless LAN connection is loose and unreliable."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

,
Date:January 27, 2008
By Alberto
from Raleigh, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Once I configured the finger print scanner, logging in is very easy and it works everytime. This was one feature that attracted me to buy this laptop. I bought it just after Christmas and I've been quite satisfied with its performance."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 26, 2008
By Fresnana2
from Fresno, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have wanted a laptop for a long time and have spent a lot of time on line checking prices and options available. The Satellite is way beyond what I thought I would get for what I wanted to spend. I wish the battery lasted longer, but when I'm at home, I just plug in. I'm really enjoying the portability. The screen size is just perfect for me and the speed is so much better than my desktop. I'm not tech savvy at all, but I'm very happy with my Satellite and would recommend it to anyone for home use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Choice I Ever Made

,
Date:January 26, 2008
By recaster1
from Colonail Heights, Virginia
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had a number of Laptops to choose from. When I saw the features that came with this Laptap, it became my overall choice. Compared to my old IBM this Toshiba was a "Jaguar"!
I couldn't believe the features I received for the price I paid. I enjoy every moment I spend on this Laptop!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Short Battery Life

,
Date:January 25, 2008
By Amcan
from Maryland
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I purchased this Toshiba Laptop computer with a "4-cell" battery - which is explained as a 4-hour battery. Brand new - the most battery time I have is 1 hr. 55 minutes. This is not satisfactory. I called Toshiba tech support and a rep took me through the steps to upgrade the "BIOS" telling me this would update the battery life but it did not. I understood buying a 4-cell batteried computer vs. a 6-cell or whatever - would give me less battery operating time - but did NOT expect the battery to die on me after less than 2 hours."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2008
By DACC
from Virginia
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I enjoy the Laptop, but the mouse sometime sticks and the finger reader doesn't always work right. Heavy than most laptops.Other then these few problems, I really like using my laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Outstanding laptop

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By Belgianguy
from Wadsworth, Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had several brands of notebooks over the years and encountered issues with all of them except for my first Toshiba which was flawless. This new purchase again shows the reliability: excellent overall performance. The only item I, as well as many others, feel which should be improved is the battery life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 24, 2008
By TinaS
from Powhatan, VA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first laptop that I have had and I am very happy with it. I feel like it was definitely economically priced with lots of features. I would recommend this brand and type of laptop if you want more bang for your buck."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A GREAT LAPTOP & VALUE.

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By Ruthy
from Portland, Oregon
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first laptop and I am impressed with the overall quality, performance and ease of use. My husband has a loptop of another manufacture and he has had many problems with it. The finger print security feature is definite
plus. The screen provides a bright clear pictue.
the operating system boots quickly and without any glitches. I am very happy the I decided to make my first laptop a Toshiba.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great laptop!

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By MaryAnn
from East Windsor, NJ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am exceedingly pleased with this machine. We purchased this laptop because we were so happy with our other Toshiba (Satellite M55-S25). The features and speed are even better with this model, the connection ports are conveniently positioned along the sides, and the larger screen is a nice plus. It's a great value for the price, especially when compared with competitor's models with similar features. It's easy to operate and the sound level is better than our other laptop. Definitely a worthwhie purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite A215-S7462
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LOVE THE FINGER PRINT SECURITY

,
Date:January 24, 2008
By KIMMY
from CORTLAND, OH
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THIS IS MY FIRST LAP TOP BUT NOT OUR FAMILY'S FIRST. THIS COMPUTER HAS THEM ALL JEALOUS BECAUSE OF THE FINGER TIP SECURITY SYSTEM, WHEN YOU ARE WORKING ON LINE WITH SECURE SITES THIS IS THE GREATEST THING EVER MADE.
THE ONLY THING I WOULD LIKE TO SEE IS THE BATTERY LIFE TO BE A LITTLE LONGER.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month