Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite A135-S4656

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite A135-S4656

The Satellite A135 Series is economically priced with technology you'll value. Systems feature the latest in Intel® processors for optimal performance. There's big memory for all your mp3s, work, picture and video files. All systems feature an 15.4" diagonal WXGA TruBrite® display adding the WOW factor to games and movies! Toshiba's DVD SuperMulti optical drive (select models) reads and writes up to 11 formats, including DVD-RAM which acts like an optical HDD! (DVD-RAM media required). High speed wireless LAN (802.11b/g) lets you work cable free. No more searching for phone jacks, network cables, or plugging in special cards. Connect easily to networks in your home, office, and in wireless LAN hotspots at airports, hotels and coffee shops.
Average Customer Rating:
4.09 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(144 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (144 reviews)
5 stars
47
4 stars
76
3 stars
14
2 stars
1
1 star
6
129 of 144(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite A135-S4656
Review 1 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great product!

,
Date:December 18, 2007
By CarrieInTx
from Tyler, Texas
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this computer for school. I needed a laptop that was powerful enough for school work, which includes videos, etc., but I also needed it to be inexpensive. This was a FABULOUS deal!
I'm so happy with my computer. I can't imagine functioning without. I use it every day for school as well as personal use. My desktop has practically been replaced.
I have enjoyed this laptop immensely. I would highly recommend it to anyone. In fact, three of my friends bought the exact same model right after seeing mine. It's a great deal.
My only complaint with the laptop is that the battery life is not great. However, it's more of an inconvienience rather than a real problem because generally, I'm somewhere where I can plug it in to recharge. However, it might be worth the money to invest in the extended life battery if that's something important to you.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba Satellite Laptop

,
Date:December 9, 2007
By MikeO
from Memphis, TN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I found the system very nice overall. The screen is the right size, and the colors are great. The battery life works about to be about 60 to 90 minutes, which is short but OK. Processor speed is adequate for the Web browsing and game playing we use it for. The Macafee antivirus trial package really dragged down the performance. I am looking for another antivirus that won't be so intrusive, and I will upgrade the memory (0.5 Gb to 1.5 Gb). Wireless network works great. It's a really good value for a laptop. The whole family uses it, and I would buy it again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

BEST LAPTOP PURCHASED

,
Date:November 28, 2007
By vstaana
from EUCLID, OHIO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"THIS IS THE BEST LAPTOP I PURCHASED ...BEST PRICE..BEST FEATURES...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Value ever

,
Date:November 17, 2007
By Midknight
from Winter Garden, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"First Laptop to buy... they were always to pricey in the past but this was almost the right price! (with free being a better price!)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

most inexpensive laptop

,
Date:November 16, 2007
By goldenboy
from san antonio, tx
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"can't beat the purchase price. found it on sale for $349.95. wi-fi feature compatible with the wireless router i chose. takes too long boot up and too long to shut down. processes much slower than my desktop. can't understand why it minimizes internet page on its own. can't accidentally tap scroll pad twice without it selecting whatever cursor happens to be pointing at and don't know how to turn this feature off."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent value

,
Date:November 15, 2007
By glh763
from Elk River, MN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I work with corporate laptops and find this laptop to be an excellent choice for the home. I'm regularly asked for guidance from others for their personal computing needs and haven't hesitated to recommended this laptop. I do suggest adding more memory since Vista is resource hungry.
I'm impressed with the fit and finish of this laptop compared to others in the price range.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Toshiba Laptop

,
Date:November 15, 2007
By Anonymous
from Richmond VA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My wife needed a new Laptop. I was sick of all her complaints about Dell so I had her look at the Toshiba. I heard good things about Toshiba. At first the laptops were good but one of the laptops the DVD drive wont work. It wont read CD's or anything. ALso there is only 512M of memory and windows Vista is a memory hog so the computer runs very very very slow. I also get a lot of programs that dont respond when trying to open them. I have yet to look at the other laptop. I am not getting compaints about that one, probably because my 8 year old daughter uses that one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

$350 laptop

,
Date:November 15, 2007
By mikeu
from Seattle
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Hard, very hard, to beat for that price, even after I spent another $100 to ramp the RAM up to 2 gigs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My 1st lap top

,
Date:November 14, 2007
By adrake70
from Kennesaw, GA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the lap top, I just wish the battery life was a little longer. I have not added additional softwear, so I am a little worried about the amount of memory due to Vista."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Decent deal

,
Date:November 13, 2007
By Chops
from Minneapolis, Mn
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It was a fair value, I immediately added a Gigabit of ram, otherwise with the Vista platform & 512 mb, it ran very slowly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Buy

,
Date:November 13, 2007
By Anonymous
from Cleburne, TX
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I really like the laptop and the way it preforms. What I do not like is the programs that comes with the computer. MS Word 2007 is not a favorite of mine, in fact I would go back to the 2005 or 2006 version if it would work. Other than that it is great."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great purchase

,
Date:November 12, 2007
By Ping
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a junior in school. I wanted a laptop a student could afford. I shopped around alot and descided to try my luck on a toshiba. This laptop is great. It definetly needs a 1 gb upgrade though. The battery life isnt that great either. This is the first laptop ive ever owned, but it is a great one. I would definitly recomend this to students who dont have a lot of extra money. Its a realy great value. A+"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

really great for the price

,
Date:November 12, 2007
By mss53
from Sanford,n.c.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a great laptop at a really good price. It has every thing I need in a laptop. I highly reccommend it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

,
Date:November 12, 2007
By Donn
from Willow Grove, PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After taking all into consideration, I was looking for a laptop that was all self-contained and had decent graphics. My expectations have been exceeded especially with the battery life. It's very good.
I've been very pleased and I didn't spend a lot of money.
D.Davidson.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Good valve for money

,
Date:November 12, 2007
By gorilla
from Colorado Springs, CO
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good laptop for a good price. It's pretty average to other laptops. The laptop comes with a trial package of Word and Excel and you must purchase the program on your own, and as you know that is pricey. There are some black tabs the are on the top of the screen that are quick function keys you can use when you put your mouse up there. The problem sometimes is that they won't go away, sometimes. The battery life on the laptop is poor at best, approxemately 1 1/2 hours if your are lucky. You can purchase longer life batteries, but then you are going to pay a lot. Inexpensive laptop, if you don't get a longer lasting battery and some basic software."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A Very Great Deal

,
Date:November 11, 2007
By Dudley
from California
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my first Lap Top. It is easy to use and the portability for use in various rooms was a pleasent discovery. All of this adds to the fact that the price was better than an inexpensive desk top."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLENT PRODUCT

,
Date:November 11, 2007
By THELASTWORD
from HOUSTON, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I WOULD LIKE TO RECOMMEND THIS PRODUCT AS I CAN TRUEFULLY SAY I ENJOY IT. I ALSO BOUGHT MY WIFE ONE. WE ENJOY THEM EVERYDAY. I WOULD ONLY LIKE TO SAY THEY NEED TO EXTEND THE BATTERY LIFE.."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy

,
Date:November 11, 2007
By Kingdingaling
from Detroit, MI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"It might be a good product if it didn't die on me a month after I bought it. It was on and nothing was open. I left it and came back and the system repair screen was up. Windows never came up again. The reboot disk did not work because of an unknown error"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad

,
Date:November 10, 2007
By kkuo
from Edison, NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was looking for a laptop since my compaq recently burnt out. This laptop is pretty good for the price. My only complaints are that it's a bit slow (512 is too little to run vista) and the battery life doesn't last too long even on the power saver setting. Other than that, I really love this new laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for Satellite A135-S4656
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

value packed computer

,
Date:November 10, 2007
By powerlite
from ND
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great product at a more than fair price. Definitely loaded with features that should keep the average user very happy. Keyboard layout is intuitive, and Toshiba's online tech support is very easy to use if the need arises. XP as an OS on this computer lets it cruise right along."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year