Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite A135-S4527

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite A135-S4527

The Satellite A135 Series is economically priced with technology you'll value. Systems feature the latest in Intel® processors for optimal performance. There's big memory for all your mp3s, work, picture and video files. All systems feature an 15.4" diagonal WXGA TruBrite® display adding the WOW factor to games and movies! Toshiba's DVD SuperMulti optical drive (select models) reads and writes up to 11 formats, including DVD-RAM which acts like an optical HDD! (DVD-RAM media required). High speed wireless LAN (802.11b/g) lets you work cable free. No more searching for phone jacks, network cables, or plugging in special cards. Connect easily to networks in your home, office, and in wireless LAN hotspots at airports, hotels and coffee shops.
Average Customer Rating:
4.438 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(704 Reviews) 585
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (704 reviews)
5 stars
364
4 stars
302
3 stars
25
2 stars
8
1 star
5
671 of 704(95%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite A135-S4527
Review 561 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best Economy laptop

,
Date:June 9, 2007
By smulla
from Inglewood,CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Well if you are looking for a video entertaining machine with enough power to run productivity software with a value price then you have to look no further. The only downside is since there is no dedicated videocard this machine isn't built for gaming, but with this price all major laptop machines lack a videocard, so that isn't a major issue but it doesn't cost that much to add a videocard so maybe charging the consumer an extra 50 bucks would be worth it but then again other companies do not do that as well so this isn't a major flaw. Has a nice display and built in wireless features which is a bonus for the price, so if your looking for a value priced feature riched laptop do not look any further of course most laptops should have 2 gigs memory preinstalled for vista but until that time comes 1 gig of memory is sufficient for the price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 562 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

vista too soon

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By dirgette
from illinois
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"the features of the operating system for the laptop are questionable since it doesnt support any of the products that havent caught up to vista.
so here you are in the retail market being force fed the new operating system that doesnt support anythig else out there.
it is slow and with the manufacturers add ons it is slower to use than windows 95 on a 10 hertz machine.
as far as writing new documents it is nice but when it comes to getting your old printer hooked up you are gonna has issues, and if it means using an old mp3 player be careful very careful. how it works with the new and improved products out there is anyone's guess. it was just enough for me to afford the laptop to take to school and do school work.
did you know they tied google into your internet exploerer so if you take google out you kill internet explorer? found out the hard way.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 563 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop - extremely poor battery

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By schoolpc
from Orem, UT
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Laptop works great! The xtra-brite screen, the keyboard layout, the built in wi-fi, the great dvd burner and cd player are some true highlights of this laptop. I don't even mind that it has Windows Vista Home Premium edition on it. :-)
However, if there is one gripe, it is the battery life. I lose about 1% of my battery power for every minute I have the computer on (on the defualt power setting -- which is balanced).
For such a great laptop I would think Toshiba would step up to the plate with the battery and actually stick one in the computer that is actually beneficial. If you do any kind of travel or even use it at school, you'll want to get another, longer lasting battery to go with this laptop.
Ending on a good note, I did buy this laptop for only $539 at compusa when they were having a special on them.
For the price and the features, who could ask for more
(....well....except a battery that works).
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 564 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Wonderful gift

,
Date:June 19, 2007
By hightechmommy
from Philippines
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This kind of notebook was a wedding gift to me this June from my online sweetheart whom i known for more than a year.. i used this at my office doing work, business and during free time watch movie and listen to music... sooooo great.. with this notebook i brought at work i felt my job are easier now and wont be bringing my ofice reports at home. The 2 desktop at home is still useful but this notebook is very convinient for me here in the Philippines. Go and shop this is great gifts for your loveones and for a good treat for a working mom like u. The problem we only got is setting up the microsoft windows vista.. it has perfect features but hopefully it will work and its not just an online trial.
Hey honey I love u thanks for this toshiba gift..mwaaahhh
Hey shoppers Goodluck... dont worry u wont regret as long as u read everything carefully first.
Thanks toshiba.. it wa a great price bought at Bestbuy.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 565 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Lots of computer for the money

,
Date:November 8, 2007
By Philip
from Missouri
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"1. Works very well. No problems out of the box.
2. VISTA is not the headache for the average user as many would have you believe.
3. There are important faults, however. First - no slot for a compact clash memory card which a serious photographer REALLY needs. Secondly...the 1 gb of on board RAM is actually two 500 mb units which occupy both available slots. So, to jump to a full 2 gb you must pull both cards and purchase a pair of 2 gb cards to achieve your goal. Thirdly....the cooling intake is on the bottom of the laptop precisely in the location where it is easily blocked by your left leg. This could result in overheating of the processor and other parts. This laptop really needs to be used with a non-padded lap board or set it on a desk or table to compensate for this design flaw.
Otherwise I have enjoyed using it as number two to my desktop. Sure wish it had that compact flash memory card slot though.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 566 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent in Price

,
Date:June 9, 2007
By azdiamondbacks28
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I normally buy the best possible product, even if it costs a little bit more, but I was in the market to replace a very reliable HP i had for a while. Working in the computer repair business, I know how Tohisba treats their customers. They have an excellent warranty and will even go above and beyond to make sure a customer is happy. My previous Satellite was only replaced with the HP becuase I liked the "full size keyboard" but when I was looking for features and price,this laptop rose above the rest. It may not be flashy or have all the biomertic scanners or remote controls other brands offer, It does everything I need it to do, and I know that Toshiba stands behind their products. I have been using it for a few months and have loved it! The only thing is to really get a good long use of the charg on a battery, you have to set the power plan to "power saver" but then performance suffers. I will be looking for the high capacity battery."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 567 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

No regrets!!!!!

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By Scottyman
from Dunwoody, GA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this computer at a discounted price about a month ago from BestBuy, and I've decided I would have bought this Laptop at regular price+. The 120 HDD is convenient, 1 GB RAM is good, better than 512 which alot on machines are trying to run vista with. But its expandable to 2gb which is more than enough unless your a BIG TIME gammer. New technology Intel dual core Processor is a great pic with adequate bus speed. Then the truelife screen with HD conpatibility is a definite plus. The Machine also has integrated wireless which has so far work flawlessly. And if your into making home movies, the super drive is DVD+-R DL compatible so you can fit Much more onto one disc. Toshiba also has some great built-in software and system help function that other companys don't offer. I can even hook my cell phone up to this computer and broswe the internet while on the road from my cell phones internet plan (5 dollars a month on my plan) I could go on an on. BUY THE CONMPUTER!!!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 568 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very impressed

,
Date:November 9, 2007
By Jules63
from Hooks, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I used to be comitted to another companies product until I tried a Toshiba laptop. I am so impressed with the Satellite A135-S4527 that Toshiba is the only brand I recommend to people now. I have been using my laptop for about 2 months and haven't had any issues or complaints so far. This model has the media player buttons on the side of the keyboard and I really like that. I love the design and layout also; placement and number of USB ports, the wi-fi switch on the front, placement of the speakers, etc. The volume control on the front of the laptop makes it much more convenient to control the volume without having to click on anything, just turn the dial on the front. The memory card reader makes it very handy to transfer pictures. Overall, it's a great laptop with excellent features for the price. The only thing I would add would be Media Direct buttons so you could access music files without having to boot the machine. I couldn't be happier with my purchase. Thanks Toshiba!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 569 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good purchase, poor performance

,
Date:June 27, 2007
By Rita
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very satisfied with the instrument (computer). However, I was not satisfied with the McAfee security nor Microsoft Vista. The McAfee blocked all of my outgoing e-mails causing continual program changes so I had it removed and replaced with Norton.
The VISTA interferred with the cd/dvd drive and caused problems everytime a new item was installed (ie. printers) so I also had it removed and replaced with Word 2003. I suggest you discontinue the VISTA until Microsoft works out all of the kinks.
I purchased this computer because of the programs and price. I was so disappointed that the McAfee virus protetion, word, etc. programs were installed on a trial basis and to continue them I would have to purchase these programs. When I did not purchase the Word program, I was restricted in using my computer. I did not encounter this situation when I purchased a Sony laptop for my vacation home; they were permanently installed.
These programs have affected my rating and recommendation of this computer.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 570 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Pretty Good

,
Date:November 11, 2007
By Kaity
from Louisiana
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I recently purchased a Toshiba laptop. There are many advantages to buying a Toshiba and only a few disadvantages.
Advantages -
Pricing - Awesome! I got a great deal on my laptop with a one-hundred dollar mail-in-rebate.
Reliability - Toshiba is well known as a reliable and long lasting laptop.
Features - Is equipped with everything I could ever possibly need.
Disadvantages -
Battery Life - The battery does not last long at all. And the more you use it, the less it lasts. I just got my laptop about 3 weeks ago and am already noticing it. My brother has owned a Toshiba for about a year and a half and he is considering buying a new battery, because his barely works at all anymore.
Speed - In the beginning my laptop was very fast. But now, it is slower. I know that with every download I make I use up space, which slows down my computer. But it is getting slower and slower really fast. I haven't really downloaded anything either. My brother and Dad both own Toshibas and have experienced the same."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 571 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A135 S4527

,
Date:November 8, 2007
By CTtech
from Colchester, CT
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overall I am very pleased with this laptop. It was definatley a step up from my previous one and has great bang for the buck. There are only a few of things I would have liked different. There is no Ctrl key on the right side of the keyboard, this makes those of us who use the Ctrl + Enter key combo to add the www and .com to web addresses in I.E.. I also miss having a trackpoint as well as the touch pad. The touch pad can be very difficult to work somtimes and the track point is much easier. I am happy with the Windows Vista Preimium included, however it needs at least 2 GB of memory to run efficiently. Unfourtunatly to upgrade to 2 Gb memory, you need to remove the 2 512MB chips and replace them completely with 2 1GB chips. The battery life leaves something to be desired, but with Vista I am not supporised. As I said initially I am very pleased overall and would definatley reccomend this laptop, just be prepared to purchase more memory, a wirless laptop mouse, and a spare or larger battery.
Cheers,
CTtech
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 572 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good deal

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By SFPaul
from San Francisco, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this notebook on sale at Best Buy. I use a Dell at work, but had used a Toshiba before so trusted the brand.
I've had it for a month or so now. Battery life is average, and MS Vista is a bit pokey, but overall a great value for the money. Nice big screen, the writable DVD drive is nice, and it's nice having the USB ports more easily accessible on the sides of the machine than on the back (1 on left, 2 on right).
I wish the keyboard had a Ctrl key on the right side, too: I use ctrl-arrows a lot to navigate around a page. And I never use the play/pause/stop etc. buttons on the left, so I'd prefer to have those removed and add back another column of keyboard keys, or make the keys wider (the left shift is a bit narrow; the Windows key is moved to the top right, instead of being on the bottom left, and ~/` is next to the spacebar instead of to the left of the 1 key). So my fingers are having to relearn where keys are.
Otherwise, I'm very happy with this notebook and would recommend it, esp. for the price I paid.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 573 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

LIfer after Compaq

,
Date:June 9, 2007
By Riverexplorer
from Louisville, KY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Having owner 3 Compaq computers when the last one died, I was ready to try another maunfacturer. Toshiba came highly reccommended from many friends in the computer field...so I started the search for a Toshiba with in days after the last Compaq died. For the money, the Toshiba has features others could not match. In the 2 months I have had the unit it has operated flawlessly and traveled with me all over the inland rivers of America. With the exception of an operating system that takes alot more than getting used to (Windows Vista) I would reccommend this unit to anyone looking for maximum features and minimum cost with reliability and durabilty second to none. But, find a copy of XP and install it to forstall problems with unreliable and non-dependable Windows Vista....you will be very happy you did! Other than the operating system, the only other complaint I could have about the unit is the short battery life. I believe this could be solved with an accesory battery. However, the computer unit itself is perfect and more than I expected!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 574 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:September 24, 2007
By sjsmoto
from Gainesville, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first Tosh I've purchased, although I used their laptops on and off years ago.
Pluses:
Rugged - I can toss it in a mildly padded bag in a motorcycle saddlebag and the hinges hold up.
Sleep mode - excellent! When I want to check something on the web I don't have to go through a full boot-up - just open the case and it's ready in a few seconds.
Weight - acceptable. I'd want to wheel it around in a cart in an airport, but from parking lot to office it's no problem.
Web connection - works fine. Detects services, lets you select the one you want.
Rollback - works! For the heck of it, right after I bought it, I tried installing Vista-flaky software, just gave it a good workout(I figured I could have the OS reloaded if I messed something up bad enough). After I messed the communications up, I used Windows System Restore and things come back as expected.
LAMP software - works!
Minuses:
Battery - as others have said, battery life could be longer. Even just in sleep mode, it will drain in a couple of days.
Hm, that's all I can think of for now for minuses!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 575 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good price, poor software on it.

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By ToshibaSupporter
from Delaware
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I think it's a great machine as other toshiba computers I had. However, the amount of software that companies recently put in new computers is amazingly huge! The overall performance of any computer would go down to useless.
Today, I just decided to re-install everything for my self. The software that comes with the computer not only makes it really slow, but all the amount of process running in background makes the battery life of the computer really bad.
I hope the battery life increases after removing the software (although also constant updates from antivirus, anti-malware and windows trying to gain access to the network an several resources of the machine, makes it almost impossible to detect the real reason of battery life and slowness).
Sure enough, just re-installing windows, the number of active processes went down to 33 from more than 85 that were running when I took the laptop out of the box.
This is a great hardware, don't be upset if the performance achieved is not as good as you thought, but certainly it's a shame they pack so many useless software on brand new computers.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 576 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Weak Warranty/Service

,
Date:November 8, 2007
By Chuckles
from Standish, ME
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The Laptop itself is relatively well designed, and the software bundle clean by comparison. The screen works well and the fan is very quiet (maglev). It has a fairly strong wi-fi, and runs cooler than many.
However, woe be to those who do not buy warranties, for it does not come with one. Or at least, not one worth anything. Not even a standard 90 days parts/labor on the screen. My screen broke (I do not know how, I keep it in an aluminum briefcase bought specifically to protect it) and found this out. When I sent it in, they wanted approx. 450 dollars to repair it. Far over half of what I paid for the entire unit. When I attempted to buy a screen from the company directly to install myself, I found it was through a resale company, and it would cost 500-700 dollars.
So, unless you plan to buy a full warranty, or have technical hardware skills, be warned.
(And as a side note, throughout this long endeavor, the only Americans I spoke to were from Texas, and were the screen resalers. Infact, when I asked if they had a number for someone in the U.S. ... 1 800 Toshiba. Guess where that leads.)
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 577 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Lackluster

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By Bubs
from Gilbert, AZ
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I admittedly purchased this due to the low price and really didn't expect very much in the way of performance or features. Laptops just seem to be getting more and more fragile as their price rises. When my last Sony bit the dust after going through airport security and baggage handling, I decided to just purchase a "utility" laptop to use on the road that was expendable. This unit fits the bill. My major complaint is the operating system. This under achiever should never have been paired with Windows Vista. It is slow and incompatible with many programs and peripherals. Even Dell is offering an XP "upgrade" for their corporate customers. Toshiba should do the same.
The extra USB ports are nice, but a parallel port would have made more sense for someone on the go.
This unit is the poster child for "You get what you pay for". I really don't expect it to last very long. It's really a shame. I still have my old Pentium 133 Toshiba that is running Windows 98SE. I use it for my GPS Unit. Everything on it still works including the operating system and CD-ROM drive. I wish it was fast enough to run XP!!!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 578 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good value

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By fortune
from Palatine, IL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Compared to what else was out there when I shopped, the A135-S4527 was the best bang for the buck (at least after the store rebate that was available at the time). It had more USB ports than the comparable and more expensive Sony, and a fairly meaty hard drive with decent memory. For the laptop user that needs portability, it was certainly the leader among 15.5 inch screen contenders.
On the downside, I did NOT like most of the preloaded stuff, especially all the games. There was so much that was aimed at teen and pre-teen users that it could almost totally alienate someone who's using the computer for business. Once I gave all the game stuff the boot, sent all superfluous desktop shortcuts packing, kissed McAfee goodbye (replacing it Nod 32) and disabled Windows Defender (opting instead to use Counter Spy), I seemed to have successfully morphed the A135-S4527 into clean machine that runs like a Swiss watch and may help over time in giving Windows Vista a good name, something that system so truly needs at this time. As much as I’m more an HP guy, I’d buy the Toshiba and do it all over again if I had to.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 579 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Smart Purchase

,
Date:September 24, 2007
By Tremont
from Chicago, Il.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Saw this laptop at the neighberhood big box store and after carefully looking at all the features and doing some price comparison, decided that for the price, this laptop could not be beat. For the business work that I do, this PC is perfect. The hard drive is plenty big enough and it's upgradable, as is the amount of memory. If you are looking for a laptop to play games with and watch movies on, this PC may not be for you. But for serious computing, working with spreadsheets, data bases and all kinds of mutitasking, this machine can't be beat. It came with Windows Vista installed, along with all the usual garbage that PC makers load on thier machines. But any owner will surely configure this laptop to suit that individual. With all the many features, this latop is a breeze to use. The price is fantastic, especially if you can find one on sale or on close out, as this was a discontinued model, so I was told. But even at the MSRP, this laptop is a comparative bargain. The only real downside is the small battery capacity. You may want to upgrade to a larger battery if you plan to do a lot of mobile computing."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 580 for Satellite A135-S4527
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Vista hang-ups

,
Date:November 8, 2007
By RC60
from Pueblo, CO
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Maybe the rating I gave wasn't fair. I can't seem to figure out if it's the laptop or the Vista operating systems that are constantly driving me crazy. So I guess my problem is with Vista and not the laptop. The only thing that I know for sure about the laptop is it is quiet, which I like. However, I wish the page slider was more pronounced like most lap tops. Sometimes it doesn't scroll the page but just moves the curcer. Hopefully they'll come out with a service pack like they had to do with Windows XP, that will fix all the issues I'm constantly having with this thing - like system freeze ups, windows opening, closing and minimizing without being told to do so. Not reading CD's or DVD's when coming out of rest mode without having to restart the whole computer, curser disappearing right in the middle of an email and I'd have to close it as a draft, reopen email and continue and so on. So far, even though I put a 4 for value, I'm thinking it wasn't worth the money I spent on it and should just have spent that money and had my older laptop with XP refurb and stuck with it. I still have it and I find myself using it more than the new one because it's faster, easier and does what I tell it to do.
FYI, just while writing this review, this window minimized three times. Go figure - and get it fixed!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year