Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC

Beyond productive, the Portege M400 packs powerhouse performance into a supremely portable package. Extended battery life* and an array of connectivity options keep you productive and get you connected while on the go. Mobile productivity goes even further with rigorously engineered Toshiba EasyGuard technologe designed for optimal reliability, security, connectivity and optimization in any mobile setting. The Portege M400-S4032 boasts Everywhere Connectivity: 3G Wide Area Network (WAN) for wireless productivity anywhere you can make a cell phone call; high speed Wi-Fi (802.11a/b/g); Gigabit Ethernet; Bluetooth; and i.LINK IEEE-1394 port!
Average Customer Rating:
4.556 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (18 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
18 of 18(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Review 1 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great laptop

,
Date:December 15, 2007
By bigred
from Burley, ID
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Easy to set up and run, without any previous experience with tablets."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Tablets allow flexibility

,
Date:November 11, 2007
By Otter
from Beirut, Lebanon
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"The key to my purchasing a tablet pc was by far the longstanding reputation of Toshiba within this field. I found the addons and additions that came with the PC quite useful HOWEVER, having ONLY TRIAL Microsoft software was a serious pain. I understand that it is merely an attempt to keep costs low but this is rediculous. I have had horrific experiences with Toshiba Lebanon in the past so I chose to buy my Tablet in the USA. The device, once I had recieved it, outdid my expectations in the most pleasant and subtle manner. Placement and engineering on the device is well thought out. The backup pen is a requirement for all of those this far from developed countries; as is the wonderfully long legged battery. A screen protector would be nice to avoid scratches from using the stylus so much, but this and built in presentation tools on the pen, appear to be only my personal request. I had also hoped that toshiba would develop a more streamline update tool given the massive list of Vista and XP "corrections and fixes" to be downloaded on your download site."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Sweet

,
Date:October 24, 2007
By LaptopLad
from Chicago, Illinois
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop is so cool I am using the stylus right now to write this review. I really enjoy the feature to write directly an the Screen. The only problem I have So for is that the size could be a little bigger-But other than that I love it ."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 4 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Machine

,
Date:September 7, 2007
By Joesph
from Egypt, Cairo
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am an IT Director, I have purchased this Tablet Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC 2 month ago. in a short description ( it is almost a perfect machine ) Powerful,Light Weight, Quiet, doesn't heat up, Crisp Display, very good power management software that lets you optimize the battery perfomance, i hope in future versions they would add a built in webcam, and make higher resolution though 1024 X 768 is very good but if the resolution was higher it was going to be excellent. This is my 3rd Toshiba laptop in 9 years"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great computer

,
Date:August 4, 2007
By Howdy
from DC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"i got one bad point. Battery life is not enough as advertised. primary and secondary batteries together will take you for 4 hours. hand writing recognition is great!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than the first one

,
Date:July 6, 2007
By Habitats
from Denver, CO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I originally ordered a Toshiba Portege 3505 tablet in November 2002 and replaced it with the M400 in January 2007. The original saved me the cost of a secretary to transcribe my handwritten field notes and then file them. The M400 is faster, more rugged and I really like the built-in broadband. I have conducted GotoMeetings flawlessly from a cafe, a parking lot and even on a mountain top. The digital pen on powerpoint presentations is fantastic and still awes the audience. I wouldn't use a traditional laptop again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Awesome Purchase!

,
Date:June 14, 2007
By HappyFeet
from San Jose, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love my NEW Toshiba PC Tablet!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My product review

,
Date:June 11, 2007
By JeffXu
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this product is very great"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 9 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

,
Date:June 10, 2007
By JOTroy
from Troy, MI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is my second tablet pc; however with this one I am experiencing challenges with the audio sound driver and burning cd's"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

1st Tablet Ever

,
Date:June 10, 2007
By jaguarul
from Los Angeles, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my 1st Tablet PC that I have purchased ever. The main purpose I bought the PC for initially has changed because my work related duties have changed too. But as I still try to learn about all the futures which the notebook can handle, I still think it was a smart decision to go with the Tablet. I am still getting used to the Tablet part because there are several futures which don't use on regular bases: notes taking for classes; filing of documents in the proper folders; etc. One draw back I can think of is there are way too many software programs that cross over with Microsoft's software programs. In this case you have to figure out which software is the best for your needs. That can take a long time to figure out for some of us who are not tech savvy.
But I am very pleased with my purchase. I would recommend this notebook/tablet PC to every student in the world or business professional who goes to conferences where there is notes taking.
A future that maybe could be incorporated would be a web cam so I am not going to log one with me all the time. But because of the screen twisting future, I think that will be a difficult future to add. Also, the accesories could be less expensive than 20% because we are Toshiba customers Now.
Thanks for putting out a great product.
Meanwhile I am enjoying my Tablet
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent machine

,
Date:June 9, 2007
By norm
from Huntington Station, NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop is a joy to work with...very easy to use, plain simple tutorials and extremely "user-freindly.""
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Best Laptop

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By gmconsulting378
from Beltsville, MD
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great machine. Lightweight and easy to carry everywhere. The battery life is good, too. The best feature to me is the Tablet function and the builtin wireless card. No more lost or damaged cards. In all a great purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great for Real Estate!

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By rita1
from Mission Viejo,CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am a realtor and this tablet computer works great to be mobile- with the built-in verizon card. Also my clients can sign documents and I can email them directly to other agents etc. Great !"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love It

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By Jimco
from Mesa, AZ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love my Portege M-400 Tablet. I work in insurance and take online applications right in my prospect's office and have them sign the application on my tablet and then email it straight to the carrier. Sweet! The built in 3G card from Verizon works great. I can access the Internet anywhere at speeds that are very workable."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The IT Man

,
Date:June 8, 2007
By theitman
from Buffalo, New York
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Protege M400-s4034 Tablet is an awesome unit. I can recommend this for anyone that travels in the air (the size is good for the small space). The unit is also great for presentations to small groups of people. A great Value for the $.
I will be purchasing more of these in the future.
I hope this helps you.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Ratings-Only Reviews for Toshiba Portege M400-S4034 Tablet PC
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 3 out of 3
Features: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Performance: 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5