Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite C55D-A5304

Satellite C55D-A5304

Toshiba Satellite C55D-A5304 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.628 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
6
1 star
5
30 of 43(70%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite C55D-A5304
Review 1 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Low Price High Quality

,
Date:February 16, 2014
By PearlShopper
from Boca Raton, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Remarkably low priced yet fully functional laptop with as large a hard drive and as much memory as a laptop priced hundreds of dollars more. With every feature including a numeric keypad, camera, DVDRW drive, wireless N, USB 3.0, card reader, and HDMI out, it is more than what you need for home, school, or business. This is the best value on the market today. Sorry, but the secret to why it is so inexpensive is that it uses the cheapest available PCU Microprocessor, so if you're a gamer or graphic user, it will disappoint you. Strangely, Toshiba has replaced the function keys with TOSHIBA KEYS. No more Alt-F4 to close any app, no more Shift-F3 to change the case in Word documents, no more F11 full screen Internet Explorer. Instead, all you can do is change the volume or turn on a second screen."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

,
Date:February 15, 2014
By ashize
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It's a great laptop for a really good price. It's made specifically for a single person to use, although it can be used by multiple. The features take some time to get used to for windows 7 users. However, they can be very helpful.
Toshiba is very efficient also. It works very well for regular day to day activities, and the windows 8 gives a wide range for use.
You do have to get used to the sound being different then other computers, however, I think it's pretty good. I had to get used to it for a bit, but I like it overall.
I've already recommended this laptop to one other person and would do so for others as well.
This is a great laptop
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first laptop

,
Date:March 30, 2014
By Ava
from Modesto CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"About to start college and I really needed a laptop that wasn't too expensive, had a CD-ROM drive, headphone jack, good battery life and portable. After extensive research I came across this laptop and purchased it. Set up was fast and easy. Downloading apps was super fast. The screen is 15.6, very big and easy to see. I love Windows 8.Baterry life is 6-7 hours for me till I need to plug it in. At first the sound was awful but after tweaking a few things I am able to listen to music with no problems anymore. I have watched movies on my laptop with no lagging or buffering issues. I am very pleased with this laptop considering its my first."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value laptop

,
Date:February 14, 2014
By Rich
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good laptop for price. Left mouse button too sensitive - causes unintended actions with extremely light touch - like changing zoom. Could find no way to adjust this mouse sensitivity. Fold-down screen has no finger grips to use to raise and lower and is of light enough construction to require extra care in positioning fingers to raise and lower. Case/shell is light plastic requiring extra care in handling. Speakers are adequate but do not produce high quality sound. Battery charge light often shows that battery charge is needed even though I have never used the laptop in battery mode."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

C55D good value for the money

,
Date:March 17, 2014
By Danielle
from Miami, Florida
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Well, I think this model is a good starter computer for everyday basic functions such as online videos, emails, web surfing, etc. With that said, I feel that the machine could operate a lot faster, its not exactly slow, but its not intuitive or lightning fast. Also for a PC operating windows 8 (which I feel is based largely on touch capabilities) operations maybe a bit quirky and frustrating. I feel that if the PC does not have touch capabilities, it should not operate with a touch based windows operation program. It just does work right and can be highly frustrating."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good for the Price

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By TallyShopper
from Tallahassee, FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased this laptop after my HP laptop bit the dust in less than a year. It has a stronger processor than my HP had but seems to run much slower. I'm not sure if it's the Windows8 OS as I had Windows7 previously. It does what I need it to do. There aren't many features to speak of. The charger seems insubstantial and delicate more along the lines of what I'd expect from a lesser known brand. I do like the fact that the fan vent is on the side as opposed to the bottom of the laptop. I intend to replace this laptop when finances permit."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Avoid this computer

,
Date:March 9, 2014
By FrenchDressing
from Fort Myers, Fl
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"We are a Mac family but I needed to run Access. I thought it would be better to buy a cheap laptop rather than install windows on my wife's 5 year old Mac Book. Boy was I ever wrong. this thing is so slow it almost runs backwards. It doesn't even come with Bluetooth. I didn't know that they even make computers without Bluetooth. Surfing the internet with my 7 year old Mac Mini is much better than this. Maybe its Windows fault but then they should not sell it with windows installed."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba Satellite P745-54217

,
Date:February 9, 2014
By flagday1960
from Dupo, IL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"4/5 stars. Works "well" except for mid-screen cursor freeze. Enormously difficult to unlock(or "damaging" as one fix is "restore computer to 'out-of-box' condition", i.e., wipe out everything back to o-o-b condition (bye-bye photos/music). That problem has been a pox on my house. I should not HAVE to read stale and useless tech 'blogs from 2006 where users complain about the same problem (always w/ inanely "simple" but ineffective "fixes")."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 9 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor battery performance , etc.

,
Date:February 12, 2014
By Spidermonkey Joe
from Cinci, OH
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I am disappointed that the battery life is so short. My daughter can not even watch a movie on it without plugging in. Also, seems that Windows 8 taxes the available memory to the point that it is always freezing up and warning that system resources are critically low.
This machine would probably be a fine performer with Windows XP, but it comes with Windows 8. Very nearly useless in its current configuration."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not happy!

,
Date:April 2, 2014
By yeafaith
from Cincinnati
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This new computer was a gift from dear friends.
Sadly it is total let down
Unlike Apple which is simple yet sophisticated this laptop is impossible.
From the first day I turned it on, nothing made sense, nothing is easy and I still have major issues.. Programs close randomly while in use, things are difficult to navigate and very hard to find.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great for the money!

,
Date:March 2, 2014
By Sonnyblu42
from Englewood, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My only issue is processor power and speed... just loading photos at sometimes can become laborious. However... For the price point and a absolutely great battery life (6 hours) I have no complaints. I needed a new laptop and quick... and this was there and right at the price I wanted to pay... including tax!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible video card

,
Date:February 20, 2014
By Kat23
from Chicago, IL
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I bought this laptop b/c my other laptop is over 7 years old. The video is HORRIBLE. I literally have been using my old laptop for video and I am starting to wonder why I even bought this laptop! It is slow and the video quality is horrible. maybe my video card is bad but i've never seen it like this."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:February 19, 2014
By Buckshot00
from Iowa
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Does every thing I need or want out of a laptop but windows 8.1 has been difficult to learn. Probably would not have gotten 8.1 if I knew it did not work with POP email. Not the computers fault. Very good price!!!!!!!!!!!! Only thing would be a better instruction manual and more info on 8.1"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great/quality/excellent

,
Date:February 24, 2014
By frankie
from wisconsin
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great product from what I can tell.This is my first lap-top and being not so good on computers it is very easy to use.Great features included like, a disc drive,web cam, sound recorder, etc. Plus many more built in. Good price value, and I would recommend this unit to everyone."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy & good solid technology

,
Date:February 19, 2014
By Jon - California
from American Canyon, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Had other manufacturer laptops over the years and this is a return Toshiba. Forgot how they are good at design and build. Great screen and with this model, it is nice to have the number keypad now onboard. Will plan to replace another family member's PC with this model as well."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop, But Slow

,
Date:February 14, 2014
By Susan
from Iowa
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The title says it all. It's a great laptop for kids probably, but anyone who needs speed shouldn't purchase it. For what i use it for it's ok. I would like it a little faster for gaming. It's great for regular stuff. Best quality for the price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 17 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good laptop

,
Date:August 16, 2014
By mssfire
from west falls, ny
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Overall this laptop is good...but am starting to have problems with keys sticking, and it's only been a month!! Also it seems to be slow in loading things. Other than that, the screen is outstanding, and the other features are good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Drivers For W7

,
Date:February 23, 2014
By Tininho
from Brazil
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop I acquired came with W8.
For my use I prefer W7,and it was very difficult to acquire those drivers. It was a hard work but I could do it.
The Toshiba home page does not provide drivers for W7 for this laptop.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

worst laptop ever

,
Date:February 19, 2014
By musicman
from United states of america
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The processor is too slow, the USB drivers don't recognize my MP3 player, not enough memory for my everyday use. This might have been the cheapest laptop on the market but I still expected better than this."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite C55D-A5304
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Not HAPPY

,
Date:March 3, 2014
By chinadoll
from los angeles, CA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Speakers are terrible, runs slow only have had the laptop 30 days and have not download anything. (afraid to) dull screen not very sharp. I guess you get what you pay for."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year