Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite L55-A5284

Satellite L55-A5284

Toshiba Satellite L55-A5284 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.692 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
18 of 26(69%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite L55-A5284
Review 1 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

on month

,
Date:October 11, 2014
By Dj
from pittsburgh,pa
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far so good, not the best but very good for price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not a fan... :(

,
Date:April 26, 2014
By Iviaroko
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I wanted a Gamming Laptop, and. I knew the graphics card was not good, but I thought it could be changed. :( sad story. Knew that very late, after contacting technical support.
I'm planning on selling it and get another laptop with a better graphics card.
Aside from that is a very good laptop, good for business and media editing."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

All's well EXCEPT...

,
Date:April 15, 2014
By Unhappy Camper
from Tampa, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is an otherwise excellent value laptop, but one thing just kills me and I'm so frustrated with it that I have to give it a 1 Star rating.
The touchpad is absolutely horrendous! It is not recessed at all and it's impossible to type without unintentionally touching its surface. Barely touching it while typing sometimes shifts the cursor to a completely unexpected place. Imagine you're typing a bunch of text and suddenly you realize your text is inserted in the middle of previous text, somewhere!
I downloaded and installed the latest Synaptic driver, etc., but it doesn't make any difference. I don't know why, but it seems that I experience this problem more frequently while I'm on Microsoft Outlook or Word, etc., than on a web browser.
Bottom line, I'm very, very unhappy with this purchase. I had thought better of Toshiba laptops before, but not any more.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

laptop

,
Date:April 10, 2014
By junebug
from AL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I think the laptop will be fine. My concern is that there are pre-loaded software items, along with anit-virus that I really can't use unless purchased. I would rather not have them. I'm trying to figure out how to delete them completely. I liked the days when "pre-loaded" needed software was already installed for use at purchase with no extra charge."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Humm I must have heavy fingers

,
Date:April 7, 2014
By Mom
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My new laptop seems to react so quickly to my finger on the mouse pad. I barely touch it and the page flicks or changes with out I wanting it to. I have searched for the settings, but I am getting better at barely touching it, but its frustrating trying to not open something and it does. So if you are going through emails and you happen to go across one and it opens with out you wanting it to..... you have to ask what if that email had a virus it happens so quick. I don't really like this lap top. The right and left keys are not easy to push as they are a part of the whole mouse pad and you have to push hard just to get a reaction feels like it will break."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the speed

,
Date:April 4, 2014
By Baron
from Spring Hill FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The battery life is good. The speed is awesome. It does not generate a lot of heat, I can sit it on my lap to use it for extended periods of time without any problem. It is light weight and very portable.
One irritant is the keyboard touch. It is significantly stiffer than my old machine (not a Toshiba) and I find many keystrokes not being recorded. Maybe I will adjust to this."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice laptop

,
Date:March 28, 2014
By Basibob
from Belcamp, md
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good unit, not too heavy, battery. Life could be better, but screen s awesome!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Almost perfect but one nagging issue

,
Date:March 27, 2014
By skywatcher
from Tampa, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is sleek and much lighter than my old Dell 14" laptop. It never seems to get "hot", either. Keyboard is nice to use except that the Function keys must be used in conjunction with Fn key. I would have reversed that where screen brightness control, etc., should be used with the Fn key.
One nagging problem is the touchpad. It's too wide and too sensitive. It's almost impossible to type without accidentally "touching" the area. It is not indented, either, and it's so prone to unintende touching, which causes havoc with some minor but still irritating problems.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Value

,
Date:March 26, 2014
By Pete
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Get it!"
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Touch Screen

,
Date:March 17, 2014
By Cinderella
from Salisbury, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I love the touch screen feature along with the keyboard. This is my first laptop and I am loving it. The keyboard is easy to use also. I am very pleased with this purchase so far. It has been easy for me to figure out and use. It is going to be great for my business and personal use. I like the features on the start page, especially the weather and health and fitness information."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

new to using laptop

,
Date:March 16, 2014
By mag
from ct
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"only been using computer for about 1 month. only issue has been battery life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

laptop

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By sgf
from ca
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have a laptop running windows 8 and I think the windows 8 operating system stinks, I am thinking about taking the laptop back. It will not download my HP printer software and other problems."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laptop Disappoints

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By Mr. Long Island
from Long Island NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought my Toshiba Laptop sight unseen because I had so much success with the Toshiba laptop I bought three years ago. It has taken me sometime to get used to the new laptop. The "mouse buttons" are much harder to use than the buttons on my previous laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop Ever

,
Date:March 9, 2014
By CarolinaGirl
from Orangeburg, SC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Slick keyboard, easy to handle, easy to understand, it's outstanding, I Love it"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent machine

,
Date:March 5, 2014
By rossicane brazil
from Piracicaba, SP - Brazil
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I think this computer is the best I have ever have. It works fast, good performance, good battery life and has a good price compared to the market."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great value

,
Date:March 3, 2014
By hwlnwulf
from NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far I've been quite pleased with this laptop.The performance is good and it was an easy transition to Windows 8.1. It does everything I need and the Toshiba help software answered any questions I had to get used to it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor design and functionality

,
Date:March 1, 2014
By Keonaona
from Lodi, CA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"All Mouse pads have their issues but this one is extremely poor. The sensitivity is all messed up and sometimes just does not work at all. I had to purchase a wireless mouse and carry it with me.
Key pad is also a problem. Letter keys have been sticking from day one. Certain letters may or may not work when typed.
Toshiba sacrificed quite a bit in their attempt to give a sleek design. The battery life is the worst I have ever seen, it is almost as if you are recharging the old lead acid batteries that takes 8 hours to charge for 1 hour of use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop & Great Value

,
Date:February 22, 2014
By Ordinary Average User
from NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is light, runs fast, and is easy to use. It runs quietly and the fan is barely audible when it's running. Screen has bright, clean images and sound is good, with high enough volume for entertainment. Raised keyboard is well-spaced with large print on the keys, making them even easier to see and while there is no backlight, it's unnecessary. Great to have the 10-key on the side. Caps & Num locks have small lights on them when in use. Touchpad is no trouble, but I use a wireless mouse and still have 2 USB ports to spare, as well as several others (HDMI, network, SD, 15-pin RGB Monitor) that are helpful for everything."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By Cindy
from Cooperstown, PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have had this laptop for awhile now and I have totally enjoyed working with it and using it for my personal work. It has wonderful features and connects easily to whatever extra things I need....USB ports, printers, copiers, etc. Great laptop to use!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite L55-A5284
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

owner of a terrible laptop

,
Date:February 16, 2014
By owner of a terrible laptop
from San diego, CA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"completely dissatified."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month