Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite S55-A5295

Satellite S55-A5295

Toshiba Satellite S55-A5295 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.933 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(30 Reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (30 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
11
3 stars
3
2 stars
5
1 star
0
22 of 30(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite S55-A5295
Review 1 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Downgraded

,
Date:April 5, 2014
By AHS82Mike
from Alliance OH
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Once I removed Win8.1 and installed Win7 Pro this thing is awesome. Hated Win8!!!!"
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ditch Windows 8

,
Date:March 29, 2014
By JohnVermont
from Brattleboro, VT
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I found that I had made the wrong decision in buying a Windows 8 laptop and returned the product for a full refund. Windows 8 is terrible ... I would continue to recommend Toshiba products, but not unconditionally. Stay away from Windows 8 at all costs. Get a screen that can do high-enough definition for your needs. Make sure you can change out the battery or re-set the machine without taking it to a tech for service. Get a 7200 rpm hard drive ... the hard drive speed is the 'weak link' in a laptop's performance. Above all, buy a machine whose performance and user interfaces are well-suited to your own individual needs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great buy

,
Date:March 22, 2014
By smoovcriminal
from West Hartford, Ct
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lite and very userfriendly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my first best laptop

,
Date:March 21, 2014
By janet
from schenectady,NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is my first tiime i have a laptop and is great i like it alot i used for my school and love it speed is great and easy to work i recommend to everyone get a laptop like this ."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of MANY of my Toshiba laptop purchases

,
Date:March 18, 2014
By sjv
from Eastern part of the USA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Can't understand why Toshiba did away with the hard drive activity light on the S55-A5295 - which I make reference to quite frequently - on my other computers. This may be a determining factor in my next laptop purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 6 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my new laptop

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By Dawnygrl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I like the computer but it seems to be very slow downloading stuff and i need to purchase a dual wireless router because the system only has 2.4 ghz band not 5 ghz this is something i think should be in the computer already especially at the price that i paid for it and you have to get a specific one because there aren't many that ate compatible with windows 8.1 besides that i like the system"
Review 7 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my laptop

,
Date:March 2, 2014
By lib Posey
from Graniteville ,SC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i did not like the laptop when I first tried to use it. I did not like Windows 8 at all. I had to have my laptop set back to Windows 7 now I am very happy with it. love my laptop now."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great desktop replacement

,
Date:February 23, 2014
By Rick
from Worcester, MA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this brand for the good looks and the expected performance of a computer with 12gb RAM and a 1TB drive. I was pleased to find that the performance far exceeded my expectations. Startup and shutdown are lightning fast. There has been no detectable slowdown with my anti virus program installed. Windows 8 was an initial distraction until I learned where to find my familiar tuning tools. Perfect solution for someone who needs a powerful desktop computer, but also needs the portability of a laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Impressed

,
Date:February 22, 2014
By Grumpy
from OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this computer for a 1st year mechanical engineering student,it only lasted 6 months.Found out the hard drive was bad and had to replace it.The company sent me a new hard drive but I had to purchase the recovery stuck.I would have thought for the money that this would last longer than 6 months.Had to buy another laptop for him .Think this one will be on e bay soon!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Windows 8 destorys usablity of wonderful computer

,
Date:February 22, 2014
By bear
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cloud systems are not available in many areas. Hidden icons causes lost of work when accidently hit. Hidden icons then do not work when you are trying to make use of them.
Only problem with hardware is battery is not removable by user for fast change out for charged battery when working away from plug in power.
Returned computer after losing in progress work several times in few days.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 11 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I hate Windows 8

,
Date:February 21, 2014
By Mickey
from Elk Grove Village, IL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have used previous Windows programs and have never had a problem. I wish I had bought a Toshiba computer with Windows 7.
I bought Toshiba computers in the past and have liked them, and it is difficult to separate the trouble I have using Windows 8 with rating the Toshiba. This computer is fast, but even moving fast, I often move fast to nowhere. Help! Both my wife and I would rather use our very old Toshiba computer and put up with its slow speed, just ot be able to move around to where we want to go, with relative ease.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop, low price.

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By CJ
from Upstate , New York
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My new Toshiba appears to be well built, has the hardware I wanted with a better chipset and 12 GB of Ram, it is fairly quick, have not yet used it to it's maximum performance. I am not a fan of the small control keys across the top, and would have liked to see an flashing indicator when the hard drive is being accessed. Win 8 and 8.1 are not as pleasant to use as Win 7."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, Except

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By SherIN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop performs well so far after approximately one month of use. I really like the backlit keyboard feature. It is sleek and lightweight. It sometimes seems a little slow for having such a powerful processor.
The BIG problem for me is that the battery is not user replaceable! If I had known that I would not have purchased it no matter how good the sale was. I absolutely dread finding out how much it is going to cost to replace the battery when the time comes.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good speed, impossible interface

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By Shalom
from Rochester NY
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The lack of touch screen makes this laptop a real clunker with Windows 8. If you can get it with Win. 7 - it will be a pretty good machine. However a Win 8 machine without a LARGE touch area is just extremely hard to use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

first Toshiba product & laptop

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By Paul
from New Bern, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far, I like the machine, but having to get used to Windows 8.1. Do NOT like the Toshiba support I've tried to get so far. Toshiba tells me that updates are available, but I'm having trouble deciding what to download, and in what order. One download was half done, when it told me to uninstall the one it was replacing. During the uninstall, the computer re-started. No I don't have the foggiest what/if anything was installed. I receintly was told a new Bios was available. I couldn't do anything at that time due to time constraints. Now I don't know where to find those changes. Toshiba has to have some way for new owners to communicate with you--either online (chat room) or by phone."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba performance

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By Den L
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I feel the hard drive and RAM were big enough for what I wanted to do with it. I loaded numerous programs on with no problem. I cut several disks. Works great."
Review 17 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba Satellite s55-a5295

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By Riverrat
from Western NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the laptop and HATE Windows 8. Should have come with Windows 7."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I Dislike Windows 8 immensly!

,
Date:February 17, 2014
By XP lover
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have not upgraded since a bad experience with Vista. I stopped using the computer because I didn't have the patience to deal with the constant pop-ups asking if I really wanted to perform a task. I suppose it is my fault for shying away from technology because I really like and am comfortable with a certain platform. Anyway, I dislike the apps screen and am still trying to figure out how to put things on my home screen that looks like the old XP. I realize that technology progresses daily, but would it be so hard to include an instruction manual in the box? The "mouse" pad doesn't seem to read in certain areas so you sit there waiting for a page to load and then you realize you didn't actually do anything. I don't like how if you run your finger over the mouse pad that it switches screens. I don't like that the options of the "start" on the right hand side occasionally stay on when you don't want it and disappears when you are trying to select an option. I think I am happy with the computer, but due to the operating system, it is hard to tell."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great laptop

,
Date:February 10, 2014
By Hans
from Port St Lucie, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It works fantastically well, clear and fast. I have had no problems with it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Perfect for Engineering

,
Date:February 10, 2014
By Jordan
from Summerville, SC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am an engineering student and every program that I have needed to run has run efficiently and without any hiccups."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year