Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite S55-A5295

Satellite S55-A5295

Toshiba Satellite S55-A5295 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
4.028 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
0
28 of 36(78%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite S55-A5295
Review 1 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Toshiba laptop

,
Date:July 14, 2014
By Steelworker
from Leechburg Pa
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Since putting all microsoft and toshiba updates in, certain features and pages no longer work. Very frustrating paying all that money and it doesn't work as it should. Should I expect these features to be fixed in subsequent "Updates"?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba is the best!

,
Date:May 23, 2014
By Lindagg
from San Antonio tx
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I first began with Gateway laptop, but when I looked online I kept seeing good reviews on Toshibas. I was not happy with Gateway because for some reason their screen stops working after only a few months. I tried Asus and it got too hot. I finally took a chance on toshiba Satalite and what a wonder! I love my Toshibas! I recommend them to everyone. staples has great prices on then and they are worth more than you pay for them. Great machine!!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 3 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop I have seen.

,
Date:May 15, 2014
By Heart-Nightranger
from Chattanooga, TN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have researched laptops before I bought this one and it is the best for the money out there. The machine runs VERY smooth and VERY fast no matter what I have done."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Needed help and got it

,
Date:May 8, 2014
By Retired Executive
from Newburgh IN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the computer but had a problem today. I used it on battery and forgot to plug it back in until this morning and it would not charge and was not able to be used. I contacted live chat and Dennis walked me through the process of restarting it. I'm totally convinced that Dennis is a genius. Thanks Toshiba."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I keep coming back.

,
Date:May 4, 2014
By Alpo
from Hudson Valley, NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had a series of Toshiba satellite laptops in succession because they just perform as I would expect them to. One was a refurb and it lasted 5 yrs. The current one has a ton of features that I wasn't looking for but love: e.g. raised keys, lighted keyboard. But it is loaded with memory and power (1TB HD, 12 GB RAM) for a great price. My only nit is the new design that I see a lot where the finger pad is in one piece with the right and left buttons. I hate that. Toshiba is not the only one to use this design, but lazy fingers can create many more inadvertent errors now."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Product @ Great Price

,
Date:May 3, 2014
By bnodom
from Pikeville, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far so good. I am enjoying my new laptop!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Downgraded

,
Date:April 5, 2014
By AHS82Mike
from Alliance OH
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Once I removed Win8.1 and installed Win7 Pro this thing is awesome. Hated Win8!!!!"
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Ditch Windows 8

,
Date:March 29, 2014
By JohnVermont
from Brattleboro, VT
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I found that I had made the wrong decision in buying a Windows 8 laptop and returned the product for a full refund. Windows 8 is terrible ... I would continue to recommend Toshiba products, but not unconditionally. Stay away from Windows 8 at all costs. Get a screen that can do high-enough definition for your needs. Make sure you can change out the battery or re-set the machine without taking it to a tech for service. Get a 7200 rpm hard drive ... the hard drive speed is the 'weak link' in a laptop's performance. Above all, buy a machine whose performance and user interfaces are well-suited to your own individual needs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

great buy

,
Date:March 22, 2014
By smoovcriminal
from West Hartford, Ct
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Lite and very userfriendly."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

my first best laptop

,
Date:March 21, 2014
By janet
from schenectady,NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this is my first tiime i have a laptop and is great i like it alot i used for my school and love it speed is great and easy to work i recommend to everyone get a laptop like this ."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

One of MANY of my Toshiba laptop purchases

,
Date:March 18, 2014
By sjv
from Eastern part of the USA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Can't understand why Toshiba did away with the hard drive activity light on the S55-A5295 - which I make reference to quite frequently - on my other computers. This may be a determining factor in my next laptop purchase."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 12 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

my new laptop

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By Dawnygrl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I like the computer but it seems to be very slow downloading stuff and i need to purchase a dual wireless router because the system only has 2.4 ghz band not 5 ghz this is something i think should be in the computer already especially at the price that i paid for it and you have to get a specific one because there aren't many that ate compatible with windows 8.1 besides that i like the system"
Review 13 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my laptop

,
Date:March 2, 2014
By lib Posey
from Graniteville ,SC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i did not like the laptop when I first tried to use it. I did not like Windows 8 at all. I had to have my laptop set back to Windows 7 now I am very happy with it. love my laptop now."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great desktop replacement

,
Date:February 23, 2014
By Rick
from Worcester, MA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this brand for the good looks and the expected performance of a computer with 12gb RAM and a 1TB drive. I was pleased to find that the performance far exceeded my expectations. Startup and shutdown are lightning fast. There has been no detectable slowdown with my anti virus program installed. Windows 8 was an initial distraction until I learned where to find my familiar tuning tools. Perfect solution for someone who needs a powerful desktop computer, but also needs the portability of a laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Not Impressed

,
Date:February 22, 2014
By Grumpy
from OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this computer for a 1st year mechanical engineering student,it only lasted 6 months.Found out the hard drive was bad and had to replace it.The company sent me a new hard drive but I had to purchase the recovery stuck.I would have thought for the money that this would last longer than 6 months.Had to buy another laptop for him .Think this one will be on e bay soon!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Windows 8 destorys usablity of wonderful computer

,
Date:February 22, 2014
By bear
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Cloud systems are not available in many areas. Hidden icons causes lost of work when accidently hit. Hidden icons then do not work when you are trying to make use of them.
Only problem with hardware is battery is not removable by user for fast change out for charged battery when working away from plug in power.
Returned computer after losing in progress work several times in few days.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 17 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

I hate Windows 8

,
Date:February 21, 2014
By Mickey
from Elk Grove Village, IL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I have used previous Windows programs and have never had a problem. I wish I had bought a Toshiba computer with Windows 7.
I bought Toshiba computers in the past and have liked them, and it is difficult to separate the trouble I have using Windows 8 with rating the Toshiba. This computer is fast, but even moving fast, I often move fast to nowhere. Help! Both my wife and I would rather use our very old Toshiba computer and put up with its slow speed, just ot be able to move around to where we want to go, with relative ease.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop, low price.

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By CJ
from Upstate , New York
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My new Toshiba appears to be well built, has the hardware I wanted with a better chipset and 12 GB of Ram, it is fairly quick, have not yet used it to it's maximum performance. I am not a fan of the small control keys across the top, and would have liked to see an flashing indicator when the hard drive is being accessed. Win 8 and 8.1 are not as pleasant to use as Win 7."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, Except

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By SherIN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop performs well so far after approximately one month of use. I really like the backlit keyboard feature. It is sleek and lightweight. It sometimes seems a little slow for having such a powerful processor.
The BIG problem for me is that the battery is not user replaceable! If I had known that I would not have purchased it no matter how good the sale was. I absolutely dread finding out how much it is going to cost to replace the battery when the time comes.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite S55-A5295
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Good speed, impossible interface

,
Date:February 18, 2014
By Shalom
from Rochester NY
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The lack of touch screen makes this laptop a real clunker with Windows 8. If you can get it with Win. 7 - it will be a pretty good machine. However a Win 8 machine without a LARGE touch area is just extremely hard to use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month