Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite C55-A5281

Satellite C55-A5281

Toshiba Satellite C55-A5281 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (42 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
18
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
3
27 of 42(64%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite C55-A5281
Review 1 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

few programs included

,
Date:April 17, 2014
By neveragain
from florida
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Microsoft 8 is lousy. Few programs are included. Cheaply made computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop

,
Date:April 14, 2014
By delray
from Jefferson City Mo
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good value, so has met my expectations and working well with windows 8.1"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great

,
Date:April 10, 2014
By BabyGirl
from Escanaba Mi
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love windows 8.1 i dont have a problem with it yet and i hope i dont"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love it!

,
Date:April 2, 2014
By Grandmacheryl
from Haltom City, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My laptop was a birthday gift from my brother and sister-in-law. It is very user-friendly, and that is definitely a plus for me. The superb resolution is really a bonus for watching movies."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Working Well So Far

,
Date:March 29, 2014
By Rick
from Catskills of New York
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Satisfied with performance of computer, but still struggling getting used to Windows 8. This is not a bad reflection on the computer, just the operating system."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 6 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I hate Windows 8!

,
Date:March 29, 2014
By CJ
from Cincinnati, OH
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"The laptop is a bit on the heavy side for traveling. I absolutely hate Windows 8! You should be able to still get Windows 7."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

awesome Laptop

,
Date:March 28, 2014
By Jewels
from Pompano Beach, Fl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like this laptop. I'm still learning it but overall it's awesome :)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My Toshiba Lap top

,
Date:March 27, 2014
By Mike
from Odessa,TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like it very much, how ever the rebate thing is hard, still waiting on it, Mike, Odessa, TX."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My second Toshiba

,
Date:March 27, 2014
By Jack
from Northridge
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is good in every aspect except for Windows 8 and during typing, the P letter requires more pressure than the others. Without that extra pressure P might not come out"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good laptop

,
Date:March 26, 2014
By arkiegal
from Paris, AR
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I like the Toshiba Laptop. The mouse plug in and the power cord plugs into awkward places on the laptop. They always seem to be in the way, especially the mouse connection. It is right where the mouse sits."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Date:March 16, 2014
By charlie
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I don't know if it is the computer or the apps. but I would never have bought this product if I had know that using and adding things would be this much of a problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

my opinion

,
Date:March 15, 2014
By emr
from kcmo
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Had I known the pc required 8.0 or 8.1 I would not have purchased. the speed has not increased and there is little support"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Support

,
Date:March 15, 2014
By RK
from Flagstaff, AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the LapTop, Hate Windows 8. This Laptop is not a touch screen system and I find it very hard to navigate from one screen to another. One problem, I could not load windows one day. I tried the on line support to no avail, then I called Toshiba support and she had me up and running again within 5 min. Thanks, Toshiba !!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ok machine

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By beaclan
from Tulsa, Ok
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I don't have any real dislikes about the Toshiba except two items. First, I would like another USB port. Second, I would like for it to have blue tooth. Since it doesn't, I have to use a USB device and it uses one of my blue tooth ports. I didn't like Windows 8 so I got a copy of Windows 7 and replaced it with it. Luckily, you had all the drivers I needed but your website was fairly cryptic about which ones I needed to use. I was finally able to figure it out but it took me a couple of days to get it right. I'm still not sure if I got the graphics driver correct but it seems to be working ok. It is not as high a resolution as I would like it though. Speed and battery life are fine. The only other gripe is that plastic seems a little brittle to me. Not sure if it can adequately protect the devices."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:March 14, 2014
By ptmickey
from Stockton, NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love this laptop, replaced an old XP based clunker and what a difference. This is lighter, faster, easier to use than my 5 year old Dell. I had trouble getting used to Windows 8 but after a week got used to it. Still dont like the Toshiba software shell though; it seems to battle with Windows 8 when loading software. Had a very hard time loading MS Office because of the Toshiba window blocking Windows, but after a few days got it working. Still overall would buy this again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:March 13, 2014
By 3Bear
from Sparks, NV
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Toshiba Laptop is a great piece of equipment. Just don't care for the Windows 8 operating system."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Enjoying this laptop

,
Date:March 10, 2014
By GiGi
from GA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am enjoying this laptop, it is light weight and easy to use as I am learning the Windofws 8 Love the longer battery life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:March 8, 2014
By EaglesFan
from Reading, PA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got my Toshiba laptop at Staples at a discount. The laptop has performed very well. It has all the features that I could want. The computer is pretty fast, the apps work well, and the computer has good graphics and sound quality. The only downside would be the computer's glossy surface. It looks nice at first, but finger prints could be seen easily. I love my Toshiba laptop so far and would buy it again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

awlful

,
Date:March 7, 2014
By do not have one
from Manteo,NC
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I have one and I purchased a new one that I DO NOT like at all."
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

new laptop

,
Date:March 6, 2014
By andy
from Hughson,Ca
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"convenient perfect size optimal learning time to master windows 8 able to transfer old computer data onto new one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year