Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite C55-A5281

Satellite C55-A5281

Toshiba Satellite C55-A5281 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.642 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
26
3 stars
14
2 stars
7
1 star
4
44 of 67(66%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite C55-A5281
Review 1 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:July 6, 2014
By Big B
from Moreno Valley, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good unit

,
Date:June 27, 2014
By papa
from new bedford,MA.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I needed a replacement for my dell, this was on sale at Staples so I thought I'd try it. Glad I did."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

EXCELLANT LAPTOP

,
Date:June 27, 2014
By SHA
from Dayton,NJ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This customer did not provide a text review.
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:June 22, 2014
By EileenMax
from Moses Lake, WA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is just what I expected of Toshiba. Wonderful quality! The only issue I have is the placement of the touchpad. I was thrilled that they reinstated the side number pad as it makes it that much easier to enter numbers. The problem is that they centered the touchpad on the standard keyboard instead of centering it on the laptop. This leads to constantly hitting the right side which causes the side screen to open."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love it so far

,
Date:June 21, 2014
By Sami
from Ontario, Canada
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this laptop for about a month now, (I received it as a graduation present) and I have no complaints. It is nice and neat looking, and the keyboard is great! Easy to type on. The laptop will be put to the test this fall though, when I start college. I wish it came with Microsoft office or documents though. It has Evernote, which I haven't figured out how to save my notes as a document yet (or if it even has that ability)
Overall, good laptop. I like Toshiba so far.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Connection Issues with the Default Gateway

,
Date:June 17, 2014
By pcgoddess
from Sacramento, CA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is a problem with the Toshibas, I have read on many forums about it not staying connected to the network. I am online around an hour or less and my network connection goes down. It says to update the drivers, but that did not work. Constantly having to diagnose my internet connection and it then says it fixes the "Default Gateway not found" and then my internet connection comes back up. This problem is not with my home connection, the other members of my family are not having issues with their connectivity."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

It was a good buy

,
Date:June 16, 2014
By Fred
from South, Intiana
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I like the computer. There have been no problems other then getting used to Windows 8, which I do not like. So far it seems to be better, faster then my old HP."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

a good decision

,
Date:June 14, 2014
By tc
from Bowling Green, Ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The new laptop is a replacement for an old 2009 model which crashed. What I like about the new one is the long battery life and the improvement in speed. I am learning to use Windows 8 the new to me operating system and intend to use theToshiba website to get my questions answered and issues resolved. Glad I chose this particular model because I am able to manage the bells and whistles without creating the black pit of no return... where I have been before with the old laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:June 14, 2014
By Sam
from Indianapolis, IN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Keys are positioned slightly different on this keyboard from others. Takes some getting used to. Otherwise, fine."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Date:June 10, 2014
By HERBIE
from SOTH LOS ANGELES CA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"DOES NOT HAVE A DVD PLAYER IS SLOWER THAN MY OLD LAPTOP"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Like laptop - hate Windows 8

,
Date:June 8, 2014
By Mason's gram
from Oswego, NY
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have no complaints yet about my new Toshiba laptop itself but do not like Windows 8 at all. I am finally learning how to do some things on it, but this 71 yr. old lady is having a hard time with it. Also, don't know if it's the computer or the Windows 8, but things like "driver not working" and other pop ups show up and sometimes I have a hard time getting rid of them. So many questions and hard to get answers. As I said computer ok, but not the software."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent product at a fair price.

,
Date:June 6, 2014
By unclehoser
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Computer seems to run well but the speakers are very bad."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laptop

,
Date:June 2, 2014
By Lewous
from VA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop is terrific...Windows 8 is horrible!:("
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not recommend this product

,
Date:May 30, 2014
By Cat
from Baltimore, Maryland
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Windows 8.0 is awful. You have no options to turn it off or downgrade it. Windows 8.1 is not any better. I hate cloud storage, the lack of accountability or privacy, so you cannot pay bills or enter sensitive information. The applications cannot be turned off and the desktop cannot be customized. I am currently "piece-mealing" foreign parts together to create my own laptop and VPN and eliminating these products from my life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Nice laptop for the money, but.....

,
Date:May 26, 2014
By Disappointed buyer
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I needed an inexpensive laptop quick so I didn't do my usual research and just bought what Staples had on sale.
PROS: 1. The graphics are nice (keep in mind I'm not a gamer or big video downloader) 2. Like having the numeric keypad back on the right of the keyboard. 3. Price was exactly right!!
Cons: 1. The keys don't always register when pressed. This makes typing difficult. Ok for personal email and the web, but would be a deal breaker for student or business use. 2. There isn't much definition between each individual key. If I am using the laptop in the evening as the room is getting dark, it is difficult to keep your fingers on the ASDF JKL: positions. I am a proficient keyborder, but the F and J keys don't have a very pronounced ridge and it is easy to find your fingers drifting from one key to the next. 3. The audio is very tinny and cheap sounding. Don't buy this laptop if you plan on listening to music or watching TV/Movies on it.
Since I was short on time, I was decided not to take the laptop back and upgrade to a better model. I will put up with the drawbacks since laptops seem to be disposable these days and plan better when I need another new one in a couple of years."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

does the job

,
Date:May 24, 2014
By me
from Mo
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am no computer geek. This laptop does what I need it to do. I am playing games from pogo w/ no problems. The only problem is the charge doesn't last as long at it says. Other wise no complaints. Windows 8 is a learning process which is no big deal."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works great

,
Date:May 22, 2014
By Babs
from N. Fort Myers, Fl
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Since I'm not techy it took me a day or two to get the feel, but once I figured it out, works great."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Basic PC

,
Date:May 22, 2014
By Pat
from Maidens, VA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I wanted an inexpensive PC with enough horsepower to support a particular requirement. It seems to do that OK so far.
The keyboard sensitivity is poor and the sound quality is awful. Otherwise it seems to be OK to do what I bought it for."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love my laptop!

,
Date:May 19, 2014
By Dee
from West Point,CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My Toshiba is the first laptop I have owned. I didn't like the reviews of the popular HP and Dell and was drawn to the Toshiba. I love my laptop--my only frustration is getting use to Windows 8.1! I'm getting there! After I bought my Toshiba I had several confirmations after that that I had made a wise decision!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite C55-A5281
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

terrible laptop

,
Date:May 17, 2014
By PALADIN50
from latrobe,pa
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"i hate windows 8 and i can' find anything on the computer"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year