Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite S855-S5165

Satellite S855-S5165

Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.839 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 62
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
23
4 stars
26
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
9
47 of 62(76%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite S855-S5165
Review 1 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Equipment, Bad OS

,
Date:May 4, 2013
By DM
from Chandler, AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this laptop mainly for school, but I am also a long-time developer, network administrator, and heavy video processor. It does beautifully running Photoshop and Visual Studio concurrently, and is easy enough to use. I'll admit being weary of Windows 8 - I'm a Linux/Android lover and it just seemed like a skinned version of Windows 7.
But to be honest, it was not that difficult to learn Windows 8. The main problem is that the laptop comes with Windows 8 and not Windows 8 Pro. There are many, many limitations on Windows 8 that are not listed when you purchase the laptop. For example, you cannot join a local domain (so if you've got networked computers, they will be unavailable unless running windows 7 or higher due to a lack of "homegroup" functionality in previous versions). The user account security cannot be completely disabled without breaking the Windows Store. You cannot execute unsigned scripts without booting into a special instance of Windows and then that script will only function until you restart again, so things like MagicDisk will never function properly. And if you're an administrator, you'll need another Remote Desktop solution because the built in one is disabled.
That aside, the laptop functions beautifully. If you can, I'd recommend downgrading to Windows 7. It is rather unfortunate that they have chosen to ship their products with an inferior version of the OS, as the additional investment of Windows 8 Pro would have made this product a 10."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent work machine

,
Date:April 24, 2013
By pajo
from NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is a super fast machine with excellent wifi reception. Compared to older wifi machines in our house, this one takes the same 'low signal' as a 5 bar strong signal. 12 GB RAM with a fast processor does wonders when you're running the new Office Professional suite with 15 -20 windows open (Excel and Skype included in the mix) and NOTHING hangs or pauses. Talk about instant gratification. I heard that gaming isn't the thing with older versions of the S855, but I humbly suggest that they give this one, the 5165 iteration a try. I gave 4 stars for features and battery because honestly, I haven't run it on battery for more than 90 minutes (which used 15%) and haven't give the features a full work out. Windows 8 is a bit of a challenge at first but I got a hint from an IT person that you should hover over the corners of your screen. And in the start screen, a right click will allow you to access all applications (just like the old start button that used to live in the lower left corner). Not as intuitive as an i-thing, but you get the hang of it after a couple days."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Toshiba Laptop for Linux users

,
Date:May 26, 2013
By hpc consultant
from California
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop came with Windows 8 installed. Since I am not a Windows user, I have partitioned the hard drive into two sections to install Ubuntu 13.04 on it. I looked at the Windows part only in the first week or so, but it is still there since I can dual boot it to windows any time. It works fine with Ubuntu. Only problem is my wireless connection is not as stable as I wish it should be. Many times, I have to reconnect wireless when it stops responding. May be the wireless driver needs some fix. I don't use for any fancy graphics work. So, I can't comment on it. I wish there is an option to buy laptops with just Linux or no OS on it if the price is going to be cheaper."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Fast & Reliable

,
Date:May 13, 2013
By frankcal20
from Redondo Beach, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this laptop for over a month. Yes it has Windows 8 and I knew going in that it was going to take some getting used to but for me, the computer itself works great. It's me not taking the time to figure out windows 8. I'm not going to knock Toshiba b/c this computer runs it - as does everyone else who's building new systems.
I am able to work on several tasks all the while streaming video or audio without any flaws. Pages loan very fast and process run without any glitches so far. For the money, this is a GREAT computer.
Just be prepared to learn a new operating system but you'll most likely have to anyways if you buy a new computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop for general computing!

,
Date:July 2, 2013
By mikk328i
from Las Vegas, NV
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Toshiba laptop I currently use is an excellent laptop PC for general use. I have owned a forgettable Sony laptop (I forget the model) and two (2) wretched HP laptops. This is the first laptop PC that makes laptop computing a reasonably confident experience. As said above, this is a great laptop for general, or everyday use. If one wants a more exacting and/or robust computing device for gaming, graphics or etc, purchase your computing hardware and its accompanying software appropriately. My only gripe about the laptop is the keyboard keys are not lit."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Deal and Fast

,
Date:May 8, 2013
By RoadwarriorAlex
from Atlanta, GA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this laptop at Costco. I needed a new laptop for work. This is a great laptop with lots of memory, plenty of disk space and a fast CPU. It is great for running business applications such as SQL Server. It is also lighter than the Dell and IBM laptops that my previous employers issued to me. This is great when running through airports. The keyboard is larger and takes some getting used to compared to other tight laptop keyboards but once you are used to it you will actually prefer it. I would buy this laptop again if I needed another one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:May 28, 2013
By Nana of 3
from Millers Creek, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had this laptop for 1 month now. The only problem I have had is learning to navigate Windows 8 as I have never used anything higher than Windows XP Home Edition. Have learned that to effectively use Windows 8 that you must use a mouse if you don't have a touch screen which is not indicated in computer information. For some reason, using the touchpad on the computer does not seem to work as well. Otherwise, would recommend this computer to anyone looking for a new one at a good value."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK Laptop

,
Date:June 28, 2013
By Joanns4angels
from Sacramento, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop is ok. It is fairly difficult to figure out how to use and does not come with great instructions on how to use it. The computer would be fantatstic if it had better step-by-step instructions. This is my second one of the same type because the first one froze up and nothing worked on it. I returned it and got the same computer in hopes that it would be better. Still figuring things out. I am not happy with several things and that is what leads me to this conclusion."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

In relation to

,
Date:April 19, 2013
By Monkey
from Lincoln City, OR
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"In comparison your laptop with WINDOWS 8 is like taking a car driver and selling him an airplane and say have fun. I do not know why a person cannot buy a new laptop and get the programs he is familiar with.
Most people want a new computer because the old computer is so loaded down with junk you cannot get rid of the only way is to buy a new computer but the new computer get loaded down fast because you have no idea how it works.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 10 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop !

,
Date:June 1, 2013
By DaleG
from Santa Rosa CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this Toshiba Satellite 855 laptop at the recommendation of a good friend about 2 months ago. Having been a Dell guy for years, I have been pleasantly surprised. I needed a powerful, but yet afforadble laptop that would handle multiple photo editing software programs. Excellent quality, easy to pack around when necessary, powerful and fast. It only took a day or two to get used to Windows 8. Great laptop - Great Value!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Superb Laptop!

,
Date:May 24, 2013
By Chuck Sr.
from Dahlgren, VA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have had several different brands of laptops, both personal and at work. The Toshiba I currently have is, by far, the best, most versatile laptop I have had to date. The wireless has zero delays, the memory and hard drive combined with the separate video make for smooth transitions between programs and operations. I can't say I am a large fan of Windows 8, but that doesn't seem to slow the Toshiba down, either."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Power House!

,
Date:April 23, 2013
By jimbob
from seattle,wa
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great computer for everyday use from school to work. The Core I7 and 12GB of RAM ensures fast speeds on multiple open apps and great for streaming video or music. 1TB HDD is more then enough for all my movies and music with lots of space left over for future downloads or programs. Bloatware is easily removed and Windows 8 is highly customizable so you get a computer that is you, not someone else."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very Fast Laptop

,
Date:June 2, 2013
By mlieber507
from NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I need a high speed computer for mathematical analysis and photoshop. My Satellite, based on the Intel I7-3630 and 12GB of RAM, fits my needs very well. The display is bright and has enough resolution to provide excellent photo display facilities. My only issue, and it is small, is that Win8 does not have quite as convenient a user interface as Win7. However, this has nothing to do with Toshiba."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Super desktop replacement

,
Date:May 13, 2013
By Retired_Programmer
from Twin Cities, MN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I purchased this notebook as a replacement for my aging desktop system. Performance-wise, it seems more than up to that task. My only criticisms at this point is that it does have Windows 8 on it, it doesn't have Bluetooth support and there doesn't seem to be a good docking option. But, since it *was* purchased as a desktop replacement and will usually run Linux, those aren't too serious."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba Frustration

,
Date:May 25, 2013
By Cali
from Sonoma County, CA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I've had my Toshiba for a month and have been extremely frustrated trying to work with it. I am now learning some stuff but after having and working with computers for 15 years, I did not expect to have trouble using this PC. I am hoping that I can continue to learn how to maneuver through it so it is easier to use At this time, I cannot recommend it...I am sorry I didn't stay with Dell."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Put Together with Parts that Don't Fit

,
Date:May 24, 2013
By Mush
from Utah
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This particular Toshiba (Toshiba Satellite S855-S5165 Laptop) was a cheap product! The plastic surrounding the screen did not fit securely. It felt like it could easily become separated from the screen and the lid. It felt like the plastic was made for another model that was a slightly different size and used for this product anyway.
I returned the laptop to the store."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 17 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

New Laptop

,
Date:May 11, 2013
By Boop
from Las Vegas, Nevada
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I got this Toshiba Laptop because of the features and the speed of the processor. The only thing I did not like was Windows 8. That is not the fault of the laptop. After getting used to Windows 8 and having to call Microsoft to have them adjust a glitch in the software, I have not had any problems. Would recommend to anyone needing a fast computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

I HATE WINDOWS 8

,
Date:August 15, 2013
By firstron
from Tacoma, WA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have used every version of Windows except "Bob". Windows 8 is the most exesperating, frustrating and maddening OS EVER on a non-touch-screen machine. I am currently in the process of reverting the machine to Windows 7. I expect great things from this computer when I'm done. DON'T BUY THIS COMPUTER WITH WINDOWS 8 UNLESS YOU ARE INTO PAIN!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Disappointed

,
Date:May 21, 2013
By Willie
from Kent, Wa
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Having an i 7 processor and all the bells and whistles you would think I could bring up a national geographic jigsaw puzzle and play it. The web site comes up then it is just frozen. I could at least do this on my old computer. Not everyone likes techie games.
Also do not like windows 8. Windows 7 and Vista were much better"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Satellite S855-S5165
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Failed to Install Microsoft Updates

,
Date:May 26, 2013
By Frustrated
from Austin, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This machine simply would not finish installing Microsoft updates. Consequently other software would not/could not install properly. I had to do a complete system reset - twice - and then reinstall all software. I am in the process of the second system reset currently. I do not know if it will be successful."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year