Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite C855D-S5109

Satellite C855D-S5109

Toshiba Satellite C855D-S5109 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
3.788 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
13
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
3
26 of 33(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite C855D-S5109
Review 1 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A defective laptop sold as new

,
Date:August 30, 2013
By starman252
from Fairborn, Oh
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"A piece of defective merchandise, sold as a new, fully working laptop,"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

hate it

,
Date:August 30, 2013
By gamma
from milford, in
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"cannot find useful info in the instructions mostly reminds yo to back up files. screen suddenly changes while i'm working"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I wanted

,
Date:August 19, 2013
By Dani
from Fairview Heights,IL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My mom let me pick this one without her input."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

,
Date:August 16, 2013
By Tina
from North Haven, CT
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought the Toshiba Satellite Laptop, and I never been happier!!! This laptop runs great...has convenient features...and more importantly reasonable priced. The battery lasts pretty long, and doesn't overheat like my last laptop. Its perfect for a college student, or as a gift for a loved one. I would recommend this product to anyone."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Laptop

,
Date:August 16, 2013
By Hooey
from Central Texas
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop replaced a much older one that I used for several years. The OS has been a learning experience however the Toshiba support sites are a great help. It has a lot of features which make it easy to use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

laptop review

,
Date:August 15, 2013
By ace
from Barboursville, WV
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My old desktop PC was adequate, but I would always have problems. My daughter suggested we go look at laptops, and not only did I look, I purchased a Toshiba bundle-pack and it has been great. I wouldn't ever go back."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Laptop

,
Date:August 12, 2013
By Nanc
from Dahlonega, GA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I wanted a Toshiba laptop because my husband bought one years ago and it worked longer that any other computer we have ever had."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

newest laptop

,
Date:August 9, 2013
By Captain
from Kingston, MA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"All is well except there are no help files on the hard drive. Win 8 is not as easy as it should be! Even a toutorial would be helpful instead of having to bull one's way through it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

durable

,
Date:August 5, 2013
By pep
from west allis,wisconsin
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Everything is great except opening the cd compartment ,takes several tries to open and could have better sounding speakers."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very impressive

,
Date:July 30, 2013
By jeepkid
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is my second Toshiba laptop like this very much and would buy another."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Windows XP to Windows 8

,
Date:July 23, 2013
By Blue in the face
from CA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Some think Windows 8 is much better. It's to bad they don't make computers backwards compatable for the operating systems for Windows. I would love to have Winows XP on the one I just bought."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Windows 8

,
Date:July 20, 2013
By Citrus Man
from Southern California
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've pretty much always owned a Satellite. The one that just got retired, still works great. It just couldn't keep up with all the new systems. I don't find windows 8 to be a problem. It's a change from XP, but not an issue so far. The Toshiba Satellite just keeps getting better. That Satellite is the only laptop I can depend on for my Mobil Job as a Manager of a large Citrus Farm. The Satellite has Never let me down."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

wait til windows 8 is replaced

,
Date:July 18, 2013
By Steve
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have no problem with the laptop but Toshiba should either find another operating system or wait til windows 8 is gone. For people who are not tech saavy, this is the most confusing operating system. Nothing like its predecessors. Wait for something better and limp along with your old laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satelite

,
Date:July 9, 2013
By Bren
from Valrico,FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I really like the laptop itself. I can't say that I like the WIndows 8 that it came with. Navigating is trying and my time is too short to get frustrated over an operating system. To the point I don't get on the computer unless I have too"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Null & Void

,
Date:July 8, 2013
By Jocko
from Dekalb, IL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've had a few Toshiba laptop's in the past, and have been generally pleased overall with them. I teach online classes, and use my laptops on a daily basis, in which I mush have a computer with speed & a lot of memory. This laptop does have these qualities, however, there are a couple of reasons why I just cannot use this particular model. The first is that it is formatted with Windows 8, which is a complete nightmare; had I know this beforehand, I would have never bought it. There is no longer a Windows icon on the bottom left of the screen, which means that you have to sift through dozens of useless apps in order to find what you are looking for...no documents tabs, etc. However, the main reason why this is totally unuseable is because of the mousepad; it is one of the most sensitive pads I have ever had, and you cannot even select anything or scroll over without pieces of the screen enlarging/reducing, or the log-out & optional settings appearing with every single swipe."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great laptop

,
Date:June 16, 2013
By joe
from kiss, fl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Work great, even I am new to win 8 I can manage"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

speakers

,
Date:May 31, 2013
By larrypcoletrain
from eau claire, wi
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I like the computer its fast gets the job done. What I don't like is the speakers there useless very sub par."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:May 30, 2013
By Scooterseats
from Longview, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far it has been a fairly good experience. Windows 8 is a little different but since I run Google Chrome, it is primarily in the background."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

First labtop and its pretty good

,
Date:May 30, 2013
By Julie
from Rockyhill, CT
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love that the battery life is so long, my sisters laptops die out wayy before mine dose."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Satellite C855D-S5109
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fair lap top

,
Date:May 28, 2013
By Bill
from Indianapolis
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Seems slow to me in many respects. Works okay most of the time, but can be pretty clunky."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month