Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite C855-S5118

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Satellite C855-S5118

Toshiba Satellite C855-S5118 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
4.06 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(83 Reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
18
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
6
64 of 83(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite C855-S5118
Review 1 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Stopped working after charging the battery

,
Date:September 19, 2013
By Sasha
from St. Petersburg, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I can't say much about the performance, since the computer stopped working after the second time I got on."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:September 17, 2013
By Matt
from Sacramento, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The laptop seems great, but Windows 8 is horrible."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:September 16, 2013
By Hot Rod
from hhI, SC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very pleased so far, real good value for the money. My first lap tap, much faster then my Dell PC. Windows 8 was easy to adapt to going from XP."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

laptop review

,
Date:September 15, 2013
By Butch
from Cumberland, WI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I would have liked something with Windows 7 as I am having trouble navigating through it. An instruction book would be nice. I know there is a tutorial on the laptop but I prefer a book that I can find answers a bit easier. Also, it would be nice if it were like my desktop and would allow game playing without internet connection. I am not really a newbie but not proficient either."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Laptop

,
Date:September 11, 2013
By OldFlorids Guy
from Melbourne, Fl
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love Toshiba Laptops. I have owned Toshiba laptops previously. I do however hate the fact that Toshiba chose to install a trial version of Norton Anti-Virus and disable Windows Defender which is an outstanding Anti-Virus and Anti-Malware program that Microsoft includes for free with Windows 8. Due to Tishiba doing this I am unable to restart Windows defender. I'm sure Norton pays Toshiba a hefty fee to do this but in doing so Toshiba penalizes the computer buyer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:September 11, 2013
By my real name
from Mechanicsville, VAbut it is great to download rec
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The Toshiba Laptop, is perfect for me, I can take it on trips and keep in touch with my family, It is easy to carry with us, I can down load my pictures in it. and most places you go now offer wireless, or we can just plug it in. I can send pictures of our vacation to friends and family"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

so-so computer

,
Date:September 11, 2013
By fishermanswife
from Warwick, RI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had a Dell computer and was going to buy another Dell but saw a good deal on the Toshiba. It is fast but I find the tool bar that comes up on the right hand side very distracting. This computer comes with out any programs like word or excel but that is okay because I bought this computer for surfing the net keeping all my files on my Dell computer. If I had it to do over, I would buy a Dell computer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great laptop!

,
Date:September 8, 2013
By Darleen
from Hampton Ga
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was a little scared about windows 8,but it worked out well. I followed the instructions, and it was very easy. I got help on the Toshiba website and saw the clips they had about this computer"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Laptop

,
Date:September 8, 2013
By Aisha
from St.Thomas, USVI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I Love This Laptop but the only problem is that the mouse sticks sometimes."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good buy for the money

,
Date:September 7, 2013
By lee
from Gowen, MI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great performance and priced is affordable. Drawback is that they do not include the hard copy of the written manual about computer features and how to navigate with new operating system of Windows 8. Being that is so different....I found it to be very frustrating trying to navigate to even find where the online Toshiba manual was located. So, TOSHIBA....please give customers all of the written instructions included in the computer box you purchase it in."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

first laptop

,
Date:September 7, 2013
By butch
from washington dc
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I need instructions on how to use laptop. no instructions came with purchase. I really need a class on laptop use."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not to shabby

,
Date:September 2, 2013
By Brittany
from Spencer, MA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is pretty good for the money. I haven't had any issues for the most part. I love the size of the keyboard. not to big and not to small. And all the features work great. The only thing I don't care for is the windows 8. Just takes some getting use to! But nothing I can't handle :) Deffinitly worth it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

My own experience

,
Date:September 2, 2013
By Nick
from San Diego, Ca
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Mouse pad is frustrating,and could not give 5 star because I haven't tried everything yet. Don't like the app store because free is either trial or for limited use of app. which to me is useless. Does not play videos unless you want to pay for the codec that allows Toshiba video player or Windows Media Player to work. I like the free video players like Real Player or VLC better anyway. The model I have said Bluetooth but after downloading the manual they meant Bluetooth expandable option. No likey those kind of tricks. Bluetooth should come with all wireless devices in my opinion. I hope this review helps."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Laptop EVER

,
Date:September 2, 2013
By RO
from Philadelphia, PA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"VERY NICE!!!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

decent value

,
Date:August 31, 2013
By jimmy b
from philadelphia pa
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am not a big windows 8 fan but no fault of this laptop.we really dont ask much from our computers we just needed something cheap for web browsing since our son barfed on his computer and took over ours.It does what we need it to do..it is small and light but feels flimsy"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

HORRIBLE

,
Date:August 26, 2013
By Karen
from 98042
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I purchased a LAPTOP not a TABLET. I wanted something I could WORK with NOT PLAY on. This whole thing is set up as a huge tablet play toy. uploaded windows and trying my best to make it work."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good laptop

,
Date:August 23, 2013
By Pinky
from Vienna, VA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Good for the price"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Satellite C855-S5118

,
Date:August 23, 2013
By Butch
from Amite,LA.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the best laptop ever. The price was excellent. If you're looking for a dependable laptop, try this one, you won't be sorry."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Big Bang for Bucks!

,
Date:August 22, 2013
By running man
from marshfield ma
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very quiet and fast,"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for Satellite C855-S5118
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:August 21, 2013
By dorie
from green valley AZ
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I use the top row of keys a lot with this computer. I don't like the fact that I always have to use the FN key to get access to F3, F5, F8 & F11 which I use a lot."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month