Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for C855D-S5106

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

C855D-S5106

Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(108 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (108 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
29
3 stars
13
2 stars
6
1 star
20
73 of 108(68%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C855D-S5106
Review 1 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not reliable

,
Date:July 15, 2013
By Bode
from San Diego
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This laptop was recommended to me by a computer programmer. Believing that he knew these products better than I, I bought it. I regret that purchase. This laptop is horrible. It is very unreliable and super slow. I hardly ever even use it anymore because every time I do, I'm so frustrated, I want to throw it in the driveway.
It comes loaded with WIndows 8. What a nightmare. They should give you the option to choose the OS you want. Not force it on you.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worse program I ever used

,
Date:June 11, 2013
By Fed up
from Longwood Florida
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I gave up an IMac to use Toshiba w/windows 8, It is absolutely Horrible. The side bar pops up whenever it chooses, you can be in the middle of doing something and it will take you into something else or disconnect you. I wish I can throw this program and the computer out. For the money I paid it is not worth it at all. The battery is forever dying."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

cheap computer with a lousy OS

,
Date:May 5, 2013
By old retired guy
from MD
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"With 4 gigs of ram, it could barely work. I increased it to 16 gigs, and it is now borderline acceptable. Can't stand Windows 8, and the browser is a joke. Does anybody try this stuff out before they sell it?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

theres better laptops than this

,
Date:April 20, 2013
By herbie
from seattle,WA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"went back to my 12 yr old laptop"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 5 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Loved my last 3 Satelites

,
Date:April 15, 2013
By c
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first 'basic' model. I might be spoiled by the other top line models, but I don't care for the set-up or the logging out. It plays DVDs well. Hope this one has a reasonable life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Functionality

,
Date:March 31, 2013
By MV
from CHICAGO
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Great Functionality, nice setup and ease at switching between desktop and applications"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Happy atall

,
Date:March 31, 2013
By Mamun
from Dhaka,Bangladesh
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i'm so glade to buy this laptop, because I have n't see before as this satellite laptop & I used 2 brand laptop like accer & dell brand but I never got any funny & any interesting matter. I'm very very happy & thnx to TOSHIBA & his expert . THANKS AL OF YOU AGAIN....."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good except memory problem

,
Date:March 30, 2013
By KC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The computer was fine until I got a message recently that it was low on memory. I wasn't even running any programs, just a browser. I'm not tech savvy, but it seems wrong to me that I could be low on memory while just using a browser. My 7 yr old HP laptop never had that problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

easy

,
Date:March 30, 2013
By angel
from Millsboro De
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"very easy to use i love it"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laptop

,
Date:March 30, 2013
By None
from Wv
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had previously had a Toshiba and hated the position of the battery. This one is great and after having a computer tech twik it, it is great. The only problem is Windows 7 and how many programs is not compatible, ie, Word Perfect, but I'm learning Microsoft Word...not really something I wanted to do at my advanced age."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

You Get What You Pay For

,
Date:March 29, 2013
By yarrington
from Westfield, IN
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My biggest problem is the poor visibility. The brightness is not good enough. Also, I want to remove the password as I never go out with it, but it won't let me do that.
I am having trouble learning Windows 8, but that's not Toshiba's fault.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Just what I wanted

,
Date:March 29, 2013
By Larry
from Little Rock, AR
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a laptop to back up my desktop and when I travel.
It does just what I want.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Purchsed 3 within 30 days

,
Date:March 28, 2013
By Yatusabe
from Orlando, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"We were so impressed with our daughter's Toshiba we bought two more lap tops. We each have our own now and very pleased. We recommend this laptop and suggest one per person. You'll all enjoy it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

C855D Review

,
Date:March 28, 2013
By Rude1955
from Hamilton, IN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am very pleased with the performance of this machine, but I do care for the major changes in Windows 8 OS.
If I had my choice I would perfered Windows 7.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Lot of bang for buck

,
Date:March 28, 2013
By behavioralpath
from Las Vegas, NV
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Nice product & easy to use. It would be nice to have included a "old school" operations manual which could be held in you hand and added to your professional library."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

one messed up laptop

,
Date:March 27, 2013
By akarter
from Speedwell, Tn.
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Bought this laptop for my wife to replace her old HP. She complained last week about repeted freeze-ups. Yesterday the keyboard stopped typing vowels in lower case and caps. I called the Geek Squad and they couldn't resolve the problem over the phone. I will be taking the Laptop back to Best Buy and see what can be done. Hopefully this can be resolved quickly as we both use our laptops for out jobs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:March 27, 2013
By Big Man
from Tampa, Fl
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The overt performance is great. The problem that I have is the product listed with HDMI but in fact does not have one. The book provided even shows it. I bought this laptop as a gift for family that live outside of the USA and did not discover that it had no HDMI until I was out of the country. Very disappointed about the shortfall! All features on the laptop are great!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst laptop i have owned !!

,
Date:March 27, 2013
By KBS
from grand lake ok
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"the keyboard is weak and gives when typing on it the computer is sluggish and does not perform well at all"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

PLatform

,
Date:March 27, 2013
By fejlarbac
from Nonya, USA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop is great. No complaints. BUt why do you saddle your customers with WIndows 8?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for C855D-S5106
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba- satellite C855D Laptop

,
Date:March 26, 2013
By Dan
from Connecticut
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Slow, Cover made of plastic"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week