Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Satellite S855D-S5120

Satellite S855D-S5120

Toshiba Satellite S855D-S5120 Laptop
Average Customer Rating:
4.099 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (71 reviews)
5 stars
29
4 stars
27
3 stars
10
2 stars
3
1 star
2
55 of 71(77%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Satellite S855D-S5120
Review 1 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

satellite laptop

,
Date:March 21, 2014
By fasted
from anadarko,ok
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I was reallydisappointed with my new toshiba satellite laptop,the space bar key only works when it wants.the cd player tray is difficult to open,you have lift laptop upon the left sideto push button to get it to open,i feel that iwould have been better off taking my old satellite in for repairs instead of buying a new one"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very Good S855D-S5120

,
Date:February 14, 2014
By DMcN's
from Sturgeon Bay, WI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It seems to be a stable computer, which counts for allot, it is fast and the battery lasts a long time. The product information is lacking though, and the Desktop Assistant is questionable but it seems to work..? It is not easily noticed that the updates should be installed before upgrading to Win8.1 so if upgrading update drivers first..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best laptop i found for the $

,
Date:February 10, 2014
By mjchunk54
from Illinois
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I picked this up on clearance due to it being a discontinued model. I love the speed. The AMD A-10 kicks some serious butt. However, I have already lost a USB connection on the left side plug, otherwise it would be a 5 star. I haven't had time to run the diag on it, but it may just be a driver issue. That was the one I used for my mouse (because all trac pads suck). Even so, I haven't had any major issues. I had BSOD on a Lenovo a week after I had it. None of that here! definitely a great value."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Way Better than Expected for the Price!

,
Date:January 8, 2014
By School Tech
from Kansas
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great screen contrast, Fast, Battery last as long as my MacBook Air does (5 hours average), good webcam, starts up fast, built well, Windows 8.1 is great (after relearning). Sound was much better after EQ tweak in settings. Designed well and looks good!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best laptop ever

,
Date:January 5, 2014
By hotraven
from Pa.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought this laptop for my wife but I use it for gaming, it runs 3D graphics with no problem, I may buy another one for me..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding Laptop

,
Date:September 19, 2013
By bjellis
from Cary, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Toshiba laptop is outstanding. Very easy to adapt.I am so excited about chosing this laptop for my business needs."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Home Laptop

,
Date:September 17, 2013
By Hockeydoodle
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a laptop for home use, newer than my old 1.8GHz pentium with decent speed and a good display. This Toshiba so far is very good, despite getting to know Win8 I've got lots of applications going and with multiple windows it works well. Battery time is in excess of 4 hours but haven't tested that extensively."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love the laptop but!!!!

,
Date:September 4, 2013
By HW
from Olivehurst,
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love the laptop but some of the built in program are driving me mad. like backing up to the cloud, I back up my self but they contently asking me to back it up and lock programs until i respond to it. I keep thing on my computer that I need to keep off the cloud.
There are some app's I want but they do not have them
also the cake I finely had to remove it. If I want to buy from a site I don't need cake sending me some where else just because it thinks it's a better deal.
just the same I love Toshiba if you need a up grade 3 to 5 years from now they will have it when hp, dell, acer and other quit supporting their computers
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Windows 8 is junk

,
Date:August 31, 2013
By ACP
from USA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is a fast laptop, but OS is Junk. I wish I had XP back"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Laptop

,
Date:August 27, 2013
By snowbird
from MN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have always had a desktop computer & I absolutely love the portability of my laptop & ease of use. I am not crazy about Windows 8 & the only negative I have is that the battery does not last long."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great buy, but...

,
Date:August 23, 2013
By Jim Z
from Sound Beach, NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My experience seems to mirror other buyers. My expensive HP laptop had major problems. My next
laptop was a Toshiba. It was a pleasure - I still have it. But, and it is a big but - Windows 8 is not for me.
Difficult to navigate and heavy on the apps.
But, It is a terrific machine at even more terrific price.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:August 5, 2013
By subosi
from Hampton, Va
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop has all of the features that are normally found in a much higher priced model. While I'm still having some problems adjusting to Windows 8 from Xp; I've been able to get most of my question answered from my Grandson. This is not a gaming computer, although it can handle some of them, it is mostly for the everyday or intermediate user. I originally bought one for my Grandaughter and liked its features so much that I had to get one for myself. So far I am totally pleased with it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Happy with not feeling overwhelmed as I self-teach

,
Date:August 5, 2013
By Dago Lady
from El Cajon, CA.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I highly recommend all types of computer operators to try this Toshiba Laptop Model. Its the SATELLITE S855D-S5120 Model. Has the best "USER-FRIENDLY", Desktop Tutorial. I feel Ive learn a whole lot of crucial operating tools, in such a small amount of time"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:July 29, 2013
By Hammac178
from Cranston, RI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop has proven to be a great performer with both gaming and Microsoft office programs. The graphics are fantastic. The only downside is the operating system which is Windows 8."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

best laptop ever

,
Date:July 29, 2013
By beto
from sugar hill, ga
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"the only issue with this laptop is the mouse pad don't have the option to scroll up and down arrow."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good bang for the buck

,
Date:July 26, 2013
By bill425
from Ravenna, Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am mostly a desktop user , but I really enjoy this laptop. I would tell anyone if you are looking for a good value in a laptop this is it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

poor poor poor

,
Date:July 23, 2013
By dmf
from Or.
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"too many problems"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba Sagtellite

,
Date:July 21, 2013
By Bish
from Grafton, IL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very good screen display. Keyboard its well. Sound system great, graphics display very well."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love this laptop

,
Date:July 18, 2013
By BRatliff
from Rupert, WV
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Have had 3 HP laptops over the last 4 yrs had trouble with all of them. I have had this laptop a month and like it so much better."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for Satellite S855D-S5120
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop at a Fabulous Price!

,
Date:July 15, 2013
By CalicoCrazy
from Cookeville, TN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was 1 1/2 weeks into a 4 week programming course when my old laptop died. I needed an affordable replacement fast and figured I would find anything I'd really like. Boy was I wrong! My new Toshiba Satellite S855D-S5120 is fast, relatively quiet, has much better battery life than my old laptop, and it didn't break the bank."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month