Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for C855D-S5303

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

C855D-S5303

Average Customer Rating:
2.48 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(25 Reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
12
9 of 25(36%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C855D-S5303
Review 1 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

First Toshiba Owned Labtop

,
Date:April 16, 2013
By Tee
from Chicago,Il
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am very very impressed with the sleekness and lightweight of my labtop. I also like the fact I can personalixe my computer from passwords to naming my computer,and choosing my screen color. I'm enjoying my labtop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Pretty poor purchase

,
Date:April 8, 2013
By mthrock
from Lancaster,CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I wish I never bought this laptop, I bought it as a gift for someone else and it lags pretty bad, especially on videos and even when they are on the lowest quality. I have a Toshiba that i purchased 6 years ago and it is better than this one. Huge waste of money, Will be returning today."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 3 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Windows 8

,
Date:March 23, 2013
By Artificer
from Birmingham, Ala
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My AutoCAD 2005 and AllData will not initialize because of Windows 8. The new computer is about as useful as a dead cat. My A75(XP), vintage 2003, has a video problem. Since the drive is so old (9 yr) I figured to just replace the entire machine. But the AutoCAD and AllData will not initialize. They do still work on the A75(XP), though they are hard to read.
Please forward a "cold start" CD for XP and I'll give a better review."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

not savvy

,
Date:March 23, 2013
By toni
from bloomington ill
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Im very iliterate to the my laptop don't understand a lot but i'm learning. I don't like how Norton is pushing you to get their product and it seems that if you don't purchased it messes you computer up not fair.........
not happy withat otherwise im okay
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

a good price-value laptop

,
Date:March 21, 2013
By voltus 5
from venezuela
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have been use this laptop for a couple of month. It has a quikly boot and an excellent batery life. It come with UEFI boot so, if you like to work with free sofware forget it!!! just windows 8 is permit. I dont like this feature!!!."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst buy ever!

,
Date:March 12, 2013
By rras
from Aruba
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Save your money, don't buy this laptop... it's way too slow."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Buy!

,
Date:March 3, 2013
By Harley
from St. Louis, MO
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Christmas gift to parents. What a mistake! Windows 8 is a disaster. Should not be put on a non- touch screen device. SLOW!!! I thought VISTA had been installed by mistake. Started freezing from the start and finally got the blue screen of death today. Won't boot. Nothing works for recovery. Locked up. Two months of frustration."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

P.O.S.

,
Date:March 2, 2013
By A R Inc
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I had a toshiba many years ago and decided to purchase another for the sole purpose of being able to go online for a CRM that is only compatible with windows. This is the slowest, piece of garbage that I have ever had. My main PC is an apple and the difference is night and day"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't Waste Your Money

,
Date:February 26, 2013
By J
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I got a new laptop because my old one was going out and wasn't really working well anymore However, it took that laptop a couple of years to start messing up, it took this Toshiba laptop a few days to start messing up. It freezes and crashes all the time. It says that I don't have enough memory but I literally only have notes from my classes on it. I'm not talking fancy notes either, just the basic copy it from the power point notes. That's it. There's nothing on this computer yet I don't have memory for anything and it crashes whenever it feels like it. If I see that blue screen with that frownie face one more time I might just throw this thing out the window and go to the library to do my homework and write my papers. It'll be tough making it through college without a laptop, but I will do it if only for the sake of seeing this thing break."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Too slow

,
Date:February 26, 2013
By Eddie
from Stroudsburg PA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It is what it is, a cheat laptop but way too slow. Maybe Window 8 is too much for this machine.
Never again.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

You get what you pay for! TRASH!

,
Date:February 25, 2013
By Mrs. T
from Maryland
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
""I purchased not 1, not 2, but 3 of these laptops. Out of the three, two of them have locked up within 2 months of owning them I would not recommend this product. This is my first experiance with Toshiba computers I wish it could have been better. What a complete waste of money.""
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:February 19, 2013
By Bob314
from Muskogee, OK
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been using this computer since the 1st of Dec. 2012 and I have no complaints, it's a great value. I'm not a fan of Windows 8 but that's not Toshiba's fault. The laptop is fast, the screen is bright and vivid and does all I need it to do. I am not a gamer so I can't help there but to work on it's very good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

you dont even get what you pay for

,
Date:February 18, 2013
By nightrunner
from Woodbury, TN
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I purchased this unit due to its being on sale at Best Buy. I had my reservations due to an earlier Toshiba laptop that went screwy on me after a year but a friend talked me into this one. It is slow, tends to lock up, will for no reason at all shut down the apps I am running and log off, the space bar works when its wants to, etc and so. A lot of small gremlins in other words. As I needed a pc and hadnt the time to return it or have it repaired I have dealt with it. I will, however, replace it in the spring and I will not be a future Toshiba customer nor will I recommend your products."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst I have come across...

,
Date:February 18, 2013
By Dino
from Chapel Hill, NC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This laptop is the worst computer of any type I have ever had. Slow and cumbersome to use, it takes way too long to navigate through pages even with the latest software protection and virus protections."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

sketchie

,
Date:February 18, 2013
By Ritchie
from Hutchinson,MN.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is just what I needed for a class in college. I need to write a business plan for a class. This computer gave me windows 8 and I was a little freaked out, but this laptop walked me through nice. The only reason I say sketchie is because the mouse makes my page shrink and grow all the time."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:February 15, 2013
By Dee
from Herndon, VA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I am totally disappointed with this laptop. Not sure if there is something missing from the laptop but looks like the memory simply doesn't exist. Can't access two things at a time...youtube simply doesn't run and it takes ages to play. The internet connection is fast and the other laptop runs fine. I have had a Toshiba Satellite before (2006) but that was a good buy. This one is zero value for money."
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great customer/tech service

,
Date:February 15, 2013
By LD
from Wisconsin
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I called several times after my purchase, and I found the techs knowledgeable and helpful."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best Thing made EVER!!

,
Date:February 5, 2013
By A-dog
from Irvine, IA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"legit the best buy ever. great price all round perfect laptop! Must buy for anyone who wants to be amazing!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crash, Crash, and more Crash.

,
Date:February 5, 2013
By TechgeeksUnited
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"As the title states. This machine crashes horrible. Mostly CPU stop error or Hard Drive Crash. It has a nice concept and pricing but even for just emails you are seriously going to find yourself wanting to throw this laptop out the window. Save yourself the stress and pay a little more for a better CPU."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 20 for C855D-S5303
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

to slow

,
Date:February 2, 2013
By Johnny
from New Orleans
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Just to slow"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year