Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player

Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Average Customer Rating:
1.444 out of 5
1.4
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
7
1 of 9(11%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Do not, under any circumstance, buy this

,
Date:February 13, 2014
By Jcb
from Chicago, IL
"You may think to yourself "Oh, I'm sure all of these bad reviews are the exception to the norm, I bet most people really like this product, and surely mine won't break 3 hours after I plug it in!". But it will break. Maybe not 3 hours or 3 days, but chances are you will eventually have a product that won't even turn on. I thought I could count on Toshiba to offer me a reliable product. What I got instead was a very disappointed girlfriend whom I gave this to for the holidays. That fact that this product ever made the market says a lot about this company, and I have no intention of ever purchasing a toshiba product again."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't plan on accessing the web

,
Date:February 4, 2014
By That girl
from Maple Valley, WA
"It worked for Netflix once, after that it could never connect to the internet. The power button stopped working and the remote didn't work half the time. What a piece of junk-it was a Christmas gift and and no receipt so I'm stuck with it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Biggest waste of $$$$$

,
Date:January 14, 2014
By skiptrendy
from USA
"I made the mistake and didnt read the reviews! Totall piece of garbage! didnt work from day 1!! wouldnt play blu-rays (only DVD's) and never could connect to internet!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 4 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic

,
Date:January 14, 2014
By Jessie
from BC Canada
"I bought this via the website, and I LOVE it. My only wish is that I had of gone one model up and gotten one that included wifi, but even without, it's still fantastic. Everything on my box works flawlessly,"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 5 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Blu-ray player ever

,
Date:January 3, 2014
By Andrew
from Detroit, MI
"The first disc I put into the player, would not come out. The eject button was malfunctioning as well as the power button."
Review 6 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Great picture, Poor web browsing

,
Date:November 28, 2013
By SueNez
"Awesome Picture for DVD or Bluray! However the audio and voicing go haywire on certain new bluray discs. The portal worked the first few uses to access and view movies on both YouTube and Vudu. Shipped it back to toshiba under warranty and waiting for a credit to purchase another. Overall after speaking with support my player was defective."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

What?

,
Date:October 8, 2013
By Joke
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"This BD player has som really good potential.. according to Toshiba anyway. The Java software in this is REALLY bad! The 'cloud service' URL where you are able to download 'apps' doesn't even work. However after a dosen of tries to get the player to store some username and passwords I finally had some use of this poor machine. At least Netflix and Youtube are preinstalled so they work as expected, but it takes a huge amount of time to load the 'portal' used for accessing these apps. And finally the User interface is so bad and ugly I thought my mother designed and wrote the code for it (no offence mom ;-)"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba Symbio Media Box & Blue-ray Player

,
Date:September 19, 2013
By Trouble in River City
from TN
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Want to use the contorls, good luck, the instructions are badly written. What in the world are they talking about? Need help understanding what everything on the control is about? Good Luck on that one also. Thinking about taking it back for another brand."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba Symbio&#153 BDX2400 Media Box and Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba BDX2400 Worst Electronics EVER

,
Date:September 7, 2013
By Rick
from Virginia Beach, VA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The marketing materials and packaging on the BDX2400 look great, but once you open the box and plug it in, the horror starts. The open browser gives no indication of where your cursor is. It's not really an internet browser, it's a toshiba search page. You can't specify a specific URL you want to go to, you can only search the web for something using the TOSHIBA page and when you're there, you can't see what is selected so it's anybody's guess what you are clicking on - feeling lucky? Oops, you selected the wrong link, want to go back? No, sorry, that feature isn't supported. You've got to go back to the main menu and start all over. But don't worry, it only takes about 90 seconds to boot up again, you were not in a hurry were you? The Hulu app is nothing more than a teaser to get you to subscribe to a monthly HULU PLUS charge, there are a few other movie apps that will sell you more subscriptions to content. YouTube doesn't work at all - it will not even load. It does Netflix great, but the remote is very sensitive and must be pointed squarely at the sensor to receive commands. This is hands down the worst piece of electronics I have come across since the 12" movie disks of the early 80's. Save your money - this is a piece of junk."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
6 of 9 people found this review helpful.