Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for C855D-S5340

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

C855D-S5340

Average Customer Rating:
3.815 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(146 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (146 reviews)
5 stars
54
4 stars
51
3 stars
14
2 stars
14
1 star
13
108 of 146(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C855D-S5340
Review 1 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love my Laptop

,
Date:September 6, 2013
By meddoc
from Raleigh, N.C.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I am a new college student, and promised myself that I would buy a laptop this semester, after checking many brands, and comparing prices this one was for me. I'm still learning all of it's features, but so far it continues to amaze me!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

to much useless things on it

,
Date:August 28, 2013
By rob
from orange park fl
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I do not like that I have to log in with a pass word every time I put it in sleep mode or start up.. if you do not use a mouse and go to the right side of the screen you drag over the useless things on the right.. When I log on I wont regular page not all those apps... I had to reset so that they do not show.. The worst is the log in every time...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent laptop for my use

,
Date:August 22, 2013
By Sledge
from Omaha, NE
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Bought this laptop to get an upgraded experience but haven't used it enough to put out much of a "rating" though. A month in and so far it has been a nice change from what I had before. Quick start up and the battery lasts longer...just what you'd expect with a new computer. Haven't used many of the bells and whistles like playing a CD or DVD or uploading/burning anything yet. I bought it on clearance and mostly just surf so no complaints here. If there was a complaint, it would be that Windows 8 has been hard to get used to. It is what it is."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:August 16, 2013
By Din Din
from Jamaica W.I
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Good choice of laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

I love Toshiba

,
Date:August 16, 2013
By Neels
from ZAR
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just believe in Toshiba. I Like to stick to a product if I have great service from it. Toshiba has not let me down really."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 6 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst laptop ever

,
Date:August 6, 2013
By Ambrazaki
from Clemmons
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"As soon as I purchased the laptop I started having trouble setting it up and installing my programs. Worst of all, it kept locking up on me. Freezing up! I took it back after 4 days to the store where I exchanged it for a better model in another brand(LENOVO) . It was $200.00 more but it's true---you get what you pay for. I am glad I returned it!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Value

,
Date:July 29, 2013
By Rkbs4
from Kirkland, WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I am extremely pleased with my new Toshiba laptop. lightweight and well designed with excellent battery life.....And at an extremely attractive price!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

slow processor

,
Date:July 26, 2013
By Patryk
from Chicago, IL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"bad 1.5 ghz cpu"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

My first laptop

,
Date:July 23, 2013
By aardvaark 40
from Flagstaff, AZ
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I hardly ever bother to write a negative review about anything, but I am not very happy with this computer. I've used computers for many years, mostly for photography, but this is my first laptop.
Much of the problem may just be Windows 8 but the computer is SO slow I can hardly stand it! Probably my fault in that I should have bought a better one, but this sounded adequate for what I needed."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

good buy for money

,
Date:July 23, 2013
By moonface
from Davenport, Fl
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It took me a while to learn the ins and outs. I would have preferred a guide book instead of the users manual within the computer itself. It would have ben easier for me to read as I explored various options. It probably is easier for the younger generation; however for a novice like myself it took time. This really is a good buy for the money"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice laptop for price

,
Date:July 12, 2013
By majec
from Texas
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Needed a new laptop for kids to use for school assignments. I'm very pleased with the choice."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Medium Laptop

,
Date:July 12, 2013
By SerMan
from Sao Paulo, Brazil
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I heve bought the laptop in USA last month and bring with me to Brazil, were I leave. Now I know I do not have any assintence or guarantee here. Can you help me ?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love The Laptop

,
Date:July 2, 2013
By justsjm
from Federal Way, WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The computer is great but I hated the Windows 8 at first but now I am used to it. I like having 3 USB ports but the only thing I don't like are the numbers on the right side. I don't use them and would prefer they not be there making it a smaller size. Couldn't find one without the numbers."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great

,
Date:July 2, 2013
By First Time Owner
from Lakeland, FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Really like this laptop...too bad it had to be equipped with Windows 8! My wife has a Toshiba laptop & hers is much easier to get around on, but she has Windows 7. We were told when we bought this that Microsoft was coming out with a "fix" for W-8! Hope this is true & hope they will advertise that it is available."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

hate it

,
Date:July 1, 2013
By Me
from colorado
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"My five year old laptop worked so much better than this piece of junk!
I would get rid of it but I am stuck with it .
The battery is already showing sighs of wear after less than six months old.
over all wish I had never purchased it
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satelitte

,
Date:July 1, 2013
By soulsearcher
from oregon
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Fair computer gotten at a really good price 299.00.
What deters from better ratings is WINDOWS 8. It is horrible. It is an imposter to force purchase of microsoft tablets and soooooo very annoying on the laptop format.
It unnecessarily forces the proficient into the learner with no real benefits. I loath Microsoft's market manipulations and sadly Toshiba's compliance.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 17 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Window 8

,
Date:July 1, 2013
By Pam
from Del Valle, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I don't understand Window 8. Why must we have put window 8. We should be allow to choose between a new window 8 to a old window 7"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 18 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Junk

,
Date:June 30, 2013
By Brian
from Spokane, WA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Had the computer for 3 weeks. 3 resets and a refresh."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 19 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:June 29, 2013
By Frank
from Palm Coast, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Love the laptop, light weight, great speed....HATE the Windows 8 program....but Great laptop"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for C855D-S5340
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Just OK

,
Date:June 28, 2013
By Grace S
from Tucson, AZ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Overall the laptop is fine. Once I figured out Windows8 life was good.
I was disappointed when I had to return it for repair after having it for less than 2 weeks. However, my repair experience was very positive. Have been using my laptop daily and no technical problems.
One annoying problem. The keyboard is not as responsive as previous laptops or traditional pc's.
Also, my printer an HP Deskjet 1055 All-in-one J410 series is not compatible with this laptop and I have been postponing purchasing a new printer for budget reasons.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year