Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for C855D-S5238

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

C855D-S5238

Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
10 of 15(67%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for C855D-S5238
Review 1 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Subquality Laptop

,
Date:January 23, 2013
By Garth
from Georgia
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I bought this Toshiba laptop brand new a week ago from Office Depot. The keyboard is flat and hard to type the keys on. Cheap & flimsy quality is the construction of this laptop. The speakers are inferior and subpar at best. It's hard to believe Toshiba actually approved these speakers during production. It's possibly the worst I've ever heard on any laptop. My single speaker on my iPad 2 has better sound. The A6 AMD CPU doesn't handle multitasking well. It's evident that listening to music and web browsing is over-tasking to the CPU. Display is good. Watching video is not great. Touch Pad is bumpy and not smooth to use. No LED to indicate power is on. No CPU or HDD LED."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

solid laptop

,
Date:December 10, 2012
By crash
from Boca Raton, FL
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm sorry I didn't look at Toshiba earlier. Plenty of power,easy to use - my wife says it's the best laptop we've ever had."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Super Slow Computer

,
Date:November 30, 2012
By Boo Boo
from Laffayette Hill Pa
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This is the slowest laptop I ever owned"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 4 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great LAPTOP

,
Date:November 28, 2012
By elgabo48
from Canovanas,PR.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great laptop for great price"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

laptop

,
Date:November 20, 2012
By jsdspif
from Kalamazoo , MI
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It seems to work well . I haven't ran it on battery much , I use it to stream to my tv so it usually stays put . One problem that I had that others seem to have is with "tapping" enabled for the touchpad , the moment the cursor touches an icon or say the shutdown tab it would consider that a tap and perform that action . Or if you dragged the cursor from one area to another and it crossed a link or whatever it would perform that action . Others had said to disable the "tapping" so that's what I did and I just use the left button to click or double click . I did kind of like the tapping feature . I don't know if that's really a Toshiba issue or if the sensor pad (or whatever it's called ) software provider is the problem . The spekers are kind of tinny sounding but with the sound going thru my tv it sounds really good . This is my first laptop and my other pc is about 11 years old or so . I can't comment on windows 8 because my unit was a demo (last one in the store ) with windows 7 which was fine with me because I wanted the media center and I was under the impression 8 doesn't have that (???) . It streams very well to my tv and my connection is dsl and usually is only about 2.5 kbps ( I think that's what it's called) but the computer streams it very well ."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 6 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Protection

,
Date:October 30, 2012
By Lyndon
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I've owned this lap top for a little over a month. I just getting comfortable with it. Orginally I had issues dealing with the anti-virus protection. I purchased McAfee when I purchased the lap top. At one point I was having problems opening up emails due to protection but at the same time I got a virus. I still can't figure that out. But I honestly don't know if I should blame that on the lap top. Everything is finally working well now. I'm starting to be comfortable with it and enjoy it also."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome

,
Date:October 27, 2012
By Luz
from Bellevue, WA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Enjoy using it and easy to navigate"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

very slow

,
Date:October 21, 2012
By jd
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I upgraded to this laptop just to upgrade. I cannot believe how often i have to wait for something to load. When i try ot open pics while searching the web i have to watch the circle rotate. I have to wait for web pages to open. My service is more than fast enough at 12megs. My 6 year old lap top works and loads faster than this one. I have tried using explorer and google chrome and the same results. if i try to shop for cars and most of the pics will not even open."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very user friendly

,
Date:October 9, 2012
By Nanny
from Logan, New Mexico
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This computer is just for me to enjoy and have fun with. I like to email and Facebook and is a great way to keep up with kids, grandkids and family members and whats going on around the world in just a few clicks of the mouse.."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

quality down

,
Date:October 9, 2012
By rls
from euless,tx
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had 5 toshibia laptops(this is my last)first I had to order recovey disks from you because this computer would not make them.next these donot have hard drive leds,the lid is sharp and is not easy to open.hate the fact you stopped putting a vol. wheel on your computers always liked this feature.my last toshibia lasted one year and one month before the hard drive died.I have been loyal to toshibia,but toshibia has not been loyal to me"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Outstanding..small..easy to transport pc

,
Date:September 19, 2012
By Ted
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My first laptop, as I have been using desktop pc's since the old XT's......had no need for a portable unit until now...you know how us old guys can be.... Well to my suprise this Toshiba is fast small and easy to set up and use...a real winner."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Frustrating

,
Date:September 19, 2012
By Libby
from Brunswick, GA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop looks good. Mine is the silver cover. Very desirable screen size. I like that it has several USB ports and I was excited about getting a Toshiba. I find it uncomfortable to use because the screen seems to be in control of itself; the cursor runs away on its own and sometimes gets stuck for a few seconds; the font size enlarges from day to day to a size which is unreadable. I feel as if someone else is remotely controlling my computer. I have called Tech Support within the first three weeks and was really hoping to enjoy using this product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Top Notch Laptop

,
Date:September 4, 2012
By Mellie
from North Carolina
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This was a replacement laptop to replace my outdated one. This is a lighting fast and user friendly laptop. I give it a thumbs up and would recommend it to all in the market for a new laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good value-priced laptop

,
Date:September 3, 2012
By ToshLap
from virgina
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Good solid-feeling machine in a light, easy-to-carry form factor. Good display quality with somewhat lower resolution (1024 x 768) - may be too low for many users who use larger spreadsheets, etc. Trackpad is pretty good but mouse/pointer and scrolling in web browser can be jumpy and quirky. May be the rough trackpad surface is not tracking finger pressure very well. Overall, a pretty good web-browsing and email machine for the money. A trackpad driver update for smoother operation would definitely be a plus for all users."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for C855D-S5238
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Only been a month

,
Date:August 31, 2012
By joe
from USA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far so good"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month