Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for S855-S5254

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

S855-S5254

Average Customer Rating:
4.34 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
46 of 50(92%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for S855-S5254
Review 21 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

laptop

,
Date:October 20, 2012
By nopickie
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The best laptop overall. The best trusted brand also. It has every feature needes and is a great running laptop. I would recommend it for anyone. The best brand over dell,acer,asus,samsung. Its battery life lasts 6 hours. The best buy this one"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 22 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Love This Machine!

,
Date:October 20, 2012
By Nancy
from Illinois
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Over the years I've been hooked on Toshiba and this is my fourth. They just keep getting better. Purchased this model in early October 2012 and am totally pleased. The speed is terrific. I love the easy touch of the keys. It gets a little warm and that's it. Runs nice and cool. Connects so quickly to the internet. Easily handles graphics software programs, MS Office. Screen resolution is just beautiful. Sound is pretty good. Great for work, internet and DVD movies."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 23 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fantastic Laptop

,
Date:October 14, 2012
By Mandy
from Kansas
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This laptop has been one of the best laptops I have ever owned. It is fast, reliable, and excels in all aspects. It was very decently priced for the high quality received."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 24 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Still learning

,
Date:October 8, 2012
By Cindy
from Wahiawa, HI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Love the quick start ups and ability to view more than one site at a time. Still wish I could download pictures directly instead of having to go through numerous steps. Would also appreciate directions on how to convert a photo (sent via iPhone) to a jpeg!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 25 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Best laptop ever!

,
Date:October 8, 2012
By The Real Bob Barker
from Boulder, CO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this laptop, and all my friends are jealous! I was looking for an Intel quad, a big hard drive, and serious memory. Oh and did I mention Im cheap? This PC is everything I was looking for and more. A third gen Intel quad core (w/ Turbo Boost to 3.3Ghz), 8Gb ram @ 1600Mhz out the gate and room for another 8Gb (Perfect for those big Photoshop and Android SDK jobs), a big track-pad and probably the nicest keyboard (even for a desktop) that I have ever used. Not to mention the most beautiful brushed aluminum body. Really I cant stress this enough, this thing is beautiful! But everyone has already mentioned these things. You should also know that it has a very appealing appearance when its closed, not many laptops (other than Apple and a few Ultrabooks) have this. It feels very sturdy open or closed, and it has a great GREAT power plug (not as good as Apples) that seems to be over looked on a lot of high end laptops (I cant tell you how much money I make every month fixing other peoples laptops with broken power plugs [Cough Sony Cough])
Now for the bad, or not as great... I would have liked it to have had at least one more USB 3.0 port (but the Bluetooth 4.0 does make up for this some what), I also would have liked a 7200rpm hard drive or maybe a full 1Tb, I would have preferred a full 16Gb of RAM or at least an open slot for the other 8Gb, could have done w/o the VGA port and there is no BD drive (not that I care, but some might?) and I don't like my computers coming pre-installed with junk like TRIALS (Norton and MS Office) or things like Toshiba Eco Boost?? (If I wanted a lesser powered / power friendly machine I would have bought one!) and there Face ID is half baked at best (Still a good idea though) Now everything that I just nitpicked over is a drop in the bucket which is why I still give this powerhouse a 5 star rating and would recommend it to anyone!
PS Future plans are to install a full 16Gb of RAM and a 7200rpm drive, but not for a while as things are still lightning fast.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 26 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:October 8, 2012
By agente 612
from puerto rico
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"An excellent experience"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 27 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great computer

,
Date:October 2, 2012
By Super1
from GA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 28 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Huh? Not as fast or bright as earlier model

,
Date:September 29, 2012
By David
from Baltimore, MD
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have been so pleased with my earlier 17.3" Toshiba Satellite with AMDchip that I bought the latest with an Intel Core 7 (15.6") which I always heard was better. The screen is not at all as bright and the definition not as good. Worse the speed with this "super chip" and high RAM seems much slower than my older AMD. The same Youtube videos I can watch on the old one pause several times to load while viewing on the new one. I guess I should not have believed all of the hype about Intel chips.
I do like the lighter weight, slim line, and new finish. Also like the separated keys.
New batteries are terrific and so far good for 4 hours or more. Easy to tell when it is charged or needs to be charged.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 29 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good for all types of users

,
Date:September 29, 2012
By Orrie
from P.A.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is very fast. The battery last longer than other computers. I haven't had a problem with it yet. Hands doun the best computer I've had so far."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 30 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Laptop

,
Date:September 20, 2012
By Cecelia
from NJ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very nice Laptop, fast and plenty of great features. Only one issue I'm not happy with. I still use a mouse to navigate and the heat vent is on the right side of the laptop as a result my right hand gets a little hot at times. Overall, a great value and would recommend to friends."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 31 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not bad for price

,
Date:September 19, 2012
By Alaskan
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"After doing my research I picked this laptop because it was a good middle ground. It had decent speed, memory, and batter life, without being THE BEST of anything and therefore costing a fortune. Weight wise it could be a little lighter. I like the metal feel casing, makes it feel very durable. The keyboard and the mouse pad, however, feel very cheap. They function fine, but I'm going to have to worry about the long term durability there. I'm a big fan of Toshiba laptops and got a lot of years out of my last one. This one is only a few weeks old now, so we'll see..."
Review 32 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not sure about Photoshop capability

,
Date:September 19, 2012
By Mimi
from Chattanooga, TN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I like it for the most part, but seem to have a lot of incompatibilities with Photoshop CS4 and the internal graphics card. Have crashes, and windows indicating conflicts with display driver and Photoshop. PS is my main reason for purchase, otherwise performance is good."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 33 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Buy!!

,
Date:September 19, 2012
By Mopi
from San Diego, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So this is my first new laptop in 8 years and I realized a lot has changed. I wanted to get something that would last another 8 years if needed and this one fit the bill. First off, the price is right where I needed it to be given the specs on this. Next, the color and feel of this. It was as if it was built just for me. Its fast, starts up quick, and just everything I need it to be."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 34 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop, well made

,
Date:September 12, 2012
By FOX
from Concord Vt
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great laptop solid construction. Fast boot. I like the numeric pad on the right side of the key board. I find the face recognition is useless, and "IF" it worked well, it should work for all pass words not just log in. Finger print reader would be a much better option. Had this on another laptop and loved it. This laptop does not have a hard drive light and I miss this, it is a nice way to see if the hard drive is processing something. All in all it is a great laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 35 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Super fast laptop

,
Date:September 11, 2012
By Sweetstarx87
from New london, ct
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"You dont have to wait at all with this latptop is pretty fast when you go online and the battery is excellent."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 36 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

very pleased

,
Date:September 10, 2012
By crosspatch
from albany ga
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Just got the laptop set up. Very pleased with the speed. Very surprised as how easy the keyboard is for me to use. Other laptops I have used were "tight" for my fingers. I type very easily on this one. Screen size excellent, colors are gorgeous. Pleased I purchased this one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 37 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Better than an HP

,
Date:September 7, 2012
By twhlover
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I needed a new laptop, after I had my HP laptop for 4 years. The HP didn't have the memory capacity or battery life that this Toshiba laptop does. I love the color and design. I am very impressed by the quiet running speed and the long battery life. The eco power option is great on it too. So far I have been using his laptop for about a month and love it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 38 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

i7 laptop

,
Date:September 5, 2012
By KDB
from Southeast Idaho
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Fast processor, nice feature set, excellent keyboard and mouse pad. Would have preferred a 7200RPM hard drive for increased speed, and maybe a Blu-ray player, but for the price paid, it is a nice machine. I process hundreds of RAW photos per week in Lightroom 4 and this i7 laptop is considerably faster than my last HP 1st generation i5 laptop. Definitely recommended."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 39 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Date:September 3, 2012
By donthaveone
from Atlanta, GA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased the Toshiba S855-S5254 laptop as a work computer when I travel to customer sites. I use the laptop mostly for high end cadd cam applications. It preforms so well I find myself not using my office pc when in the office. It is big enough without being too big, The number keys were a must have, graphics with my solid modeling apps are great. If I could ask for anything more it would be backlit key board."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 40 for S855-S5254
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Third Toshiba Laptop

,
Date:August 29, 2012
By sailor
from Lee's Summit, MO
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is lightweight, fast."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month