Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P855-S5200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

P855-S5200

Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(63 Reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (63 reviews)
5 stars
31
4 stars
21
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 star
1
55 of 63(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for P855-S5200
Review 1 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Love my laptop

,
Date:October 25, 2012
By Sam
from OK
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This Toshiba Satellite P855-S5200 has won me over for its excellent performance-size-durability combination, after nearly 30 years of exclusive use of Apple or Dell computers. The Intel Core I7 processor combined with 8MB DDR3-1600 Ram make it super responsive and fast, and the Etched Aluminum Body make it extra durable for daily multiple location use. I would buy it all over again even with a couple of features needing improvement of an unintentionally opening media bay and difficult to use track pad buttons which hopefully can be tweaked in future models. A wireless mouse (planned to use one anyway) instantly resolves one issue, and avoiding the media bay button easily resolves the other. Finally a laptop that can replace my desktop and keep my data on one great computer that I am very happy with."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

good laptop

,
Date:January 5, 2013
By pokester
from Tanzania
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"just the prob with the keyboard... I have to really mash it otherwise it skips letters"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Not too shabby

,
Date:December 4, 2012
By Briggs
from Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I agree with all the touchpad issues. This is my first Toshiba and I like it quite well. My biggest concern is that the power source tends to go on and off intermittenly - like the plug into the unit is not snug. Some days I have no problems, other days it takes me a half hour to keep the power consistent. I love the keyboard and the number pad is nice."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 4 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice laptop

,
Date:December 2, 2012
By Lou
from Rogersville, Tn
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Nice laptop for the price. Battery life is not what I expected or what was shown on the specs but overall a good performance. The light weight of the laptop is nice when travelling."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

VALUE FOR MONEY

,
Date:November 23, 2012
By abdul
from greer
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"My uncle pentium series laptop he advice me to buy this laptop after that realized the real value for money"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 6 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:November 18, 2012
By mort
from Red Lodge, MT
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I like the computer. I have had it for about a month. It has a good sized screen and the keyboard is nicely spaced."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Device

,
Date:November 15, 2012
By 1RedLeg6
from Dodge City, Ks
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I enjoy the sleekness, lightweight, power and battery life"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Second one and love it.

,
Date:November 13, 2012
By Gee
from Hollister, MO
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the second Toshiba Laptop I have owned in 8 years. They are real work horses. I Give mine a work out recording and mixing music.This newest one has only one querk and that is where the CD player is. I find myself opening it almost everytime I pick up the laptop. But overall, I would recomend this to a friend."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent option

,
Date:November 12, 2012
By lqilaoz
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I bought this laptop four months ago and I´m very happy with it. This laptop is a great option if you are looking a good processor for a low price. Also, I like the laptop aluminum finish. I only dislike the keyboard, is not bad but could be softer. Also, the battery life could be longer, in my case using wi-fi and two programs I average three hours with a full charge."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 10 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good but could be better

,
Date:November 11, 2012
By Pepper
from Rochester, MN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I like the overall look of the laptop, the weight and the speed of the applications. I am not impressed with the battery life - it was advertised as up to 5 hours and I have never gotten more than 2.5. There are also issues with it using a lot of battery in sleep mode and it won't always recharge in sleep mode. Had I known these things before I bought it, I probably would have picked a different model."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satellite P855-S5200

,
Date:November 2, 2012
By doc
from Georgia
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Over good laptop so far. Putting the mouse buttons on the touch pad was not a good idea. Go and click a file and the mouse arrow moves off your target if not careful. Touch pad seems overly sensitive. For example, when using the touch pad to double click an item the arrow on the screen jumps off the item if not very careful. Other than the touch pad issues everything seems good"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Laptop

,
Date:October 31, 2012
By Candy
from Ontario
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I have been using this laptop for about a month. I have not had any problems with it and I hope it continues that way. It seems the battery lasts almost for ever without power source, for now. The vent is on the side so it is always cool on your body. The sound quality is very good.
The touch pad is a bit stiff so you will need a mouse. You literarily have to bang the touch pad before it responds. Other that than it is a nice laptop. I like the big screen size."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 13 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

This is not my first...

,
Date:October 30, 2012
By davbree60
from N.VA.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is not my first laptop from Toshiba. I typically buy myself a new one every other year. I upgrade for the speed and storage. My old ones are passed onto my daughters who love them and still they don't have any issues.
This one has WiDi which I thought I wouldn't use but find it handy.
Can't wait till Toshiba starts building them with 1 TB solid state drives.
Buy Toshiba....you won't regret it. I've been satisfied for over 10 years with Toshiba products.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

peor product

,
Date:October 29, 2012
By osmend
from Costa Rica
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"can not be entirely possible that two new devices fail in less than one month untapped or 20 percent of its capacity."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great pc

,
Date:October 28, 2012
By FRANK
from TAMPA FLA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i treated myself for my birthday 9-29-12 to a new pc wanted a lab top was looking before my birthday i found it im very happy with my toshiba P855-S5200 READ all about and checked it out"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Has more than needed

,
Date:October 27, 2012
By Mike-el
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Use for home finance and mail, does that and more."
Review 17 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great

,
Date:October 27, 2012
By Butch
from c-burg va
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"so far so great. its really fast and powerfull. have had it for a few days great upgrade from my last 4g 500ram."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 18 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent

,
Date:October 27, 2012
By Uchman
from Sayreville, NJ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is not the first time I will be using a Toshiba notebook and they have never disappointed me.
Apart from been cheap, the notebook is fast with lots of memory to place with.
I run two virtual PCs simultaneously on the notebook, you wouldn’t even notice any speed degradation.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ubuntu 10.10 experience on Toshiba P855-S5200

,
Date:October 20, 2012
By saiprem
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you want to run Ubuntu 10.10 on this machine forget it or you'll find you are wasting your time. Ubuntu doesn't have drivers for the sound or wifi cards and it really tough and time consuming getting this. Also the touch pad is terrible with Ubuntu 10.10. The arrow jumps all over the place and it doesn't drag."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 20 for P855-S5200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

tops

,
Date:October 18, 2012
By fan
from usa
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i love mine...im glad i went with different brand......THANKS TOSHIBA....this even made me go out and get an toshiba flatscreen....."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year