Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P845-S4200

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

P845-S4200

Average Customer Rating:
4.023 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (43 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
18
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
34 of 43(79%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for P845-S4200
Review 1 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Failure in first 10 hours

,
Date:August 10, 2013
By jsl3
from Stafford, VA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"After spending 10 hours setting up the computer and installing needed software along with Gigbits of updates, the computer produced a dialogue box that stated that the system had detected a cooling system failure. It directed immediate shutdown and return for repair.
Touch pad seems flimsy...it moves under any pressure."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My first laptop

,
Date:February 19, 2013
By Jan
from Houston, TX
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Responds easily and quickly. Good battery life, Ease in transporting - light and slender. Only little problem is the shallow keyboard - sure easy to make typing mistakes! But I'm very happy with it. It was on sale and has Windows 7 which I wanted, not Windows 8."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 3 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Date:January 27, 2013
By rat
from ms
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great laptop"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

A good value for the money

,
Date:January 17, 2013
By Chief
from Pacific Northwest
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am enjoying my new computer and plan to carry it with me when I travel by motorcycle. Its size and portability were important factors when purchasing and I found the aluminum outer shell appealing. If I had a complaint it would be with the touch pad. The touch pad itself seems too sensitive and the left and right mouse buttons not sensitive enough. I have resorted to a mini mouse (no pun intended) for travel use. Other than that all is well."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great little system

,
Date:December 10, 2012
By Charlie
from Marlton, NJ
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I purchased this system on line and have been thrilled with it. It's not perfect, but pretty close. I just don't like touch pads, so I won't comment on the quality of the pad, because I don't use it. The keyboard is a little sloppy - sometimes characters just don't come out when speed typing. But I usually use an external keyboard monitor and mouse, so it's not that big a deal to me. The heart of any system lies in the processor power, memory and storage. The Core i5 processor is quick and works well for me, and the 6GB or RAM that it came with, along with the 750 GB hard drive were deciding factors for me. I just wish they'd included a Windows 8 upgrade. But 7 is adequate for my needs. But to me, the real surprise was in battery life. This thing runs a whopping 6+ hours on battery before hibernating. And the reason I know that is because I plugged it in at home and forgot to turn the light switch on that controlled the outlet. The sturdy aluminum case is nice too. I'd recommend this machine to anyone. I've been totally pleased with it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 6 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

upgrade to win 8

,
Date:December 7, 2012
By feky
from rantepao,sulawesi selatan,indonesia
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great laptop..i have upgrade it to windows 8..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great value and excellent price.

,
Date:November 29, 2012
By melen
from Humacao PR
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"If you are looking for a competent, easy to use out of the box PC you can't go wrong with Satellite P845-S4200. It is a speedy, light weight, fully equipped and easy to use system that will fulfill even the Tech Savvy so don;t look any further. Did I mention that it has a sturdy Aluminum Body and is Gorgeous too. Highly recommend."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

P845-S4200

,
Date:November 25, 2012
By Liza
from Semarang, Indonesia
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The best technology for laptop"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent laptop

,
Date:November 21, 2012
By Grandpadoc
from Lima, Peru
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"It is the first time I purchase a TOSHIBA laptop; until now, I feel it is the best laptop I've ever had. It's fast, strong and lite, doesn't get hot as others. In a couple of words: I LOVE MY TOSHIBA LAPTOP!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good

,
Date:November 18, 2012
By TM
from WI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"This is my first Toshiba laptop. It's a very good laptop for the price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Better than Anticipated

,
Date:November 17, 2012
By antienina
from Austin, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"My previous laptop was slow, HUGE, and old (approx 10 years old), and I was told that the Toshiba Satellite was smaller, faster, and more user-friendly than my laptop.
To my amazement, the above information was true. This laptop truly is very user-friendly, faster, thinner, and more comfortable using than my {former} laptop. The outside of the laptop is durable and sharp; very professional when taking to business meetings which is important for my line of work. Thank you Toshiba for making a high-quality product that is easy for any user whether they are newbies to tech savvy.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 12 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

amazing

,
Date:November 14, 2012
By bman
from nc
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"i got this from best buy as an open item. i love it it is a amazing pc."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 13 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Right Size, Right Weght!

,
Date:November 13, 2012
By Leg'smachine
from San Diego, A
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like ths little guy! Much quicker than the Dell Desktop I have. Love the color and the keys. Soooo quiet! Once in a while I find I'm mssing a letter but that could be my fault as I may not be pressing hard enough. Keys have a very light touch. It charges quickly and the batter life seem to be, good. Once, I let the thing completely run out of battery power just to see how long it would take to charge to full capacity. It took about 2 hours was all. The sound quality is good as is the color of he screen. I'm spending a lot more time looking behind the sceens at what adjustments could be made than I ever did with any other laptop, It seems very user friendly.I don't like the mouse pad, however, but solved that problem by buying a Logitech mouse. That's why I only gave it 4 starts for my overall rating."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Works Great for a Student

,
Date:November 11, 2012
By Bruno52305
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"This laptop is great for a student. It processes quickly and efficently. It does take a day or two to get used to the mousepad but after that there are no issues."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Unhappy

,
Date:November 10, 2012
By Erin
from NYC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"It locks up when I am on the internet."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 16 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

solid performance

,
Date:October 26, 2012
By sneech10
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"second satellite I've owned. solid performance for price. it's reliable with good battery life."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 17 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Replacement for a 17" Dell

,
Date:October 21, 2012
By WSU 96
from Dallas, TX
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is a gift to replace a 6+ year old, very heavy 17" Dell laptop. Not even taking into account the technology changes of the last 6 years, I am so.....much happier with the performance and feaures of this laptop and would recommend it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

excellent choice

,
Date:October 20, 2012
By keyrat
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had not even considered a Toshiba, but bought on the recommendation of the young man in the computer department. I wanted light weight, fast, considerable storage and this was his recommendation. I am not thrilled with the battery life as I had expected more, but it definitely gets me through a flight. Depending on what I am doing I can get up to 5 hours of time.
Great computer.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My 5th and best ever Toshiba laptop!

,
Date:October 15, 2012
By Dork
from San Jose, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I was pleasantly surprised at how light, compact and feature-rich my new laptop is. It's a replacement for a tired, heavy, 7-year old machine running Windows XP. I love the aluminum skin, the light weight and especially the robust battery life. Not real happy with using the touch pad and how it zooms and contracts the screen; haven't mastered that yet."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for P845-S4200
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Very Disappointed

,
Date:October 15, 2012
By Enzo
from Ann Arbor, MI
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I thought this laptop was a good price after doing my research. I'lll be using it mostly for internet surfing and for school. It was a bit smaller than the others in it's price range. The battery life is Horrible. I don't think I was getting much more than a couple hours out of it considering the only program I was running was Office 2010. I'm not a gamer and didn't even get to the downloading anything else before I returned it. I had read in a previous review that sometimes the keys stick, but thought I'd take my chances. I found this to be true. Not just one key, but as I would type several of the characters wouldn't show up. Very frustrating."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year