Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

Discover one of easiest ways to add storage to your computer with Toshiba's Canvio® Basics 3.0 portable hard drive, offering one of the simplest storage solutions in a box.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
6
3 of 8(38%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Review 1 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not good

,
Date:April 29, 2013
By Mage
from ms
"It worked for 10 months. It is perfect as long as it works but it will brake eventually and sooner then you expect. It was the second failure Canvio model I bought. No more risk."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

No setup file to start installation

,
Date:February 23, 2013
By mitchecw
from calgary, alberta
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"No instructions with the package and no setup file on the drive. Startup file only includes the warranty in 10 languages. My computer runs on Windows 7. No idea how to get unit to work."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

External Hard Drive....JOKE!!!!

,
Date:December 31, 2012
By Balloon Girl
from Tuttle, OK
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Would have been nice if it actually came with instructions. Plug and Play....HA HA HA....NOT SO MUCH. Won't open, have no idea if it's actually working. My computer says it functional, but it shows it directly on my C drive and I'm pretty sure it should have a drive all it's own. Best Buy Geel Squad no help, mgmt no help, AAAAARGH can you say frustrated!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 4 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great little drive

,
Date:December 24, 2012
By BobD
from Milwaukee, WI
"I bought it. Connected it to my desktop and use it to store movies and TV shows for later viewing. No problems, works great!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Does not have instructions & not compatible

,
Date:November 17, 2012
By Galtonia
from Sacramento County
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I read these reviews after trying to find the quick install instructions online, as it was not included like it said. It appears incompatible with my system as well. I'm no computer expert, so it's beyond me. The 'Plug and Play' apparently doesn't work with my system (XP) - have not tried it on my Windows 7 system yet."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Not with Windows 7 64bit

,
Date:October 15, 2012
By Solbreeze
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"If you are a PC user, take notice, the Toshiba Canvio USB series of drives currently work with 32bit Windows operating systems out of the box. You may need to reformat the drive prior to use if you only use 64 bit system. (MS makes 32bit and 64 bit Vista and Windows 7 programs.) Microsoft's website will indicate the drive is compatible, but sadly it's not. I have two of these drives which worked fine on Windows Vista 32 bit, but when I upgraded to Window 7 64 bit they no longer work? Reformatting the drive would erase all data that is currently stored on it, plus no guarentee if would then be compatible with 32 bit systems? Searching internet blog sites on this subject you will see this is a known problem for some time. Toshiba and Microsoft should develop a driver to address this problem"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good product

,
Date:September 8, 2012
By trom
from dayton, TN
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this for 4 months now and I've stored everything and more on this little thing! totally worth it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba 1.5TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

X86 - DOESNT WORK ON WIN 7

,
Date:July 22, 2012
By MacMomAlaska
from Alaska
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"After repeated attempts to use this product, I find it WILL NOT WORK and in fact, gave me a BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH! SAYS it works on Vista, XP but nowhere does it say it works on Win 7 but on this advertising page. The "installation instructions" that supposedly come with it, in the warranty, ARE NOT THERE! Warranty in 25 languages."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.