Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P745-S4102

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

P745-S4102

Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
35 of 39(90%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for P745-S4102
Review 1 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

My First Laptop

,
Date:August 6, 2012
By Tootie
from Woodbridge, VA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Although my household has had laptops and desktops for years, Toshiba is my first personal laptop. I will use it primarily while I'm away at school, but so far, its been a very good choice. Not only was the price decent, the quality is much better than some other lap tops that were being compared."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Best for the first few months

,
Date:February 9, 2013
By Still better than Dell
from PA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I've had my laptop just one week shy of a full year (I can tell due to my virus protection program). It started out wonderful. Videos would buffer in seconds and, on most sites, it would load faster than it could play so I didn't have any waiting times. Games played beautifully and the battery would last me all day with light to medium use, 5-6 hours with heavy constant use. Everything went smoothly.
But about 6 months into it, my laptop decided to shut down every few minutes due to overheating, even when I made absolute sure that there was very little surface contact on the bottom, often propping the laptop up on a small box to keep vents and the battery cover exposed to expell the most heat. Even with the fan working on full, it still does this. I am impressed the power cord is still in excellent condition, considering my old Dell's cord kept breaking where the port went into the cord. Not even a tear on this sucker! So big props to good charger/adapter. Games are going much slower now and it's hard to find video links that don't pause often to buffer, even in the best wifi connection after the computer has rested. With the memory card integrated into the laptop itself and is therefore unchangeable/unmovable, I am unable to upgrade to a better card to solve these problems. Also the touch pad has been rather good to me with only a couple glitches that had solved itself somehow. The left click key, however, is now loose and tilting to the left from use. They need to reinforce this button so it doesn't break down so badly. Sometimes it doesn't want to work.
Overall, for it being only a 1 year warranty item, I still think it's way better than Dell and HP by far. Battery, 'mouse' buttons and graphic card needs significant improvement to last at least a year before it begins to go faulty, if not a couple months beyond would be awesome."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome Laptop

,
Date:October 17, 2012
By KansasKR
from Topeka, KS
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I love this laptop. I have had it for about four months. I took on vacation, I have watched movies on it, and it is solid. The price was awesome too! Thanks Best Buy! This is my second Satellite, happy with booth."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good value

,
Date:September 26, 2012
By Jack
from Independence, IA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The good:
This laptop does everything I need it to.
There is enough RAM to run several applications at once.
I love the crystal clear screen and the keyboard!
The bad:
The battery lasts nowhere near the advertised length of time; the only way to get the full advertised battery life is to reduce performance by using the 'eco' mode.
The laptop does not have enough cooling fins; it overheats easily.
The hard drive protection is too sensitive; you have to disable it or, at a minimum, change the settings in order to use the laptop.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Poor Performance

,
Date:September 18, 2012
By Kimbnr
from Sarasota FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"This laptop does not process very quickly for a 6 gig temp memory and has been a disappointment. It could be the Windows 7 but not sure. I had a Gateway for several years with only 4 gig temp mem and it worked much faster and didnt crash all the time. It was using Vista. I am already thinking of selling this computer online and getting another Gateway. Unless your company can figure out what the problem is."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Nice Laptop

,
Date:August 13, 2012
By Federico
from San José, Costa Rica
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The laptop has a nice size, it´s pretty fast.
The only complain is that the lighted keyboard is no longer lighted. It didn't last a week, but it's not an issue. Not even worth returning it for that.
Everything else works great."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Going on a Roadtrip

,
Date:August 12, 2012
By bob
from pittsburgh PA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Purchased this for a 2 month trip where we will visit many National Parks. My main use for the computer is to us it as a storage device for all the photos & videos we plan to take. Each evening the cameras will be downloaded to this computer and viewed. It is small enough to use in WI FI hotspots. I have saved a lot of $$ by not having to buy SDHC cards and will know that the cameras are working properly. When we retun home I will download the rest of "My Pictures". So you see I will have a 500GB dedicated storage device, with all our photos in one place"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 8 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

P745 very good

,
Date:August 12, 2012
By onlyonce
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Like this machine a lot what I dislike is the operating system Windows 7, It just doesn't do the things or have the features my XP has, I'm partial to the movie WinDVD Intervideo program, it is very user friendly. Doesn't have access to using Outlook Express as a email program, I like that outlook express downloads to the computer and you can read your mail offline.
The P745 is small, light weight and easy to handle, the battery life is over twice as long as my Satellite M105. Don't like the fact there isn't any word processing program except wordpad. On the whole I still like the P745 and glad I chose it.
"
Review 9 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Very good laptop

,
Date:August 11, 2012
By Stores
from Phoenix, AZ.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The P745 has good features and plenty of HD space for what I use it for. I would like more memory on the laptop that I bought, but it will do."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Performance pretty good.

,
Date:August 7, 2012
By Benny
from MA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Works well. Shorter battery life than expected but still not bad. I like the brightness of the display."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

It's Great!

,
Date:August 3, 2012
By sweetlady
from chicago, il
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I love my new laptop. It was a gift and have never had anything Toshiba before but, am very glad it was given to me. Have had other laptop's but like this one the most."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Decent Laptop

,
Date:July 31, 2012
By Tee
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The laptop is pretty good overall."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

A snappy laptop with great sound

,
Date:July 29, 2012
By Marcus
from Los Angeles, cA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have purchased about 10 laptops over the years for myself and family, My main criteria are: price, touch, sound, and general "snappiness." The sound matters because I basically live on my laptop, and am constantly playing music to keep myself going. So far, this little laptop rocks on all counts."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Satisfied

,
Date:July 23, 2012
By Lloyd
from Maryland
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Has been a good option for us thus far. Not as fast as I was expecting after reading other reviews, especially at start up. Volume settings are a little touchy.
Overall, I am pleased although I have only it a month.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Caveat Emptor

,
Date:July 21, 2012
By Jay
from Seffner, Fl
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Sometimes paying a little extra is worth it when you are trying to buy a laptop with some zip. This one has no zip and is repleat with manufacturers bugs and pop ups. Oh well, when you buy cheap you get cheap! Caveat emptor."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

great little laptop

,
Date:July 19, 2012
By jaders
from portland, or
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"great size and long battery life compared to my last one. only criticism is the buttons on the "mouse pad" don't have a noticable "click and feel sort of mushy. that's a small item and i love this laptop otherwise..."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 17 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Light laptop

,
Date:July 19, 2012
By Mrs. SewSew
from Ann Arbor, MI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I wanted a lightweight to use when I teach. I also carry this to machine embroidery software classes. It serves my purpose.. I like the keyboard."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Laptop

,
Date:July 10, 2012
By domino
from Elmont, NY
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I like this laptop. The only thing I don't like about this PC is that the keyboard does not light up."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

OK

,
Date:July 7, 2012
By Len
from Phoenix, AZ
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"It is an average laptop with a poorly thought out, "Fusion finish" that makes it difficult to handle."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for P745-S4102
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Laptop for the Money!!!

,
Date:June 30, 2012
By Spaz
from Timberlake NC
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This is the first laptop I have ever bought and I originally purchased to keep me occupied while on business trips. Well turns out that I should have bought one of these years ago. It has all the features and performance that my home pc has at a very reasonable price."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year