Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player

Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player

Average Customer Rating:
2.048 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 star
13
5 of 21(24%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Review 1 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

horrible

,
Date:November 27, 2014
By LM
from boston, ma
"ive had this bluray for a couple years and from the get go it has been awful. it freezes all the time and takes hours for me to get it working enough to connect it to the internet. will not buy a toshiba product again"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 2 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Used two times and nothing but problems

,
Date:January 7, 2014
By Doug
from Green Bay, WI
"I used the unit two times both with DVD and both times the audio was very poor and the picture jumped with lines in the pictures. The first time I thought it was the DVD so i tried another one with the same issues. The problem is that the unit is two months old and I tossed the box. This is the worst Toshiba product I ever purchased. I will really look closer before I purchase the next Toshiba product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Don't upgrade

,
Date:November 2, 2013
By crtaylor
from Alabama
"I've had this blu ray player for about 2 years and it's been nothing but trouble. I bought it at Walmart and it had been previously returned, so obviously it's not me. Too bad I didn't keep the receipt. The player is laggy and the time between button push and desired effect on player is horrid, and it kept prompting me to upgrade to .22 from .18. I did it once and lost all internet capability so I reverted it. However, then it started turning off during DVD's playing! So I just now tried the upgrade again. Hulu+ won't load and Netflix now won't play titles. I want a new player!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 4 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

lacking in quality

,
Date:April 15, 2013
By cdy
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Was able to connect to internet via WiFi once but has not worked with WiFi since. Must be connected to router in order to use with internet. Does freeze up and cannot be turned off. Must unplug to reset."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good DVD Player

,
Date:March 16, 2013
By JR
from Branson, Mo
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This unit was easy to set up. Plays DVD's well, and syncs well with internet. Easy to link to Netflix etc. My network is very simple, and I don't understand others having problems unless their system is not configured properly. I know enough about electronics to be dangerous, but find that sometimes reading (and following) the instructions will generally solve the problem."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 6 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Get what you pay for

,
Date:March 3, 2013
By Disappointed
from Fairfield, Ohio
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Wow, I just purchased this blu ray player and read the reviews. And for the most part all of the negative ones are true.
Cannot connect to the internet, Does lock up (all the time).
Very disappointed - I guess you get what you pay for, but in this case its less. Heading back to the retailer now to return."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Excellent

,
Date:February 17, 2013
By Toshiba BR fan
from Anaheim, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I had no problems at all during the installation. This is the best BR player ever. My Son loves watching NETFLIX on it, as well as playing his BR and DVD movies."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 8 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Freezes randomly

,
Date:January 12, 2013
By Tbidwel
from Fairborn, OH
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"My Netflix and wifi connect perfectly fine, I have no problem with that. The only problem I'm having is the player will randomly freeze and I'm not sure why. I tried pausing my show on Netflix right when it started, and when I came back to resume my show, it completely froze and wouldn't even shut off. This problem happens way too often and I'm not pleased."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

disapointed

,
Date:December 31, 2012
By donhop
from atlanta ga
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Wifi will not connect, Also i was watching a blue ray and the sound kept going out in the middle of play."
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 10 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Horrible Wi-Fi connection

,
Date:September 29, 2012
By BVL
from Austin, TX
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Connected to Wi-Fi network a couple of time first week of purchase and not it fails with each attempt. Ultimate FAILURE of a "smart" blue-ray device. Buy something else!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Can't play files from file share?

,
Date:September 16, 2012
By Larken
from Charlotte, NC
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Bought this because I could network it to my PC ... Sadly, NONE of my videos are 'supported'?!?! And the internet... I keep having to reconnect. The reaction time from remote to player is horrible."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 12 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

WORST BLU_RAY EVER

,
Date:August 22, 2012
By centralflblonde
from Florida
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Ive had problems with this player from the first week, I cant get my wifi to sat connected it wont power down sometimes, it freezes up even when On Netflix and doesnt unfreeze you have to unplug it. I wish I would have bought a sony...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Works Great

,
Date:August 19, 2012
By Movie Lover
from Ashland, KY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've had this BluRay player for roughly a month and have had nothing but good results. Connected to my network with no problems. I have had no problems what so ever with DVD playback, haven't tried BluRay disks yet for the simple face I don't own any."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst

,
Date:August 10, 2012
By not happy
from homosassa fl
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I am on my three one in one month and all three would connect to the internet for about a week. then it will not power down or connect to the internet"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

dont buy

,
Date:July 24, 2012
By angel
from montebello
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"connexeted to internet one day . and cant get on anymore"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 16 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

The best

,
Date:July 13, 2012
By wirrito
from San Bernardino Ca
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I already tried Sony, Roku but Thoshiba Blue Ray player is the best on Netflix"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 17 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Terrible

,
Date:July 13, 2012
By Dissatisfied
from Beaver Dam, WI
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Worked for the first few days now it won't connect to the network, locks up all the time"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 18 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Will not play regular DVDs

,
Date:June 26, 2012
By Warman
from High Point, NC
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Plays Blu-ray discs just fine, but will not play ANY DVDs. Horrible. Everything else (Netflix, Vudu, Pandora, etc) works just fine."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 19 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great Product

,
Date:June 24, 2012
By Hotrod Reviewer
from Burnsville, MS
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Has worked fine for me. Connects to Internet. Smooth Operation. Not to complicated. Overall great product"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 20 for Toshiba BDK33 Blu-ray Player
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bdk33 blu-ray

,
Date:June 24, 2012
By tinker
from el dorado, arkansas
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I totally agree with you, i bought a blu-ray and can't even get it to connect and the player freezes up. I just returned one today and got another and its doing the same thing."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month