Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV

Average Customer Rating:
3.895 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
0
12 of 19(63%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Review 1 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Great TV, but not for Wii U

,
Date:July 10, 2013
By Major Link
from Belmont, CA
"I've been sharing this TV with my dad to play my Wii U system for almost a year now, and when I play my Wii U using 1080p resolution graphics (with HDMI), I get two problems coming from the TV: The screen will black out for 2 seconds, and I sometimes get these static lines that always lead to the screen black-outs. As far as I am aware, my Wii U is neither damaged or defective since I used it on another TV that seemed to be more friendly with my Wii U system. I have recently updated this specific TV model, but unfortunately, it still gave me the screen black-out problems with my Wii U.
Toshiba, if you are reading this review, PLEASE make a new update for this new TV model, because it's not being Wii U friendly with me since I am using HDMI to play it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Realy Slow

,
Date:June 5, 2013
By Dygi
from Mexico City
"This TV will take 9 - 10 seconds to turn on. also takes about 2 - 3 seconds to tune a over the air digital channel. Not a good product at all."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great TV!

,
Date:March 17, 2013
By Rctul786
from East Moline, IL
"This TV was given to my grandma as a gift for Christmas. Overall it is a great TV, and I also agree with the other reviewers about the Energy Saving Mode. My only complaint is that the remote sensitivity is not that great."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

black and white color with DSTV

,
Date:February 2, 2013
By DR
from nigeriA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Got this tv shipped from the US as a gift from my aunt. I live in nigeria; have not been able to watch coloured images using my DSTV though perfect with my home theatre. Pls could someone help me with a solution"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 5 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great LCD TV for the price!!

,
Date:January 24, 2013
By Kevin
from Anchorage, AK
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Got this TV on sale at Sear as a replacement for a so-so plasma that had some color rendering issues. So after I read all the reviews online to be ready for when I went to return the other TV. I was pleasantly surprise at the color depth and rendering after I adjusted it. I turned off the Energy Savings Settings so I could brighten up the contrast. What a difference. And the PQ with even HD channels is amazing. And also Blu Ray is way better than the plasma I exchanged for this one. Overall a great HDTV for the price. And none of the repetitive internet apps a lot of other HDTV's and Blu Ray players all tend to have anyways.
Even the sound was decent. Most HDTV's suffer from bad sound or tinny sound.
I would easily recommend Toshiba to anyone in the market for a new TV.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 6 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Manual

,
Date:January 13, 2013
By jim
"Pretty bad not to get a manual and no easy download after buying this one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 7 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great TV

,
Date:December 31, 2012
By Jay
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"The picture quality is gorgeous especially when watching things in high definition and blue-ray. The tv has a good amount of ports with the ease of connecting it to my laptop or pc when I want to. The tv looks so clear I wish I had picked up a second one. The only problem with the tv like most lcd/led's is frozen pixels. If you look closely you might see a frozen white or black dot on the screen that could be mistaken for dirt. This was on the screen as soon as it can out the box and I had to exchange it for another without any problems. I like to pick at those little details but to most people it won't be noticed at the appropriate viewing distance."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

SCREEN

,
Date:December 16, 2012
By DUB
from LOS ANGELES
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"FIRST BOUGHT THE TV THOUGHT IT WAS GREAT.. THEN 6 OR 7 MONTHS DOWN THE LINE I STARTED GETTING LIKE A SNOW LOOKING EFFECT ON THE FACES AND COLORS ON MY TV... NOT SURE EXACTLY WHAT THE PROBLEM IS... SORT OF LOOKS LIKE THOUSANDS OF DOTS FOLLOWING THE COLORS AND ON FACES THAT APPEAR ON THE SCREEN... NEED MAJOR HELP...CAN ANYONE TELL ME POSSIBLY WHAT COULD BE WRONG AND SHOULD I RETURN IT FOR A NEW ONE???"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 9 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far So good

,
Date:December 13, 2012
By Zoeysmom92081
from San Diego, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I'm really pleased with the TV after one week Great picture! Sound is average so I will be shopping for a sound bar. Other than that, it's a winner. Loving it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 10 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Location of Energy Savings Mode

,
Date:November 8, 2012
By Greg94501
from Alameda, Ca
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I bought mine at a retail store this weekend for my bedroom.
In demo mode, the HDTV produced rich colors and impressive darks, but then again don't all TV's in retails stores look this good?
Setup was rather easy as Comcast 480i (4:3) signal was identified and HDTV was up and running in minutes. I also changed the screen output to TheaterWide-1 since I'm not getting HD Cable in my bedroom.
After tinkering with the settings, I couldn't get the picture to look acceptable because the screen looked grayed out and too dark. I was about to pack it up and return it but opted to tinker with it one more time.
To remedy the darkness of the screen and brighten it up 75% higher, goto MENU > PREFERENCES > Scroll down to ENERGY SAVING SETTINGS (you won't see it on the screen because its listed underneath Regza Link Player Control and Channel Browser Setup. Keep scolling down, then Turn off Energy Saving Setting.
If you stand up close to the screen, you can see minor defects of distortion but it disappears after you back away a few feet. For the price of the TV, this is a good bargain."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Help required

,
Date:November 6, 2012
By nepal
from Kathmandu, Nepal
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I brought a LCD TV from Canada to Nepal. I used that TV in Canada for 3 months without any problem. But here in Nepal I am getting black and white picture and no sound. I put the 120V 50Hz transformer but still without any luck. Can anyone help me out?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

All OK Except

,
Date:November 4, 2012
By howie999
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"difficult to access ports when wall-mounted"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

where's the energy savings button?

,
Date:October 20, 2012
By bo
from pgh. pa.
"I just bought this tv this morning and I cant get the picture to brighten up enough for my liking.I read a couple reviews and they mention turning off the 'energy savings setting' and I can't find that.please help!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Viewing

,
Date:September 17, 2012
By retzcat
from Denver, co
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Only issue I have with this TV is I can't seem to find a setting were some part of the picture isn't getting cut off. I've tried everything and searched around and have found nothing to resolve this issue. doesn't matter what format I've got the screen set to - the bottom part of the screen is cut off, so that if the local news is streaming information most is missing...."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

40 inch T.V.

,
Date:July 10, 2012
By horus
from Atlanta Ga.
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Old T.V. was dying, Spent a few months researching flat screens. Was leaning towards plasma. Cost was a big issue. We've had it for 4 months. Great picture, easy setup. In store, I'd noticed most t.v.s need sound bars. This Toshiba has great sound. The picture is fantastic, we didn't need to make adjustments We love this and are completely satisfied. We would highly recommend this T.V. Could use a few more connections, like a.v. input"
What is your level of technical expertise?Newbie
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Awesome TV

,
Date:June 19, 2012
By FanofToshiba
from Minot, ND
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I learned the same thing that you need to take the energy saver off for under the "Auto Brightness Sensor" in Energy Saving Settings. This makes a great difference in the screen brightness. Thanks for the person that posted this prevously."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very nice TV!

,
Date:May 29, 2012
By Karl
from Raleigh, NC
"I bought this TV because the picture in the store was awesome. Very bright and clear. I hooked it up and setup was no problem at all. The picture is very bright and colors are very vibrant and true to life. Blue Ray's look fantastic and the audio is excellent. Definitely recommend to everyone."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Picture Quality

,
Date:April 25, 2012
By Ron VF
from Mechanicville, NY
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just hooked this television up last evening and was feeling disappointed, the picture was just to dark. I tried changing all the settings or at least I thought I had (didn't even consider the energy savings). The picture just wasn't as good as what I had seen in the store. I then found this web site, read the only other review that was here about turning OFF the Energy Savings and Wow! There is that picture I saw in the store. Like the other review I was about to take this back, so glad I learned about turning off the energy savings."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Toshiba 40E220U 40" Class 1080P HD LCD TV
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

owner manual

,
Date:April 7, 2012
By pete
from plattsburgh,ny
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"bought this tv.. almost returned it because of it's dark picture... then there .. well hidden in the preferences was the "energy saver" turned that off and i had the best picture of any television i ever owned.. now if i had no internet. or was not that stubborn i would have returned that television , and how many other customers have done the same thing and given up on toshiba??? just for the cost of an owners manual. !!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
25 of 25 people found this review helpful.