Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for P755-S5381

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

P755-S5381

Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
8
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
15 of 16(94%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for P755-S5381
Review 1 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

AA ++ laptop

,
Date:April 19, 2012
By dino
from Fort Mohave, AZ.
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"every things great! I'm just now getting introduced to windows 7 from XP. Very Nice! WOW!!!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 2 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Nice Laptop Computer

,
Date:February 10, 2012
By Toshiba Laptop
from MN
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have been using this computer for about 3 months and it's a pretty nice computer. I love the lighted keyboard! I have the i5 processor and it is crazy fast and I didn't think my other laptop was all that bad. The is my first laptop with the number pad so I'm still getting used to the keyboard being off center, but that will come with time. The resolution and image quality is very good. Overall, I'm very happy with this computer and would recommend it to anyone. The battery life can be disappointing, but if you take the time to set the power settings, you can triple the battery length. I'm getting 5-6 hours with adjusted power settings."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Incredibly User Friendly!!

,
Date:January 31, 2012
By LeeLee
from Solon, OH
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I've used a number of desktiops & four laptops. But let me tell you that this is the best by far! From the start-up, which was the easiest I've ever encountered, to using it for everyday purposes, ie social networking, emailing, writing & saving documents and pictures the Satellite P755-S5381 is excellent. Whether you are new to laptops or an expert, this is THE laptop to get! I highly recommend it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 4 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Fast

,
Date:January 28, 2012
By tt
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"This laptop is fast and user friendly"
Review 5 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Excellent for the price when on sale

,
Date:January 27, 2012
By Dr. Cowboy
from UT
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great improvement over my old Compaq. Good pricing at Office Max & Staples. Came w/perk cash back perks that I used to buy extended warrantee. But, Screen is shorter than my Compaq and does not show enough of my WORD page and portrait pics to keep me happy. Lighted keyboard/energy user. Power plug-in should be a right-angle connector to get it out of the way of mouse movement. Overall, I love it - minus the short screen."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 6 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

One for the money!

,
Date:January 25, 2012
By Busy Bee
from Delaware, Ohio
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far - so good. I rated the battery life at a 4 because I have not had an "over extended" use with the laptop yet. This being month one of ownership - I am very happy with this laptop. Comptetively priced - and a lot for my money. I would highly recommend the Satellite P755-S4381 Laptop."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 7 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop

,
Date:December 25, 2011
By Anchor
from Grand Rapids MI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"So far, so good. Only issue is cursor magically changes position while typing. Have heard from other Toshiba users that same issue has occurred for them too. Sound quality is marginal. Thought Harmon Karden speakers would sound better. Bought docking station which is really nice extra for multiple devices. Battery seems to discharge faster than I expected. Overall a good value for the money."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Good laptop---but

,
Date:December 17, 2011
By dee
from powhatan, va
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have the lighted keyboard and it does not stay on long enough to type in your password. As long as you keep typing, the light stays on, but the second your hands are off the keyboard the light goes off."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 9 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst Laptop Ever!

,
Date:December 10, 2011
By Kirsty
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Battery Life: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Laptop purchased to replace a 4 year old Vaio and despite the supposed better processor, RAM, etc. we have been extremely disappointed with it's performance and avoid using it whenever possible.
Biggest issue is the mouse pad which only responds around 30% of the time, followed by the battery which drains rapidly when the machine is switched off - usage on battery power is around 1 hour on a good day.
The screen quality is also poor compared to the Vaio and also to a 6 year old Toshiba. Keypad also disappointing. Will be looking for a replacement very soon.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Efficent Laptop

,
Date:December 9, 2011
By Reese
from Sarasota, FL
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"The Toshiba has a fast processorand a good amount of memory which results in a very satisfying performance."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 11 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Great, well-rounded notebook

,
Date:December 9, 2011
By CK
from USA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Great feature set at a good price point.
The dimensions on the spec sheet are incorrect, the notebook is about an inch longer, so take this into consideration if you're ordering a case for it.
I've had a few windows glitches with some memory dumps, but I think it's software related.
Battery life is less than expected (about 2.5 - 3 hours run time). Spec sheet says you can get 6 hours, but that's if you dial everything back.
LED backlit keyboard is nice, and the wireless has worked out great. The touchpad is picky on finger placement when scrolling.
Overall, I'm pleased with this notebook.
Also, you can purchase an extended warranty and accidental damage plan through Toshiba at a significant discount compared to what you can get from a big-box store."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Good Laptop for its price.

,
Date:November 26, 2011
By R2D2
from Fresno, CA
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"I have had this laptop for a month now. It does everything its supposed to be. The battery life could be a lot better...I barely get 4 hours, while all my friends with Macbook Pros get 10 hours. But they obviously almost paid double I paid, so I guess it's ok. Really good keyboard...I love the lighting! Horrible mouse placement...I always mess up while typing because I accidentally click somewhere. Overall, solid laptop!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Annoying feature/fault

,
Date:November 11, 2011
By Bill
from Ann Arbor, MI
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"Your "tap the mouse pad to left click" is a miserable failure. Shuting it off was the only way to avoid phantom missclicks."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 14 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Very pleased with my new laptop!

,
Date:November 6, 2011
By Fishersfour
from Lake Forest, CA
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"Very fast and smooth. Great features, love the backlit keyboard!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 15 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Jiggly battery

,
Date:November 2, 2011
By bob
from Bali and Sioux Falls, SD
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"So far, the ONLY thing I don't like about this computer is that the battery is not "tight" in the computer. It jiggles - has some "give". I went back to the store where it was purchased and the floor model was the same way - it must be the way Toshiba designed the coputer."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 16 for P755-S5381
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

So far so good.

,
Date:November 1, 2011
By tom in denver
from Denver, CO
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I just purchased my second Toshiba laptop in as many years. Although I loved the first one, a Satellite A505 Core i3, it only lasted 14 months until the LCD screen developed a horrible crack and became unusable-just from gently cleaning it. This new Satellite P755 is faster with it's second gen Core i5 processor, and Toshiba has gone back to the LED screens which hopefully will last longer. This one looks great and the case finish is much much improved, no longer having to wipe it constantly to remove fingerprints and smudges. The lighted keyboard is great for someone like me that can't type in the dark, and I love the quick keys for sound and media located above the keyboard. I also appreciate the switch to disable the touchpad, and the FN function keys are more usefully than other laptops I've used. The Harmon/Kardon speakers are better than most, but smaller and a downgrade in sound from my previous Toshiba. Overall, a good value with good performance and very well designed. I just hope it lasts longer than the last one."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.