Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black

For those who want a smarter way to preserve their most precious digital files and memories, Toshiba's Canvio 3.0 portable hard drive offers a complete system backup solution with cloud backup capability in an easy-to-use interface.
Average Customer Rating:
1.965 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (29 reviews)
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
20
8 of 29(28%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Review 1 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Proceed with CAUTION!

,
Date:November 6, 2013
By Expmt626
from North Texas
"Got a deal on a 1TB model. Everything worked for about 2 weeks. USB bridge went south after full system backup. Had to take drive out, toss adapter and retrieve data with another external drive controller. Don't store really important files on this drive...you might not get them back."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 2 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Toshiba 1TB Portable Hard Drive

,
Date:November 1, 2013
By Ja Wohl
"Worst usb external drive I've ever had. Even when working, transfers are horribly slow and after copying some files, external drive becomes detached and copying fails. Should rate 0 stars."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 3 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Toshiba 1TB Canvio® 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

,
Date:September 28, 2013
By wasserhund
from Big Spring, TX
"Fast reliable and easy to use, great for storing videos pictures music and just about anything you can imagine."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Crashed after less than 24 hours

,
Date:August 5, 2013
By Gordo
from San Francisco CA
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Review for HDTC610XK3B1 - I've tried several times to copy files from my hard drive to this device over the last 24 hours. The operation consistently crashes Windows 7 Explorer before it can transfer 10 gig. Apologists will blame the user's operating software, but Windows does not single out 1 particular hardware device to hassle on a regular basis. This unit is the common denominator."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

GARBAGE!

,
Date:July 31, 2013
By pussycat
from napanee on canada
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"If I could give lower than a one all around I would! In fact I would give less than 0 if possible!!
GARBAGE!! ABSOLUTE GARBAGE! It was working fine until I plugged it in the 3rd time in 6 days then it started to rattle, came up that all my files could not be saved and the files I did have were deleted! disconnected then plugged in and it just laid there I could not even reformat the darn thing cause my comp no longer recognized it!(BRAND NEW COMPUTER TOO!) light blinked continually one second my files are there then they disappear! brought it to my sisters computer thinking it was an issue with mine but same deal!
NEVER EVER AGAIN WILL I PURCHASE A TOSHIBA PRODUCT! EVER!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Don't buy

,
Date:June 1, 2013
By Danny
from NJ
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Plugged the product in, it said the software was installed its but setup doesn't work Bad instructions. Manual is not good. The device DOESN'T WORK! I don't have the time to waste on trying to troubleshoot this product. It won't be a Toshiba product. Very unhappy.""
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Unreliable

,
Date:May 13, 2013
By Otherguy4444
from BVTN, OR
"Had this bad boy for a little over year. It was used very sparingly as its primary purposed was for occasional data storage. Clicking death, and with it all my data, even though I was very careful while handling it."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

It's perfect until it brakes

,
Date:May 1, 2013
By Mage
from Ms
"I had already 2 different Canvio models. They are perfect until they brake. None of them lasted even a year. I hope Toshiba will improve them because they are VERY HANDY."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Worst external HD Ever

,
Date:March 18, 2013
By Johnny
from Ladson, SC
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"got the 1TB because of the price. Don't. Had it less than 3 weeks and filled it halfway up with my Wii, and all the sudden it froze up and died.
I tried removing the HD from he enclosure, but f'n Toshiba WELDED the enclosure closed, so I can not even get my data off before returning/trashing.
Normally I like Toshiba, but after reading other reviews on the DWC110, DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!
ps-another person posted you need USB 3.0. Not true; worked perfect for a while in 2.0, not will not work at all, even in 3.0."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

If you do not have 3.0, do not waste your money.

,
Date:January 23, 2013
By Denfroby
from NJ
"This drive does not stay connected unless you have a 3.0 USB connection. The device packaging claims it is capable of USB 2.0 use but it is not. It disconnects at random moments ranging from 10 seconds to 20 minutes."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk—Lost Data, Dead Drive

,
Date:January 14, 2013
By KilgoreTech
from Kilgore, TX
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I placed a fair number of files on this drive from a desktop PC running Win XP SP3. Moved them to a new (Sept 2012) Macbook Pro. Installed the provided software to make the disk R/W from the Mac. Tried writing to the drive and it failed. Now the drive isn't even recognized by ANY Windows or Mac machine. And yes—it's *supposed* to work with a Mac. Thank heavens I back up my work using other hardware, too—but this has trashed the files and lost a bit of work on a legal case. Very expensive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

not a good buy

,
Date:October 13, 2012
By armaine
from las vegas
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"worked for 3 weeks then died .. computer will not reconize it and i have all my data on it.. any suggestion on how to get my data off?"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Drive

,
Date:September 24, 2012
By GoFigure
from Terre Haute, IN
"I have used many other Toshiba external drives but read the reviews before I purchased this one. I could disregard all the one star reviews as the problems the users were describing were typical computer software and driver problems, not problems caused by this drive.
I have tested this drive on five desktops and four laptops and it works flawlessly.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Just to reiterate

,
Date:August 15, 2012
By Mal
from Rome Italy
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Do not purchase,read all the above poor ratings and take your pick!!!Although the drive letter is visable on all 7 of various devices, Mac & PC the archived information is only accessable on ONE of them and then only using USB 2.
I'll just repeat ....do not purchase.
Ps three of the 7 devices mentioned above are.......Toshiba...go figure!!!
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

fantastic little hard drive

,
Date:July 4, 2012
By alien255
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"this was quick and easy to use. Using on a desktop windows 7 pc. used the software that came with the
hardrive and it backed up everything really fast.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

do not buy

,
Date:June 6, 2012
By unhappy
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Plugged into computer and it immediately downloaded a Trojan that wiped out my computer....do not buy this portable harddrive....out of a computer and out the harddrive."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Harddrive

,
Date:May 29, 2012
By GamerGuy
from Texarkana, TX
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Won't work in USB 3 mode on Win 7 Ultimate, only in USB 2. EVGA X58 motherboard. Crashes my Alienware M17R3 Laptop when connected to a USB 3 port. Get BSOD. First time the M17R3 ever crashed.
It does however work on both in USB 2 mode, but thats not what I bought it for. Seriously disappointed. Probably be my last Toshiba purchase.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Poor Equipment

,
Date:May 17, 2012
By Lewis
from Senatobia, MS
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Just bought this and it stopped working in two days. I have windows 7. There are no drivers out there or support page. I would not recommend Toshiba to anyone. Wal Mart will not take it back since it is opened."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 19 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Died after two weeks

,
Date:April 25, 2012
By Jeff
from San Diego, CA
"This was a great drive until it died in the middle of a file transfer... never came back to life. Lasted only two weeks. Had to send it back to Toshiba. Great experience with their support, but would NOT recommend these drives."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio 3.0 Portable Hard Drive - Black
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Product-Error Check Your Hard Drive First!

,
Date:April 11, 2012
By Alaskasourdough281
from Roseville California
"After I bought this drive I quickly installed it and then began a backup using third-party software that I've used successfully with other external drives. I had read reviews in other venues that blasted this Toshiba drive for suddenly disappearing or having severe problems. I began backup of my major hard drive and 57% of the way through the drive went clunk. Windows Vista (64-bit) told me that the drive had been dropped and could not be found. I had thought about this before buying the drive and so rebooted and immediately ran error-checking on the hard drive (in Vista, My Computer, highlight the drive, click properties, click tools, select error checking). Five file fragments were found and were converted to files. I reran the backup and it went flawlessly. Next I error checked my two other hard drives and then backed them up equally successfully. I have had absolutely no problems with the drive after error-checking and it is fast and efficient once I got rid of the problems on my computer. After that the Toshiba did the rest beautifully."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.