Toshiba Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Toshiba.

Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive

Discover one of easiest ways to add storage to your computer with Toshiba's Canvio® Basics 3.0 portable hard drive, offering one of the simplest storage solutions in a box.
Average Customer Rating:
2.327 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 star
29
18 of 52(35%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Review 1 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Great Hard Drive

,
Date:September 14, 2012
By Chas
from Louisville, KY
"This is my second hard drive by Toshiba. The first one I bought 2 months ago and it has proven to be a great hard drive. I especially like the ramp loading technology because it reduces the chance of head and platter damage. In my opinion, Toshiba hard drives soars above the rest -- great job Toshiba!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 2 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Junk

,
Date:September 28, 2013
By StoneMountain
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Lost LOTS of data"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 3 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Disconnect every time

,
Date:September 4, 2013
By SMH17
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"The quality of construction is very poor after some months of use the device disconnects every time. Really unreliable."
Review 4 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Date:August 9, 2013
By Ralph
"Bought it in January 2013. Died! It give a S.M.A.R.T. message: Imminent Failure. Few days later stop working.
Fabrication date: 31.10.2012
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 5 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

A True Lemon

,
Date:August 8, 2013
By BigTex84
from Patrick AFB, FL
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"When i bought my hard drive i was very impressed with the transfer speed except when watching movies, There was always a delay with the video. Then two months after buying the hard drive it crashed. And It couldn't have come at a worse time, because I was deployed in the middle east and was left with out all my videos and family pictures"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 6 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Poor Experience

,
Date:July 19, 2013
By Dejected
from VA
"After less than 48 hours home, and less than 2 hours connected, the drive randomly disconnects and will make a consistent "click and wheeze" sound every 1-2 seconds when operating. I fear using this for anything other than quick transfers between machines. Long term storage and regular backups are not it in its future.
Based on this experience and other reviews, I made a mistake in purchasing this HDD."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 7 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Non existent support

,
Date:June 17, 2013
By Fred Teifeld
from Chicago, IL
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"Low marks and refusal to recommend this product to anybody due to the lack of any convenient way to find instructions on the website.
Thank you for nothing."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 8 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

piece of junk

,
Date:April 21, 2013
By jasdf
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"won't recognize windows 7. so stupid this hard drive"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Fast but Delicate

,
Date:April 20, 2013
By Awesome
from Nebraska
"I have now owned two of these and have had to return both within about two to three months of ownership a piece because with out dropping them they have started to make strange noises, have a hard time connecting to my computer, and corrupting data. I cannot recommend this HD when there are better out there"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Back up not available suddenly today

,
Date:April 4, 2013
By deniscu
from Sandy, UT
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Have been using the USB 2.0 function on my Acer laptop
to run back on Norton Security Suite up to today and
now that drive is not available for backup. What happen.
I have done everything I know to get windows 7 64 bit to recognize the drive to no avail. lap doesn't have usb 3.0 port.
"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 11 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

worst product

,
Date:March 24, 2013
By sumant2000
from india
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"after few months. it gets disconnected automatically. i have to keep it in particular standing position then only it gets detected. if minor shake is the reason for getting away from that particular standing position then drive gets disconnected. I have another external hard drive from Transcend, and it rocks. 5 years no problem to transcend hdd"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 12 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

bad tb port on device

,
Date:March 13, 2013
By big a
from providence ri
"ive had my 1tb hard drive ,for 3 month.the port on it is very weak . the plugs on the inside broke off or bent. i use it twice a month for dj gigs an this is a problem. half the time i cant even get to my music.im forced to download music to my laptop an it slows my labtop down."
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 13 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Common cable issues

,
Date:March 1, 2013
By Rochester_PCuser
from Rochester, NY
"My Dell desktop is having a problem seeing this drive. I see in the online comments that this is a common problem. I did get 30Gb of data on it so I don't want to return it. I have to hold the cable end that goes into the PC a certain position for it to work. On other PCs (2 Dell laptops) it works better but if I touch the connection into those PCs they loose the drive visibility as well. I have no issues with my competitive external drive (a 5.25 inch with a power supply) or numerous flash drives. I tried 2 different USB extension cables but then the problem moved to where the Toshiba cable entered the extension. Bestbuy was good enough to swap a cable from another Toshiba drive. It's a little better but still not good. I think the cables are out of spec or at the far end of the spec causing more frequent connection failures. Since this is USB 3.0 with a micro connection, I don't have other cables at home to try. Phone service gave me a run around (sent to about 5 people in one call where some were confused as to why I was sent to them and others provided conflicting information)."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 14 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Definitely worth having...

,
Date:February 25, 2013
By Savir
from Mississauga, ON, Canada
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Price-Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
"I use this as a dedicated HD for DVR. It was very easy to connect and format. Excellent product."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
Review 15 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

USB Iis the problem

,
Date:February 16, 2013
By Syphon
from Lithonia, GA
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Okay so far this external driver work extremely well however, that USB is the problem. Switch to a micro-usb and it works with no problem. NEXT TIME TOSHIBA maybe use two ports as separate ports it'll fix the confusion."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5

Excellent Drives

,
Date:February 13, 2013
By clyde45
from akron, ohio
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
"I have many portable drives, including 2 of this model (Canvio Basics 1TB usb3). Also own 2 Canvio 1TB usb3, 1 Canvio 500GB usb2 & 1 Canvio 500GB usb3. This drive has performed perfectly, as have all the Toshiba drives I own. I don't understand the poor ratings. I've never had any of the problems listed in other reviews. I also have portable drives from Seagate (2), WD (1), Samsung (1) & Buffalo (1). Had the Samsung longest & it's probably my best, followed by the Toshibas. The WD & Seagates are next & about equal. The Buffalo is worst. It's really way too heavy & will never spin down after it's ejected. The Buffalo I own gets high reviews. Go figure."
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?More than a year
Review 17 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5

Simple and value for money

,
Date:February 4, 2013
By Akula
from Malaysia
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"I drop it but can be used, shock sensors works :D"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One month to a year
Review 18 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5

Ify

,
Date:January 28, 2013
By GRut5656
from Mich
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
"Not sure what's up this is my 1st hard drive. It seems to backup my daily files. I didn't pay for the cloud so can't say if that works. BUT....so far I have been unable to get the darn thing to do a complete backup.
Can't find what to do.
NO QUICK STARTUP DIRECTIONS & NO MANUAL
Can't seem to find it on the internet either"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?Less than a week
Review 19 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5

Cannot use between two operating systems!

,
Date:January 18, 2013
By Big Jim
from Johns Creek, GA
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Price-Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
"Well, I brought this drive to move files from my Mac Book Air to my HP workstation. I can see the drive on my Mac, but when I pull it into the HP, I see NOTHING!. I can see the drive under Drivers and Devices, but I cannot access the contents of the drive OR put anything on it from my Windows 7 box. What Gives!"
What is your level of technical expertise?Proficient User
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Toshiba 1TB Canvio Basics USB 3.0 Portable Hard Drive
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5

Mobile HDD that you should not move !

,
Date:December 10, 2012
By osmeest
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Price-Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
"I've bought this HDD to use it as TimeMachine backup drive for my MacBook Pro. It appears that the connection on the HDD itself is too weak to sustain even a small and careful move. Any move is sanctionned by a HDD disconnection. My worst buy !"
What is your level of technical expertise?Tech Savvy
How long have you been using this product?One week to a month